We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Spa- Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pelham Manor, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Spa- Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I did not stay at the hotel but made a special trip to use the spa. I booked a massage ($200) and facial ($190). the massage was a disappointment- I requested a deep tissue what I got was a lot of grease and the masseuse's bony elbow hapahazzardly jammed into my back, there is a technique to giving a deep tissue massage and that aint it. The facial was better but nothing amazing. The tech intimated that I may have roseacea, which really put me off since I dont in the slightest and it made me truly question her training.

The spa setting itself was lovely as you would expect the quality of the services do not live up to the superb reputation of the hotel and the attendant pricing of sevices.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReganMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    368
    122
    64
    59
See reviews for
546
638
46
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

What was once one of the most beautiful Architectural Masterpieces in America is slowly being redecorated with a 50's to 70's hippie decor. It was so wonderful to sit with friends in the Tapestry bar for after dinner cordials. Now it is beginning to resemble a flea market hodge podge of tacky decor. Shame on you Breakers. Henry Flagler would turn over in his grave if he saw this. What a slap in the face to him and to the hotel. Maybe the hotel will get a decorator with taste next time and restore the original grandeur and beauty the hotel once had. Now, I am just waiting for the lava lamps.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

From check in to turn down this hotel doesn't miss a beat!! Although this hotel is located in Palm Beach, it doesn't have the stuffiness of the area. Service is excellent and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The bellman walked me actually walked me to the coffee shop instead of directing me. The facilities are top notch from the meeting room to the numerous pools! Would highly recommend for business or vacation travel! The sunrise on the beach is incredible.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view, but the higher the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FivestarMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I won't write about how beautiful, historical and splendid this place is, feel free to read other reviews about that; it's true. It's huge, yet was crowded, but with four pools and plenty of places to eat or go, there's opportunity for privacy. Unfortunately the hotel's biggest problem isn't anything it can really do much about -- it's guests. They are today's moneyed crowd (or those who've spent beyond their means for the occasion), so feel entitled to be inconsiderate. Plenty are too self-centered to be bothered with their own progeny, paying much more attention to their daily selection of Gucci bikinis and matching beach bags than to the fact that Junior just hit his now-howling sister. The hotel provides chances for parents to ditch their little heirs (like tennis lessons or camp), but there's a lot of times when the nannies aren't around and someone's tyke is left alone to throw sunscreen bottles and packaging from the over-priced gift shop goggles into the pool. [to be fair, that was at the "active" pool (read, neglected kids' pool). But the aforementioned sister-hitting preteens belonging to Gucci tramp-stamped, plastic "mom" and craddle-robbing, on-3rd-wife "dad" were at the "quiet" pool]. Our 11pm leisurely walk around the resort was spoiled by a large brood of well-dressed young kids deliriously running around, their nowhere-to-be-found parents probably at a wedding inside the banquet room near the lobby while the staff close-by did nothing but looked "stuck" waiting on numerous wedding guests' common decency to surface.

Our room had an incredible view of the ocean. And besides the woman next door often yelling down from her balcony to her twenty-something daughters on the beach below, I was surprised at how quiet it was at night. I figured The Breakers must have some thick walls and I slept well -- until the last night! The gals next to us must have attended that wedding or a bar and upon returning at about 2 a.m. decided to turn on their ipod music and converse in a loud, drunk manner for a while. I could hear EVERYTHING - every song, every word, chuckle, and thing being tossed around!

It's such an elaborate resort, though with it's decor and charm from days of yore. Makes one want to go back in time, when buildings were grand and society was better-mannered!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RomeoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

One of the few hotel properties that deserve the overused description "iconic". Wonderful décor and some beautiful public / convention rooms. However, our stay was overshadowed by the debacle over checking in. The duty manager had promised that the room would be ready at 3.00pm - I had phoned an hour previously to check as arrival time is formally 4.00. Despite her promise, when we got there a little after 3.00 she had done nothing and gone off duty, and we were left standing around for 40 minutes. No urgency and only bare politeness by reception staff. Then we were shown a room that was allegedly an upgrade, but was not. We finally got the room we were promised, which was fine. But why put us to so much hassle?
The rest of our three day stay was pleasant, many of the staff were excellent, but what a poor first impression.
The side rooms with "partial ocean view" are small, cramped and the view is a joke. Avoid them.

Room Tip: Do not take a side room with partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GSB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I loved this hotel. Amazing old world charm. Elegant, relaxing, and spa like all at the same time. Clean rooms and wonderful breakfast/brunch from the food served and the rooms that it was hosted in. I would love to return. The only downside I can see for some is it is crowded. It had a lot of families and a fair amount of children but also weddings occurring. I didn't mind it but it is not a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Wish I had been able to stay longer to enjoy more of the features of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, and I don't recall hearing any noise once I was in my room -- when does that happen? Spectacular details in the lobby and public areas. The staff are there for you when you need them, but not hovering, either. We had conference meetings in a large room where we were able to have the curtains open in the morning so we could enjoy the view. I just LOVED the fact that there was a television screen built into the bathroom mirror. If I could change one thing, it would be to add another bank of elevators. It felt like we were always waiting for one; then it would be full of people. The sets of elevators are just not quite enough for the number of guests, especially since the bellmen use them also. Also be forewarned, there really isn't a typical beach; the hotel mainly has a seawall. I can't recommend the spa, but I only visited one time. The spa felt small, and there aren't relaxing ocean views. While waiting, every seat in the room was full, so you were sitting shoulder-to-shoulder with others. Massage therapist wasn't good, but I'm sure there are better ones there. Plus, why go to the spa when you can enjoy the pools and shopping?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blarneyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#9 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing