We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location but....”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I love this little place for their outside dining. If you are looking for upscale treatment and classy large rooms this is not for you. Its an old hotel which most people know about and love., if its your first time, don't expect too much and you will not be disappointed. The lounge is great the food and pool are a delight. I have my birthdays here. I love it. The rooms are not for me. But you never know who is in town that is staying here, some people do not care, The saying goes.."You always want to be in walking distance to the Colony" so when you are eating at Taboo, Bice and Renato's and want to stroll home its the best place in town. No car needed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have mixed feelings about this property. This was our first stay in this hotel. Check-in was somewhat unimpressive and actually on the cold side, not a warm and friendly welcome. (We actually received a friendlier welcome from the bellboy than from the front desk personnel). The room assigned to us although cozy was quite small so beware. The hotel has no balconies so it might make some guests feel a little “claustrophobic”.
The pool area is small and has only a few sun loungers that are usually taken at the first ray of the sun in the morning and will stay like that till the end of the day. The hotel is right next to Worth Avenue, so it’s ideal for those high end shoppers! It also a block away from the ocean and the hotel will make arrangements for you if you want to spend the day at the beach.
Evening time is entertainment time at the hotel especially on weekends. The hotel is famous for their Royal Cabaret which brings great singers to perform with a live band. The performers are well known crooners who keep the American Songbook well and alive. You can either come in for dinner prior the show or come after dinner for the show only, and it’s really worth doing the show. After that the hotel offers a Motown evening on Fridays which brings alive the music of the Motown era by a live group, and on Saturday evenings they have a live band that has a great singer and is more diverse with the music they play. There is an area for dancing which is on the small side and gets really crowded, but its fun!
The most striking and disconcerting factor for this property is the service. I did not meet anyone in particular that impressed me with their customer service. They were politely “cold” but honestly not friendly. The bartender at the poolside bar had terrible customer service skills. Don’t know if the administration gives them the empowerment to do what it takes to satisfy the customer but not as friendly or attentive as they should be. Food is not bad but not great either, especially for the prices they charge. Check out was as cold as the check-in. Had issues with the folio at the end but charges were fixed without much of a trouble, errors do happen and this one was corrected quickly.
Bottom line question: would I return to this property? My answer is maybe, based on this experience not too sure if I would, considering the alternatives available within the area (Breakers, Brazilian Court, Chesterfield). Like I have stated in my previous reviews I am a firm believer of the saying “there is never a second chance for a first impression” and this first impression was OK,neither good or great. I would definitely go back for the entertainment, but I would have to reconsider when it comes to staying or dining. For being a boutique hotel as they claim they are, for me they totally miss the point. The potential is there but it needs the effort to make it happen!

Room Tip: Rooms are on the quite small size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

It is true that the Colony 's rooms are small. The hotel was built in 1947 and the rooms have remained the same in size but not decor. (we try to keep the "quaintness" of the original hotel) We are next to Worth Avenue where you can find world class shopping. What really surprised me was your comments regarding the staff. That is one area where we very rarely get complaints. In fact our guests get to know everyone and one of their first comments when they come back is "I feel like I'm home!" Hopefully you'll get that feeling the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Loved this hotel. Breakfast and lunch were wonderful- servers for lunch and breakfast were friendly and cheerful. We had a late bite outside about 10pm, waiter was less than friendly, but food was great. Definitely would stay here again- location was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I really tried hard to find reasons to love this hotel. It is on the smaller size of most hotels these days, with under a 100 rooms, which when done right can be exceptional. It is older and has much of the charm of some old world hotels in the States. I was willing to completely forgive the view from my room of a parking garage just across the alley. After all, it is not the fault of the hotel that development has risen around them.

I was impessed with many things: the lobby is lovely, with a couple of big, real orchid arrangements, tall ceilings and comfortable chairs. The bathroom accessories are the high quality L'Occitane and the bed was comfortable with very nice quality bedding. But in the end there were too many small problems to rank the hotel above average. First, the room keys did not work on check in. No big problem, but then they didn't work on the third day again. Not a big deal but still it is annoying to have to return to the front desk each time. Second the television remote didn't work. A call to the front desk eventually got the problem fixed after numerous attempts to replace the remote, they brought in a new TV and solved the problem.

The Polo Restaurant at the hotel had a decent bar and breakfast was quite good. There is a cabaret just off the lobby which appeared to be very popular. There is a small cafe in the hotel as well but it is only open until 3pm. Very nearby is Worth Avenue, filled with high end stores and exceptional restaurants. The clientele of the hotel seems reflective of Palm Springs itself, mostly near and post retirement. No children were observed and very few younger adults, other than staff.

In the end it became harder to overlook some of the other problems: peeling paint in the bathroom and dusty slats of the air conditioning vent. Small problems to be sure, but I really, really wanted to love this place and just couldn't quite get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th or 6th floor on the street side. The view has to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Recently we stayed at the Colony in Palm Beach for 4 days. We had stayed there before and had an enjoyable experience. The location is great both in terms of proximity to shops and restaurants but also a short walk to the beach. The pool area is extremely comfortable: not large but spacious enough that you dont feel crowded even when the hotel is busy.
On this particular occasion we had an issue with our reservation. Karen, the manager, could not have been more helpful and accomodating. We owe her a big thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room as some have been recently redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1i2k3e4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Colony is an old world Palm Beach hotel that has a nice dining room. You can have a romantic dinner in a nice setting. They specialize in steak which are pretty good, not great. There is also a good prime rib. They have a uninspired wine list on the expensive side. There is a great band on weekends. Service is spotty at best. It is an enjoyable evening out where you can dine and dance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Colony Hotel in Palm Beach is an old time Florida hotel with tons of charm and that personal touch that is so rare these days. They actually remember your name and the waitress at breakfast pretty much knows what you want by the second day. The pool is next to the outdoor dining patio, so the kids can swim while you have lunch! It is all so civilized! I have been going to the Colony off and on for ten years and it is always the same...pleasant. Perfect location just off Worth Ave and only a couple blocks from the beach. The rooms are not huge, but well outfitted and reasonably quiet. We had a street side room this trip and hardly noticed any noise...of course traffic is not a big deal in Palm Beach at any time. One of the staff members that has been there a number of years even remembered me from my last visit several years ago. When does that happen? Breakfast is excellent. Cafe attached to hotel is actually quite good and a good spot for food on the go. People return to the Colony year after year because of the treatment they get. It isn't a bargain by any means, but you are always treated well and it is always a dependable and pleasant place to stay. I will return next time I am in Palm Beach.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are very handy and have a back staircase directly to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#7 of 34 in West Palm Beach
892 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,312 reviews
5.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Ave, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4709
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: £155 - £593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel is a full service luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach, just around the corner from Worth Avenue and steps away from the beach. Small in size but with great personality, the Colony is home of The Royal Room Cabaret, Cafe 155 and Polo Steaks and Seafood. Friendly staff and impeccable service is a standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing