We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very old!! mattress is like 30 yrs old pull out couch was even worse DONT STAY IN ROOM 803 WEST SUNBIRD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbird Condominiums
Summerdale, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very old!! mattress is like 30 yrs old pull out couch was even worse DONT STAY IN ROOM 803 WEST SUNBIRD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

paid 280.00 for friday and sat night 77.32 cleanin fee,300.00 DEPOSIT we stayed in ROOM 802 west VERY OLD LOOKING WITH LIKE 70;S DECOR THE BED WAS AS OLD THE PULL OUT WAS EVEN WORSE the air unit between 801 AND 802 made noises all night

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcooper85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    13
    12
    21
See reviews for
30
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

Just came back from PCB during Spring Break (April) with my teenage daughter (and friend) and had a great time. The Sunbird was a nice resort, but the larger pool was not heated and the heated pool was way too small - that is the only bad thing I would have to say. Security was very friendly, did a great job and the place was clean. Rented from Lucy Massey who also did a great job and was wonderful to work with. Stayed in 407 E and can't say enough about this beautiful and spacious condo. It was clean- housekeeping did a great job and were friendly - and the place had everything to make my stay enjoyable - I didn't have to pack a thing. Everything was well kept and practically new. The view was spectacular - I will be back to stay in this condo.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMSmith_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S30052nellville Ga.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We stayed in unit 703E. We paid a $15.00 parking fee and a refundable $150 security deposit which was refunded a week after the stay. We checked out the place and minor details were taken care of by the next day. With these "E" condos the sunrises are amazing, but the actual sunset is blocked by the building. Most of the units have a sunrise or sunset choice . It has 3 pools and is next door to Pineapple Willies where the Grouper basket is OUT OF SIGHT! We spent morning and evenings at St. Andrews State Park watching the wildlife. We had a year pass I believe it was $80.00. We enjoyed the balcony and had a wonderful time! See the photo taken from our condo.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snellvillegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

I stayed in the sunbird unit 607E, vrbo.com/172525. It was absolutely amazing. The view was perfect, the furniture was new and place was completely renovated. It was like staying in a 5-star hotel right on the beach. Everything is close by and they even had a nice 42" flat screen tv. I rented from the owner and so I didn't need to deal with unfriendly staff. The owner took care of everything for me.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaxHotSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivar, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2007

We just returned from five nights at the Sunbird in Panama City Beach, FL. We rented from vrbo.com, and stayed in Unit 912W in the west tower. Renting directly from the owner it was WONDERFUL. Of course it is a condo that other people stay in, so we didn't expect the Ritz, and it isn't one of the "luxury" condos with leather furniture or anything, but since you are hardly in the condo it was perfect. NO BUGS, although others have reported they saw some roaches. I saw ONE palmetto bug, they look like giant roaches, but I wonder if that is what others are seeing. They are unavoidable near the coast, and this one was out in the breezeway. Next door to Pineapple Willy's (you have to try the ribs they are worth it!) and a block or two away from Coyote Ugly's, Captain Anderson's marina, everything in a few minute's reach. Walmart across the road, a Circle K convenience store a couple buildings away from you. Just was a heavenly stay!

  • Liked — The location--close to anything you want or need
  • Disliked — Pools very small and crowded with young (diaper-wearing) children
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank tngirl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabaster, al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We stayed at the Sunbird Condominiums in Panama City, Florida the week of the 4th of July. The room was in terrible shape with blinds that would not open, some were broken and laying on the floor. The toilet would sometimes take 3 attempts to flush. The sprayer in the kitchen sink was broken, the broom and mop in the closet were held together with duct tape. On the balcony the screen door had cuts in it and the furniture was cracked. In the bedroom we had bugs crawling around and the bedspread had stains on it and the extra blanket had holes in it. The room was advertised to have an VCR but did not have one the front desk said that they were room specific but that is not how it is advertised. We contacted maintenance about the blinds on the first day and nothing was ever done about it. Quiet time starts at 10 pm but security was allowing fireworks at 3 in the morning on the 6th. Overall the only thing you are paying for is the beautiful view. We will not consider staying there again.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — condition of the room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BamaK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2004

The web page for the SunBird Condominiums in Panama City, FL was entirely misleading. When I made the reservation for a 4 day 3 night trip during Spring Break, I verified that everything on the web page was true for the room that I was renting. However, there was only one television in the condo, No VCR, No Stereo, No Ceiling Fan in the Bedroom, the king size bed was not much bigger than a double bed, the mattress on the fold out couch was very thin and uncomfortable, the toilet had trouble flushing, the sliding door to the balcony from the bedroom was so hard to push open and close that we gave up on it, the game room was never open, it was hard to get fresh towels, and a few other problems. There was actually a very nice view from the balcony, the security was pretty good, and the office personnel were nice. When I called the number to report the problems, all the girl could say was that she was sorry for any inconvenience - she sounded like a robot who could have cared less. The one bedroom condo cost me $170 a night when it probably should have been about $50 a night.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
10.8 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Suites
Sunbird Suites
#71 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shores of Panama Resort
Shores of Panama Resort
#77 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laketown Wharf Resort
Laketown Wharf Resort
#19 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Condominiums

Property: Sunbird Condominiums
Address: 9850 S Thomas Dr, Panama City, FL 32408-4248
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunbird Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Condominiums Hotel Panama City
Sunbird Condominiums Panama City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing