We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European flavour at the beach”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“European flavour at the beach”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We must thank Mr Flagler for this beautiful hotel that reminds us of the gilded age mansions. Everything is well kept. The pools, small beach and retaurants are all nice. It is a bit expensive for me: sodas at the pool at $4 is too much. In summer the croud is strange: almost everybody with tatoos. Money can not buy class. The rooms are confortable and nice, but nothing extraordinary. It is a nice experience for up to three nights if you dont go out of the hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    373
    122
    64
    61
See reviews for
548
645
48
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The Breakers is expensive. Very expensive. They do have some good deals in the summer and at off times. That being said, it is a fantastic resort with top notch service and food and the grounds are beautiful. The staff doesn't miss a beat. The cabanas are great. There is a nice reef just off the shore and the views are great. Only negative is that the regular rooms are on the small side. Overall one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrissiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for just one night at the end of our tour of Florida. This is a stunning resort. The hotel is opulence personified in an 'old worldly way'. The lobby is stunning and is cathedral like in appearance. The bedroom was lovely, well proportioned and a good size with an excellent bathroom. The main bar was simply wonderful, fantastic staff and it's own DJ which was really nice for us adults with our teenage kids. Outside the pools are superb, a mixture of adult only, a large rectangular pool and a free form pool. This over looked the beach which was lovely. The resort has everything you could wish for :beach, pools, gymnasium , choice of restaurants, golf course etc. This is one classy place.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at The Breakers for the first time in August 2014 with my wife and our 15 month old. Can't say enough great things about the property and the people.

Actual guest rooms are probably the biggest knock (we found them good but not top echelon). There are a lot of rooms, so inevitably some (ours) look out to less-than-scenic parts of the hotel.

Service and common areas are where this resort shines. Architecture in the hotel itself along with great pools and beach areas are both excellent.

Service was another plus. Everyone, from pool attendants to waiters, was super friendly and accommodative. They engaged with our little one and put up with his antics with a smile. The kids center found a baby-sitter on short notice who was excellent with our baby while mom and dad went on a date night at the main restaurant.

In terms of food, we ended up enjoying our meals. I was a bit worried, as the restaurants come off online as a little gimmicky, and the choice is fairly limited to the extent you stay on the property the entire time. However, the execution was really good, so all in all I was pleasantly surprised.

We're definitely considering making this an annual tradition.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texguy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I were there for a business trip last week. Been on many trips with him, but this hotel is so beautiful. The only thing is the price of the food and drinks. The rooms are great and the pools have lots of room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ownertowncenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The Breakers is not all that it cut out to be looks more like a medieval times hall than a hotel. The rooms are nice but the hotel is very misleading when it comes to pricing for an service they offer they charge a 22% gratuity which is outrageous for all of this its best to catch a flight to the caribbean and the price you pay for a room you would receive an entire condo thats cheaper than this place stay away hidden charges resort

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank americanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amory, Mississippi
Level Contributor
419 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

When I learned that we would be going back to the Breakers, I was thrilled! Was so nice to not have to learn my way around. My favorite relaxing place is the Courtyard near News & Gourmet! Got my toasted wheat bagel & coffee & relaxed in courtyard with my Kindle. All meals were great at hotel. Loved shower in room! Will return I hope!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing