We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Arms(East Garston)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Swans Hotel(Hungerford)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Parklands Hotel(Ogbourne Saint George)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
39
21
11
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
21
11
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage pubgood selection of aleslovely villagesunday roasthome from homelandlordcharacterspitfireciderpubs
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This is not a Travel Lodge nor a Holiday Inn - It is a small village pub that provides a b&b facility. Don't stay here if you expect everything to be identical to everywhere else. It is a quirky village pub that has some bedrooms and a decent restaurant. The beer is cheap, the food good and the proprietor friendly. We had a great few days.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for work and what a dump. Food is very expensive and is disgusting, most of your breakfast is done in the microwave. Rooms not cleaned no towels toilet roll beds not made and bins not empty he don't like you eating in the rooms, and the owner is very distant and dose not want to discus any of the problems which is very disappointing. I will not be staying here again

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
5  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown2011, Owner at The Crown Aldbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Re Towels as normal practise throw out the world we do not change towels unless asked on environmental ground (safe the planet) but change when asked which they did every day. As for breakfast everything is cooked to order and not in microwave. Re prices we are not a JD Weatherspoon pub and price reflected the area even so we offer a local beer at 2.50 a pint and carling at 3.30 pint far below the normal country pub in this area.

This was not the type of hotel pub that suited theses working gentlemen and suggest you find room more to suit your life style

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

The manager of the crown is considerably poor at providing an acceptable service to the guests. The food is overpriced and the breakfast is shocking, barely edible. We came back to our room this evening and nobody had been into clean or replace the towels. No replacement toilet roll and no dustbin change. Apparently 'it was his day off'

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
9  Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My husband and l went with friends to The Crown last evening. Nice place and friendly. The rest of the group enjoyed there meal. I just made the wrong choice. I will come back and try again. As l have friends in the village. The lunch menu also looked ok.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Elphinstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

My friends and I visited the Crown yesterday on route to Swindon. Very warm friendly staff and amazing surroundings topped off by fantastic local drinks.

Didn't have much time to explore the village unfortunately but it was a very picturesque location and as I say "the real England".

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews