We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthwatering memories of the place”
Review of Pardalo Katsiki

Pardalo Katsiki
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Karya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Inspired by nature, its products, the fresh herbs and spices we serve traditional recipes from our home village Karia. Recipes that have withstood time and identified with our country and our habits..Our restaurant addresses people who seek authentic local flavors. Our kitchen is based on two secrets : Simplicity and Quality . We mainly use products from the blessed land of Lefkada.. Let us suggest you our daily dishes...
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering memories of the place”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It is a must visit restaurant. My mouth waters by just thinking of the great food we had. Their specialty is goat meat (hence the name), and the white cheese and honey. They also take pride in the herbs pie, but frankly that was kind of an average, plus it was cold. Their version of greek salad with capers is one of the best I have tried. The pork was beautify roasted and served in delicious sauce.

Sizeable portions, excellent quality, normal prices, good and fast service. I will most certainly revisit it!

I also loved the village Karya for its character, it didn't look like a touristy place at all, but a place with a soul and with actual island local who live and breathe even when the holiday season is over.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anica9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    74
    39
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing special..”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

After that much advertisement (they've spread literally hundreds of signposts all over the island), you expect the dining experience to be nothing short of spectacular. However, the reality is disappointing. We ordered a "choriatiki" salad (which was quite good), lamb chops (nicely grilled but we ordered 1/2 kilo and the portion looked less than that), a pie with local vegetables (which was very salty!) and a plate with cooked ram (which was average). We were not impressed by service either: no welcoming at arrival and an order of french fries was forgotten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Billt_Ath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

There are signs for the restaurant all over the island so When in Karya we decided to give it a shot. They have tables on the main square, which is lovely full of trees that provide shade from the hot sun.
The young lady that served us was very polite and explained how some of the dishes were cooked and made suggestions of dishes that we might like.
The food came promptly and it was delicious. Definitely one of the best meals we had in Lefkada.
Highly recommend a visit to Karya and the pardalo katsiki.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank l00ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just don't miss it!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Situated on the traditional village of Karya, in the central square,it has a wonderful balcony with view of the valley. Great, quick service, big portions, local vegetables and overall tasty dishes! Just go for the traditional Greek salad (choriatiki), the real local tomatos and "kapari" make the difference!! I would definitely come back to eat here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melomeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
358 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Pretty good overall”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We first sat at one of the other restaurants on the town square but they had a huge party and we did not get served for a while so we moved to Pardalo, which seemed less busy (usually a bad sign with Greek restaurants, always look at where the locals go). However, we were pretty surprised overall, with great food (fabulous Greek salad and my husband is a connoisseur, with the added zing of capers), fantastic pork belly on the grill. Sadly, the pork with oregano wasn't quite ready yet but other diners (who came later than we did) had it and it looked pretty delicious. Good wine.

The only drawback was that service was a bit slow (our second carafe of wine only arrived after we'd nearly finished our main course and my souvlaki came quite a while after my husband's main course).

This said, prices are competitive, the food was good and we promised the waiter - who was doing his best (noticing that we hadn't finished our bottle of water, he asked us if we wanted to take it back with us, which we did) - that we'd come back in the next week or so before leaving Lefkada. And I very much hope we do as there are lots of other dishes I want to try...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pardalo Katsiki also viewed

Exanthia, Lefkada
Chortata, Lefkada
 
Lefkada, Ionian Islands
 
Agios Nikitas, Lefkada
 

Been to Pardalo Katsiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing