We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, minor issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Panama City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Panama City
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, minor issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family and I stayed at the Towneplace for several nights recently.

The staff was great, very friendly and efficient.
The room itself ( a 2 bedroom suite) was nice and served our needs. It wasn't a "huge" room, but had seperate bedrooms and enough space to live comfortably. On the third floor, at the end of the building, I thought it would be pretty quiet but the AC fans on the first floor unit right outside our window were quite loud when they cycled on and off all night.

Each room had its own AC unit with some creative temperature interpretation, so there was some juggling of settings to try to find a good balance.

The pool was nice (although right next to the parking lot).

Breakfast was pretty basic, but most free breakfasts are. At least everything was fresh.

Our biggest beef was with the single elevator. It was very slow and caused a huge backlog during busy periods. I'm not sure why only one elevator was installed, but it's a poor design choice.

Overall our stay was good, and we really appreciated the pet-friendly option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridiculous888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    33
    12
    7
    14
See reviews for
48
17
5
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The TownePlace suites was a great stop over for our family to start our vaca. The room was big enough for all of us. Clean and close to restaurants and the mall. Go to the Captains Table for seafood. During our stay the hotel was crowded and it showed. Breakfast area was too tight and crowded for everyone. This hotel is not close the beach. Beach is about 45mins depending on traffic. Good place away from busy traffic of beach area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestokarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs.England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel appears to be fairly new and is very well maintained. It is about a 15 - 20 minute drive to the beach area but is itself set in a quiet area just off 23rd Street, which is one of major routes through town to beaches.The hotel is within walking distance of a number of restaurants, including Red Lobster & Olive Garden, and has numerous eateries within a 5 minute drive. An ample, complimentary, continental style breakfast is available at the hotel. Destin and the colourful coastal villages along Sr30A are within 1 hour drive and make for an easy day trip. We stayed for 5 nights and were impressed by the friendliness of all the staff and the cleanliness of the room. The room had 6ft bed with a very well equipped kitchenette, a large fridge freezer, full size dishwasher, full size microwave, 2 ring ceramic hob and all the crockery & pans required for up to 4 people. There was a 32in HDTV with a good range of channels available. In room one could use either wired or Wi-Fi internet for no charge and the connection had a good download speed of 30mgb (tested on Speednet). In the reception area there are a number of safes available for no charge. I used a large wall safe that stored all my money, cameras,lenses, wife's jewellery, and laptop with ample room to spare. Coffee and other hot drinks were available 24hrs for no charge in the reception area. My only criticism would be over the siting of the swimming pool. It is right next to the front entrance to reception and the adjacent car park giving little privacy. The pool would be better situated to the rear of the property.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st (ground)floor have easy access to reception facilities & pool & fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InspLimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was my first time in this brand hotel. They have great amenities - soaps/shampoos (Paul Mitchell brand...very Nice)! However, the hotel is not located in a great area so not an area where you want to take a walk. This looks like it was an older hotel but they've put some newer furnishings, but not high end. There is an outdoor pool which is nice & maintained, but it sits next to the parking lot so not all that relaxing.
Rates are lower here then for other hotels & it does offer a free continental breakfast (usual fixings) so not a bad hotel. I'd recommend this for a business traveler, but if you were a family traveling I'd recommend closer to the beach area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great location to explore the Panama City Beach area and nearby towns of Destin, watercolor and Rosemary beach. The suite is adequate not huge but typical Marriott clean and fresh. Close to nearby restaurants and 1/2 block from a major mall and shopping.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hotel looks new and is well kept. We booked 2-bedroom for ~$200/nt, but upon arrival, they stated they were overbooked (as other reviewer stated). They tried to give us 2 separate rooms, but that was not acceptable to us since we had 2 small children and the rooms didn't connect in between. The attendant stated that they didn't realize we had so many, but my reservation clearly stated our party of 2 adults/ 2 children. I explained we were not leaving our children to themselves and we certainly were not sleeping apart from each other. She gave us someone else's room and said hopefully it would be acceptable to them.
Room 101 was nice 2-bedroom at end of facility with small kitchen and dining table to seat 4-6 (only 4 chairs). The only real complaint is the bathroom was not cleaned well. There were stray hairs in tub, on toilet, and floor, and mold in areas of tub (below faceplate) that apparently the cleaners don't see. Easily spotted if taking a bath or bathing children (where you actually bent over and looked). I cleaned myself since it was late at night and family was tired. With these obvious unclean spots, it makes me wonder what else they don't give attention to...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiddingme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline. We booked a 2 bedroom however when checking in, they did not have any available saying that Priceline overbooked them. They gave us 2 rooms instead but this left us with 2 15 yr olds in a room by theirselves unsupervised. After driving for 12 hours we felt we had no choice but to take this. Priceline offered no help on reducing these charges.

When looking for a room we requested a pet friendly hotel. We were never told by Priceline or the hotel that there was an extra charge for this. We found out when they added a 100 charge to our credit card. We ended up paying 279.00 for this room which is way overpriced. We could have stayed at a nicer place on the beach for that.

Priceline should show the charges for pets when you search for pet friendly hotels. Not very happy with Townplace suites by Marriott or Priceline. Won't use either again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TSmith167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Panama City
Courtyard Panama City
#5 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
#1 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn  Panama City
Holiday Inn Panama City
#2 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Panama City

Property: TownePlace Suites Panama City
Address: 903 East 23rd Street, Panama City, FL 32405
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Panama City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott® is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen and high speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Panama City Hotel Panama City
TownePlace Suites Panama City Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing