We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel - many nice touches”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Colony and I am always impressed by the quality of service. It's hard to single people out but the Front desk were most accommodating, the breakfast staff were charming and attentive, the coffee was top notch and the orange juice was freshly squeezed. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. I thought it was a nuisance that there was no ice machine on any of the floors, but the bar staff were only too happy to supply some to the room. I had to host a couple of business lunches and the food and service was nothing short of excellent.
I genuinely look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8Leslie_v8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Although the hotel is old and the bath rooms are not contemporary, they have been somewhat updated. The hotel is a wonderful place to relax and be away from the hustle and bustle of a large hotel. The staff id so attentive to every detail, they bend over backwards to make you feel comfortable and cared for. love it!

Room Tip: try and get a room away from the elevators. You can hear them all night in room 333
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrnaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We attended a dinner and cabaret featuring Michel Bell & Catherine Matejka the day after Thanksgiving. The dinner and service were excellent and the wine list was exceptional. The show was very good with a wide variety of music and Michel was great at telling little stories to introduce each song. I do think that the use of the microphone was not needed because of the size of the room and because of Michel's booming voice. I would definitely return to this venue for another show.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gainesburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Things were a little rocky at check in when there was initial confusion over who would help us and we got a room overlooking an ugly rooftop although the hotel did not appear to be booked. But, things vastly improved from there.

The bell staff and concierge were very helpful and we eventually got a lovely room on the 5th floor. You might want to request one here if they're available since they've been remodeled and the results are breathtaking. The decor...drapes, bedspreads, etc. appear to be custom as I looked to find a lable so I could buy them myself but there were none!

The waitress and bar tenders also get high marks and the breakfast was very good. The silver coffee pot was a nice touch and I think the OJ was fresh squeezed. Wine list also excellent and fairly affordable.

I've seen complaints here about the service being spotty...but, this is a town where very few of the actual residents have to work for a living. I imagine it's difficult to find good people who will stay!

We would definitely stay here again and we're looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recently hosted a breakfast at Polo Steak & Seafood for a group of 8 people in honor of a dear friend who was getting married. The food was fine and they seated us in the Palm Court, which was very nice. Unfortunately, after we left I reviewed my bill and realized I was over charged by a little over $100. After bringing it to the attention of the restaurant manager that very same day, it is now five days later and I have yet to receive the credit. I have been given the run-around day after day, each day being promised the credit will be issued “today”. I am very disappointed not only in the way I have been treated but the lack of professionalism in what I thought was a top notch establishment. I will not be returning to Polo Steak & Seafood anytime in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Rock80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

excellent location, service warm and friendly, however we recently spent a 3 day weekend at the Colony and very loud construction was going on all day including Saturday. No apologies were made and there had been no disclosure of this at the time of booking. All other hotels were sold out so moving to a quieter hotel was not an option. Several other guests were bothered. The mattresses are "tired" and should be replaced, very uncomfortable with no support. Our bathroom had several broken but easily fixed issues. It just seems like this could be such a great hotel however there is a total lack of attention to detail. Don't know if I would stay here again but hope that the management steps it up a bit.

Room Tip: ask first about construction as we were on the 2nd floor and could hear the 5th floor construction v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I'm so sorry you were'nt told about the construction while making your reservation. It has been completed and we are opening a brand new floor complete with totally remodeled bathrooms with glassed in showers. All rooms are done by Carlton Varney, our designer, and are magnificent! Mattresses are being replaced with new pillow top ones that you will dream the night away in. Hopefully you will return soon and enjoy the true beauty and elegance of this Palm Beach Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Spent 4th of July family holiday here. Hotel location is fantastic. Walking distance to the beach and the high-end shopping on Worth Ave is right around the corner from the hotel. We experienced really good service in the hotel. The concierge/bellmen were quick with the valet parking and gave us towels, chairs and umbrellas for the beach.

The pool is quaint in size and 10-12 lounge chairs line the small deck area. We were there during off-season and pretty much had the pool to ourselves. If it were high-season I imagine the pool and deck area could fill up quickly.

Breakfasts were included with our rate. The Polo restaurant does english and american breakfasts well.

We had a room with two double beds. The rooms are small and the decor is outdated, but we had an ocean view. The walls in this old hotel are thin and we could easily hear normal conversation from the room next door. As long as your neighbors go to bed at a reasonable hour this is not really an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizTourist33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Palm Beach
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
914 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
1 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Ave, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4709
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: £272 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel is a full service luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach, just around the corner from Worth Avenue and steps away from the beach. Small in size but with great personality, the Colony is home of The Royal Room Cabaret, Cafe 155 and Polo Steaks and Seafood. Friendly staff and impeccable service is a standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing