We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buccaneer Beach Motel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good room for the price”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our first night stay we had a problem with the room, air conditioner was leaking inside the room and the floor was wet, but we went to front desk and they up graded our room at no extra charge, and they kept apologizing to us. Had house keeping everyday, anything we needed they got for us. Over all great place for the price. Would gladly go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blooney72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    37
    16
    12
    31
See reviews for
47
35
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I wanted something with local flavor - no chain. I heard good things about the restaurant on the property from locals I met at the Mexican restaurant Peppers, but it was closed when I booked in after 10 PM. The hotel was built in the 50s and used to be a Days Inn. The night clerk was helpful. I felt like I was stepping into a time warp - the property was quiet, the common areas felt old but in a pleasant way. I guess the way to say it - if you want to step off the grid go here. If you want super clean and familiar digs do not book this hotel. Rusty accessories were prevalent as another reviewer observed. Ultimately, the ambiance connected with my sense of adventure once I overcame my ritualized expectations created by chain hotel experiences. I paid $85 out the door with taxes included. My night was restful. Later the helpful staff made copies of some items emailed to me. This extra help made my day start the way you want and need a busy work day to launch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPMaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Ga.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is about 15 minutes from the beach. There is very little sandy area. Didn't go to the pool but did look nice. Had a non-smoking room and when I opened the door I could smell the smoke. Accessories were old and rusty. Nothing I couldn't live with but next time I think I will go closer to the beach for a little more money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This place is not as bad as everone else is making it out to be. And it is better than a roach motel. I LOVE how its right om the Bay. And the pool over looks the Bay. And the small beach is so so awesome and the playground is ggreat for the kids. The rooms do need someTLC and the air conditioning needs some work, but there isno room perfect. I would most defantly stay here again.cant wait til next year. I will be posting pictures as soon as i can.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikieandcindy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Everytime we come to Panama, we stay on the island. The woman that checks us in is always the same, and she remembers us each time. The rooms arent the best, but for the price, they are well worth it. The kids have a place to place and we can sit on the edge of the water and relax. Will always visit, even if im not staying~

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MW22Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place was gross. The reviews were ridiculously good when we booked. I see now that people are flooding the site with similar stories to ours. Our first room was an immediate disappointment. It was dank and dark like an old basement. Everything was filthy and the carpet was wet; not damp, wet. The hotel clerk switched us to an "upgraded" room at no extra charge. The view was pretty great, but everything else was about the same, just a little less gross than the first room. Both rooms had mildewed and moldy curtans , damaged furniture, stained linens, etc. The refrigerator was foul. I actually don't have anything negative to say about the staff. The clerk was friendly and accommodating. The WiFi was virtually nonexistent in the rooms (this may be an attempt to keep you from looking for other hotels online or reviewing theirs fresh from the room). We never visited the restaurant like we had planned to. We spent as much time away from the Buccaneer, and Panama City for that matter, as possible. Panama City is very different than Panama City Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in this hotel are bad. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CartoonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Firstly, based upon other reviews, price and pictures we decieded to book what seemed like a very comfortable pleasant motel. The only good thing about the place is the bar next door, it has a very nice ambiance. The rooms are very dated and filthy, the housekeeping staff were very rude, the pool i would not let my dog swim in and there excuse of a beach was very disappointing. Based upon the pictures it looks very relaxing and pleasant. They are located on the bay next door to and oil & gas reserve, the so called beach is covered in trash and seaweed. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere, unless you have no other choice.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#3 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Panama City
Holiday Inn Panama City
#2 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
#1 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Motel

Property: Buccaneer Beach Motel
Address: 711 W Beach Dr, Panama City, FL 32401-2319
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Buccaneer Beach Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneer Beach Motel is located in beautiful downtown Panama City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Hotel Panama City
Days Inn Bayside
Days Inn Panama City
Panama City Days Inn
Buccaneer Beach Motel Panama City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing