We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Splurge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the Splurge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We had Sunday brunch in the Circle dining room. Everything was exquisite-food-service-ambience. $120 per adult/$40 for kids- worth every penny! Allot 2-3 hrs & stroll the hotel & grounds & soak up every moment. I hear they have a nice happy hour, too!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtrooney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    367
    122
    64
    59
See reviews for
545
638
46
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The highlight of The Breakers is its beautiful grounds. You can walk along the ocean or go down to the beach, and you can walk the golf course. (If you are a golfer, so much the better, though I gather the course is fairly routine.) The rooms are large and well-appointed, too, with some modern touches, such as a television that you can watch in the bathroom mirror.

There were also some disappointments. The room was not well-lit or fully carpeted (while others in the hotel do have wall-to-wall carpet). The bathroom had a shower only, no bathtub. It’s also a huge hotel, thus losing some of that personal touch, and the front desk had trouble giving us an early check-in.

I’m giving the hotel four stars because I don’t easily give out five, but this hotel is on the high end of the ones I’d give four stars.

Room Tip: Obviously, an ocean view would be nice, but you'll have to pay for that. Less obviously, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for three nights and had an interconnecting room which the kids were in. We all absolutely loved the hotel and wished we had been able to stay longer there. The weather was great, the pools were just lovely and we enjoyed the bars and restaurants.We loved having cocktails by the pool. The bed was amazing - super comfortable, just wonderful. My husband and son enjoyed the golf there and praised the pro very highly following a lesson with him. I did one of the classes in the studio and wasn't really expecting much - but it was excellent and tough - which was what I had hoped for. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the main restaurant and I have to say that i have never had eggs benedict like it. And the service was super too. Yes, it's expensive but even if you can only stay a couple of days, just do it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I just returned from The Breakers with a group of just under 200 for an annualy incentive trip. The service was top notch from day one. Banquet meals/rooms were five star. All of our attendees had nothing but wonderful things to say about their experience at this hotel. Our conference services manager (Jeff McGinty) was awesome! We encountered some bumps in the road with getting our people on property due to bad weather in TX and Jeff helped us out tremendously with dropping rooms and guarantee headcounts without penalty! Our company will definitely be heading back to the Breakers in the future!

Room Tip: Keep in mind that this is a very old hotel and it's not necessarily about the room product. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This stay at the Breakers was our 4th visit and was the biggest disappointment. We specifically paid extra for a premium room and what we got was a room on a 1st floor with a view of roof conditioners and a rooftop itself (it was called "resort view" by front desc clerk). To make things worse, our room was located next to an ice-maker room, so all night long we hear some water pipe noises.

At night our room temperature raised up to 76 degrees until we realize that something was wrong. You cannot control the temperature in your own room, you have to call the front desk and ask them to change it for you.

Half an hour before our planing check out time I requested luggage pickup and valet car delivery, after 20 min waiting I had to haul 3 pieces of luggage myself. And guess what - nobody bring our car from the valet parking. All together, check out process took us 55 min.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kievchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a great resort in a perfect location. Overall the staff was very nice and customer focused. All of the cleaning staff said hi everytime I went by. My one complaint was that I had booked a king size room, and was given a queen. When I called to inquire about it, I was given some pushback - but ultimately they made it right. The gym was updated, and the machines looked new. The guest rooms were very small -- great condition, but small...especially given how pricey the resort is. I still think Waldorf has better service and adds a few extra services that even the Breakers didn't have, but it is still a great resort. Very expensive - but very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxstang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I am sitting at the pool with my goombay smash and loving this place more than ever. My husband and I give this trip to each other for Xmas and it has been and always will be the best gift EVER! I would like to give a shout out to Lindsey who facilitated early check in. Our favorite staff member is Tom who greets you as you enter the pool area. He is from the Boston area as are we so we always get to talk Red Sox. His personality is so pleasant. This is just the beginning as we arrived only a short while ago. More to come..........

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#9 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing