We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Loved this hotel. Breakfast and lunch were wonderful- servers for lunch and breakfast were friendly and cheerful. We had a late bite outside about 10pm, waiter was less than friendly, but food was great. Definitely would stay here again- location was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    63
    36
    27
    26
See reviews for
85
148
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I really tried hard to find reasons to love this hotel. It is on the smaller size of most hotels these days, with under a 100 rooms, which when done right can be exceptional. It is older and has much of the charm of some old world hotels in the States. I was willing to completely forgive the view from my room of a parking garage just across the alley. After all, it is not the fault of the hotel that development has risen around them.

I was impessed with many things: the lobby is lovely, with a couple of big, real orchid arrangements, tall ceilings and comfortable chairs. The bathroom accessories are the high quality L'Occitane and the bed was comfortable with very nice quality bedding. But in the end there were too many small problems to rank the hotel above average. First, the room keys did not work on check in. No big problem, but then they didn't work on the third day again. Not a big deal but still it is annoying to have to return to the front desk each time. Second the television remote didn't work. A call to the front desk eventually got the problem fixed after numerous attempts to replace the remote, they brought in a new TV and solved the problem.

The Polo Restaurant at the hotel had a decent bar and breakfast was quite good. There is a cabaret just off the lobby which appeared to be very popular. There is a small cafe in the hotel as well but it is only open until 3pm. Very nearby is Worth Avenue, filled with high end stores and exceptional restaurants. The clientele of the hotel seems reflective of Palm Springs itself, mostly near and post retirement. No children were observed and very few younger adults, other than staff.

In the end it became harder to overlook some of the other problems: peeling paint in the bathroom and dusty slats of the air conditioning vent. Small problems to be sure, but I really, really wanted to love this place and just couldn't quite get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th or 6th floor on the street side. The view has to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Recently we stayed at the Colony in Palm Beach for 4 days. We had stayed there before and had an enjoyable experience. The location is great both in terms of proximity to shops and restaurants but also a short walk to the beach. The pool area is extremely comfortable: not large but spacious enough that you dont feel crowded even when the hotel is busy.
On this particular occasion we had an issue with our reservation. Karen, the manager, could not have been more helpful and accomodating. We owe her a big thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room as some have been recently redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1i2k3e4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Colony is an old world Palm Beach hotel that has a nice dining room. You can have a romantic dinner in a nice setting. They specialize in steak which are pretty good, not great. There is also a good prime rib. They have a uninspired wine list on the expensive side. There is a great band on weekends. Service is spotty at best. It is an enjoyable evening out where you can dine and dance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Colony Hotel in Palm Beach is an old time Florida hotel with tons of charm and that personal touch that is so rare these days. They actually remember your name and the waitress at breakfast pretty much knows what you want by the second day. The pool is next to the outdoor dining patio, so the kids can swim while you have lunch! It is all so civilized! I have been going to the Colony off and on for ten years and it is always the same...pleasant. Perfect location just off Worth Ave and only a couple blocks from the beach. The rooms are not huge, but well outfitted and reasonably quiet. We had a street side room this trip and hardly noticed any noise...of course traffic is not a big deal in Palm Beach at any time. One of the staff members that has been there a number of years even remembered me from my last visit several years ago. When does that happen? Breakfast is excellent. Cafe attached to hotel is actually quite good and a good spot for food on the go. People return to the Colony year after year because of the treatment they get. It isn't a bargain by any means, but you are always treated well and it is always a dependable and pleasant place to stay. I will return next time I am in Palm Beach.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are very handy and have a back staircase directly to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here on a business trip 2 years ago in February .Popped in the other day, to say hello, and to reminisce. I would highly recommend, this boutique style hotel, while staying in Palm Beach. Firstly, their rooms are spacious, and beautifully decorated. Secondly, their pool and grounds are gorgeous. Lastly, the Colony employees, are always professional ,and personal, thank you! There is always a buzz in the air at the Colony, with a lively bar scene, and an amazing Jazz Club! No you will not be bored, at this little hotel. If you are into viewing famous people, especially politicians, you will find one among the crowd. I almost forgot to mention, this hotel is located 1 block from Worth Ave, and I block to the beautiful beach!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya_and_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The Colony Hotel has the best location in palm beach. It's a little tired, but still charming. Our room was great. The staff seems more interested in procedures and policies than customer service, and that's a drawback. It's an attitude, eventually if one persists they do the right thing, but it's a 'not my job' thing initially at the Front desk and concierge.The ac in our room was not working well when we checked in, eventually it was repaired, but there was a negotiation to get it done. Restaurant service was good.

No fitness center.

Room Tip: Try room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,229 reviews
5.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 155 Hammon Ave, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4709
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel is a full service luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach, just around the corner from Worth Avenue and steps away from the beach. Small in size but with great personality, the Colony is home of The Royal Room Cabaret, Cafe 155 and Polo Steaks and Seafood. Friendly staff and impeccable service is a standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing