We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL FROM HELL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Aldbourne
Ranked #1 of 1 Aldbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My friends and i stayed here over christmas period and what a frightning experiance this was , the Hotel Bar and Restaurant is like a wild west scene with some of the most drunken foul mouthed people i have ever witnessed such to the fact we were terrified to leave our bedrooms . when we complained about the loud music and shouting to the owner the next morning he looked amused at the fact we had no sleep and were terifed of his clientel in the establishment , we asked the barmaid to request our money back to be told that they were new owners and had no intrest in the people only to make money .
DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR A STAY AWAY FROM THE CROWN HOTEL unless you can drink twentey pinks of beer have a foul mouth and have a full set of tatoos and a old track suite and thats just the ladies .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jinbo112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown2011, Owner at The Crown Aldbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

we are new owner from the 8th of march 2011 we are sorry for what happen in the passed but we are currently re decoration the hotel from top to bottom. We have already created a new atmostphier in the bar and restrant and hope all how eat , drink and stay here will have a pleasant time and will come again. As the new owner I am happy to talk to any cliant at any time peaple come 1st

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

Room not ready till 5pm absolutely filthy sink mirror and glass shelf not been cleaned no soap 3 hand towels 1 bath towel look grey and dirty think they must have used them for drying dogs. Room not hoovered diver so thin and cover never seen an iron dicey too small for bed. Mould all round windows and in bath room. Complained nothing done. Rowdy pub underneath till small hours very undesirable clientele. I cannot think of one positive remark apparently under new ownership

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzureeChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This hotel does not have twin-bedded rooms despite what the website or hotel staff may tell you. They can provide you with a collapsing 'Z' bed for no additional charge though. The room we stayed in wasn't particularly clean and the shower did not work properly. There was load music playing in the bar until the early hours. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmesharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My wife and I spent a Saturday night here for a late birthday break. The staff were very friendly and were pleased to share their local knowledge with us. The food, both dinner in the evening and the Sunday morning breakfast were excellent. Good honest home cooking served with a pleasant attitude. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice view across the village pond. This stay made our weekend a fabulous success.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Aldbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Aldbourne

Address: 2 The Square, Aldbourne SN8 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Aldbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbourne
Price Range: £74 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Aldbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Marlborough Downs, the Crown is a gracious old country inn, offering warm hospitality, real ales, fine food and wines, and 4 charming en suite double rooms. This is an ideal pastoral base to explore England’s treasures: 6 miles from M4 motorway Junction 15, Hungerford 7m, Marlborough 8m, Swindon 10m with high-speed train to London (55 min), Newbury 19m, Stonehenge 33m, Lacock 33m, Cirencester 24m, Oxford 41m, Bath 45m, Blenheim 50m, Windsor 52m, Stratford 62mAll room have been redecorated but still with style of of a country inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown Aldbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Aldbourne Hotel Marlborough
The Crown Aldbourne Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing