We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buccaneer Beach Motel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place was gross. The reviews were ridiculously good when we booked. I see now that people are flooding the site with similar stories to ours. Our first room was an immediate disappointment. It was dank and dark like an old basement. Everything was filthy and the carpet was wet; not damp, wet. The hotel clerk switched us to an "upgraded" room at no extra charge. The view was pretty great, but everything else was about the same, just a little less gross than the first room. Both rooms had mildewed and moldy curtans , damaged furniture, stained linens, etc. The refrigerator was foul. I actually don't have anything negative to say about the staff. The clerk was friendly and accommodating. The WiFi was virtually nonexistent in the rooms (this may be an attempt to keep you from looking for other hotels online or reviewing theirs fresh from the room). We never visited the restaurant like we had planned to. We spent as much time away from the Buccaneer, and Panama City for that matter, as possible. Panama City is very different than Panama City Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in this hotel are bad. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CartoonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Firstly, based upon other reviews, price and pictures we decieded to book what seemed like a very comfortable pleasant motel. The only good thing about the place is the bar next door, it has a very nice ambiance. The rooms are very dated and filthy, the housekeeping staff were very rude, the pool i would not let my dog swim in and there excuse of a beach was very disappointing. Based upon the pictures it looks very relaxing and pleasant. They are located on the bay next door to and oil & gas reserve, the so called beach is covered in trash and seaweed. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere, unless you have no other choice.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we stayed 3 nights with room facing the bay,with a private deck. Was clean but a bit outdated. Very affordable for what you get. Restaurant had great food and free bands on the weekend. Staff very friendly. Plan to come back again.A plus being on the bay away from all craziness.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This place was a hole in wall, The only thing it had going for it was good food in restaurant and hot water .... Save your money this hotel needs to be condemned !!!! unless you are absolutely broke find another hotel !!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Doris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

DO NOT BELIEVE ANY POSITIVE REVIEW OF THIS MOTEL! The hotel offers discounts to people who positively review this property on Tripadvisor as indicated on a sign at the front desk. When we booked the motel for our stay, I did notice the mixed reviews. I was not really worried because I tend to give people the benefit of the doubt and I am generally not as picky as many travelers. I was sadly mistaken. My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 1 sleepless night ( we booked for 5 nights but checked out immediately the next morning). We arrived late in the evening, got our room key and went to the room. Not 5 minutes later we were back at the front desk and stated we were going to leave in the morning and not stay the remaining 4 nights. We were told emphatically that they do not give refunds. We were charged for the full stay even though we only stayed one night! Every single person we dealt with at the front desk was rude. I even asked if there was a better room and I was told we were in the nicest room in the motel and I believe it!!! This is what we found: the bed linens had stains and holes (note: I am not the only reviewer to say this!). The door chain was broken (again - another guest said the same). There were stains on the walls, the carpet was filthy, the room smelled awful. The A/C unit had debris in the vents and the forced air was blowing it into the room. The night stands were sticky with a gooey liquid and instead of cleaning it properly, they put wide strips of burlap on them. The lamps on the night stands were completely rusted around the bases. There are no other words to describe this place but filthy and nasty! If you choose to ignore the negative reviews of this motel, I strongly advise you book 1 night only so you are not out of hundreds of dollars when you try to leave early. This is fair warning to all travelers who ignore the negative reviews of this motel - don't make the same mistake I did! We left and went to another hotel - which had better reviews and for good reason. We found far nicer and cleaner accommodations just a few miles away and for less money per night!

Room Tip: No room is clean - so does it matter?
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Buccaneer and will stay again on our next trip. The hotel rooms are a little outdated but that did not bother us at all. The repairs done to the rooms were not done professionally or if they were I hope they didn't pay much, but still is not a deterrent. The room was clean but did see some hard water stain in the tub (water is very hard and almost like well water) We were given all our request we made when we reserved the room in advanced. Our room was cleaned each day and towels and wash cloths were bright white, no issues with linen either. No smells and carpet was clean, Stayed July 4th week and had no problems using the pool or any other area of the hotel. The pool is stained but it was kept cleaned and so was the surrounding area. We used the pool each afternoon and evening with no issues and maybe only about 8 people in the pool at one time, the only time it was closed was due to a child getting sick in the pool. Loved looking out of our room and seeing dolphins play right below our window. The beach did have seaweed that kept washing up and I did see it being cleaned up July 4th. The lady at the front desk was very helpful. Can't wait to go back, I'll pass on the $325 a nite condo for the off the beaten path Buccaneer. Even though there was a lounge, we did not see or hear of any issues of drunkenness, parking was never a problem for us. Never heard next door neighbors and met a lot of nice people, some who say they come a couple times a year. Stayed in room 318.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luv2travellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My Boyfriend and I made reservations three weeks in advance and we were told we had a pool view room,but when we arrived we had a view of the back of the building and the parking lot. When we brought it to the front desk's attention, they were rude and refused to give us another room. Because they open the bar and the pool to the public, the paying guess had a hard time getting into the bar or using the pool (which was closed every time we wanted to go swimming) because they both stayed so crowded. You would think that it being the Fourth Of July they would have their own firewook display instead of depending on the surrounding bussinesses.

Room Tip: They consider all their rooms pool view. So not true!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
250 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
480 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIty Beach
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#24 of 48 in Panama City Beach
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
869 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
#2 of 31 in Panama City
513 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 31 in Panama City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Motel

Address: 711 W Beach Dr, Panama City, FL 32401-2319
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £45 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Buccaneer Beach Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneer Beach Motel is located in beautiful downtown Panama City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Hotel Panama City
Days Inn Bayside
Days Inn Panama City
Panama City Days Inn
Buccaneer Beach Motel Panama City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing