We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful Experience”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

How is this company allowed to ambush-charge you with damage waiver/cleaning fees of $122+ after their unit is booked through a Super Savings offer on a major booking website?!?!? Shocked to see it was not just me. 50% mark-up on the "discount" rate offered by Hotwire.com. The room was dinky, with a clanking heater-A/C unit, one miniature trash can, and windows on one wall that opened onto a walkway (no privacy) and the empty parking lot beyond.

The "front desk" wasn't manned for a single second of the time we were there, and the smoking maintenance guy showed up to the room in the middle of the afternoon of the second day of our stay to drop off the linens for the "next" people...which I had to put under the bed...

Check-in was an ordeal in itself. They have a red "bat-phone" that should connect you directly to a rep if you check in "after hours" (it was 4:00 p.m.). Naturally, that phone didn't work, and I had to jump through hoops on an emergency number to get in touch with the brusk lady from Oaseas to be held over a barrel to pay the "damage waiver/cleaning" fee just to get a key on the non-refundable room I'd already booked. Highway robbery.

These people should be ashamed of themselves. Will not use this company or Hotwire again.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice. Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    4
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The studio unit we stayed in was such a disappointment. Stained wall-to-wall carpet, sandy bath mats, clunky wall unit a/c that made noises all night long, out-dated decor, no box mattress cover, thin sheets and stinky comforter. We had originally planned to stay two nights but cut the trip short to one due to the nature of this unit. I have a feeling many of the units in the buildings here are poorly taken care of and are in need of updating. You get what you pay for here, by the way. I would highly recommend that you save your money to stay at a reputable place such as Rosemary Beach, Watersound, etc. The only redeeming quality here is the wonderful customer service agent at Oaseas who did not decline my request to credit the second night that was charged on my credit card. After explaining my reason for wanting to leave after the first night, the representative was cordial and understanding.

Problems, continued:

- staff at the large pool was grumpy toward my kids
- loud patrons beneath our 2nd floor windows

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carterkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaseasResortsGM, Public Relations Manager at Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback, which I have shared with my team. We take pride in our property upkeep and feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. Clearly, this was not your impression and for that we offer our apologies. Rest assured that I will follow up with maintenance and housekeeping to address your concerns. I was particularly happy to read your comments about our guest service agent. We strive to have the best customer service and I am delighted that you were impressed. Thank you again for your comments.

Faith Stephens
Director of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My, my. Where to begin? Incompetent staff? Stained linens? Noisy air conditioner? No light in kitchen? Sand on floor? This place is poorly constructed and maintained. The room decor is "first apartment out of college" and straight from Target. The hideously fake plants haven't been dusted since opening. You have to take a TRAM to the pool which is at ANOTHER resort! If you have ever stayed at any other place on 30A, you will hate this place. If you haven't, you won't come back and that is a shame. Avoid the "Villages."

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaseasResortsGM, Public Relations Manager at Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
I have reviewed your concerns with the appropriate staff and we have taken corrective actions because of the dissatisfaction you faced during your stay with us. We always strive to achieve and surpass our guests’ expectations, and for failing to meet yours we are truly sorry.

If your travel plans ever again bring you to the South Walton area, please give us an opportunity to serve your needs and change your opinion.

Thank you,

Oaseas Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed the week after 4th of July, we were in the room for an hour, the kids were playing on the floor in the master bedroom and were black from the knees down from the dirty floors. We complained and they came back up and cleaned but it didn't help. We were told that this is normal in a rental property which is just not true.

Be cautious of the shuttle as well, they only have one driver and if he does not show up it is a hike to the beach and the pool and there is no alternative... apparently there is only one person that can drive a golf cart.

Also be careful of the charges, they charge a non-refundable $40 damage waiver and $133.80 cleaning fee when you check in.

The good - It is a great area, very family oriented and great shops and restaurants. The main pool is fantastic and a great place to relax and spend the day. The beaches are a little crowded but that's to be expected, if you can manage a short walk (700-1000 yards) you can sit right on the water or they have beach chairs available for rent for $25 a day for two chairs and an umbrella and you're right on the water.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killen, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We just checked out yesterday (a day early) because the odor in the room was so bad and the carpets are so dirty we could not stand it any longer. A place with rates this high should replace carpet and clean more through. We left the window open the entire time we were there but it did not help.

Room Tip: ask to be put anywhere but building H
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We booked a one bedroom condo for three nights via Oaseas Resorts. Upon arrival we found a clean, well appointed property with a wonderful pool. Many outstanding restaurants and shops are within walking distance of this scenic area. The only problem we encountered was locating the office for check-in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Booked a two night stay on Expedia to stay at villages. A fair amount of $288 was charged to my credit card. Upon check in, the front desk demanded an additional amount of $188 for check in and cleaning fees. After a 38 minute phone call to Expedia, my $288 was credited back to me and we went elsewhere.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
0.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
355 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
551 reviews
15.7 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Pointe Resort
High Pointe Resort
#37 of 83 in Panama City Beach
45 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Grayton Beach
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts

Property: Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts
Address: 10343 E County Highway 30a, Panama City, FL 32461-6942
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of South Walton Beach is nestled in between Rosemary Beach and Alys Beach along the scenic 30-A corridor of the Beaches of South Walton. Step back in time as you enter the cobblestone streets and lamp lit passageways of the Village of South Walton Beach. With old world charm, southern hospitality and the natural beauty of the area, this is sure to be a place where memories are made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village of South Walton by Oaseas Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Of South Walton By Oaseas Hotel Panama City
Village Of South Walton By Oaseas Resorts Panama City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing