We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to Wait.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Beach Resort
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Prepare to Wait.....”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I share the feelings of the other travelers who have reviewed the property. We stayed on the 25th floor so the stairs are not an option. Remember there are more elevators than the one closest to your unit. Saturday check in time is CRAZY!!! We arrived around 6:30 and the lines were still huge. It was about an hour wait for the elevator. There are three elevators to the left of the walk over bridge. Use those. The remainder of the week wasn't too bad at those elevators...maybe 5 minutes. The stairs are not air conditioned....and neither are the waiting areas for the elevators or the elevators...they get hot and muggy. Our room itself was great. #2509. It had a great view and you could still hear the waves.
The rental process for chairs/umbrellas could be updated. Why you have to wait every day is crazy. The line started as early as 7am for nice beach days and you can't rent until 8:30am. The water was full of seaweed on our trip. The two outdoor pools are very nice but there should be an age limit for the hot tubs. Each day they were full of kids. All in all the trip was O.K. I doubt I would ever go back to PCB....too many people for a relaxing family vacation.

Room Tip: Park on the 2nd floor of the garage to eliminate the garage elevator wait. Stay on the 1st through 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sjack80724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    163
    114
    81
    78
See reviews for
383
101
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just spent this last week of July and Aug 1 & 2 @ Tidewater. The situation with the elevators kind of ruins everything, seriously. My shortest wait was 13 minutes. My longest wait was 20 minutes, at which point I simply took the stairs from the 14th floor. People in my group waited 30 minutes regularly and not everyone can or wants to take the stairs. By the way the air is poor, it's hot, the stairs are no fun.

I was told by people that live there that the weekends are far worse than I experienced, and it's not unusual to wait 1 hour for an elevator, especially if you have a luggage cart to get on and off. You see if one is already on the elevator, you can't get one it with yours (and the other people), hence you end up waiting for the next elevator, crossing your fingers you can get on it, even if it arrives in 20 minutes.

In sum, you have to plan your day mindful of the elevators. Though the Tidewater is right on the beach, you can get to the beach faster staying at a hotel inland. Seriously...if you stay in a hotel a mile or so inland off the beach, and if you and a guest at the Tidewater leave your rooms at the same time, the guest at the hotel a mile away will get to the beach faster, seriously, especially if you're staying on one of the top 20 or so floors. Yes, it's that bad much of the time.

However I also thought the "NO" water pressure was really really shameful too. Here you have a nice suite, etc - and want to take a shower....and you may get a faint trickle at best. Again, I am not kidding, it's ridiculous. They completely poorly designed the plumbing at that place, it reminded me of showers I had to take at hole in the wall youth hostels traveling in Vietnam and Thailand.

The Tidewater has some nice aspects to it, crazy view, but overall....the elevators and no water pressure RUIN the whole thing and I will not stay there again. Oh yeah...and I have no idea why...but they have 2 outdoor pools. One of the pools? They don't heat. I am not kidding. Unless you have some kind of a crazy hook up deal, I would not stay here, and certainly not pay top dollar. Oh hell no.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akishima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As others have said, units are nice and location is good. However, the elevators are a major issue. The elevator system can't support 30 floors and this high number of units! Our other issue was reserving chairs. Each unit receives 2 chairs included, but you are required to go stand in line each morning to reserve them. If you want first row (of three), you have to get out there at 7:30 am and wait until they start reserving at 8:30. Not how we wanted to spend each morning! Even when you get first row with the nice view, people will set up their own personal chairs (and sometimes umbrellas) right in front of you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannonJDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

To start they did not have enough luggage carts for all the people checking in so we had to make three trips from the parking garage to the 16th floor carrying all of out luggage. Our 2 bed/2 bath condo on the 16th floor (Unit 1605) was clean and had a great view, it looked as though it had recently been updated as far as furniture and decor. When we arrived we discovered that the smoke alarm was beeping with the change batteries alert. We notified the rental management company immediately. After three follow up calls to the management company and just over 24 hours they sent a maintenance man to replace the batteries. Of course this was not a reflection on the Tidewater resort but on the management company. The resort was really crowded and the elevators were so slow that we avoided leaving the room. Just to get from the 16th floor down to the parking garage and back took well over an hour. This is unacceptable for a condo that is built to house so many vacationers. If you stay here be prepared to spend a majority of your vacation time waiting for elevators. Tidewater is in a good area for access to restaurants and attractions but I would only stay here again if I got a condo on the bottom three floors.

Room Tip: Get a condo on the bottom three floors and use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thumperjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

While our condo was great, we will not go back to this property. Unlike some, we had no issues with cleanliness of the condo or the condition of anything in it. The layout was perfect for our needs and the view was just what we wanted. We were glad to have free wifi, but it was slow and sometimes iffy.

The main issue - we were on the 18th floor, and the elevators, just like others have stated, were horrible. It seems that everyone is required to check in and out on the same day, Saturday. Nightmare when you have 30 floors and not enough elevators. Also difficult when the property does not have many luggage carts and parking is a bit of a walk. Check out day we waited about 20 minutes before an elevator ever came to our floor. And many times during the week the elevators would be so full you would have to wait until the next one, or the one after....before you could get on.

We tried to not let our elevator experience affect our vacation fun, but it did. We won't go back to this property and do not recommend it unless you can score a unit on lower floors and love to walk the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelleyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed on the 12th floor. The unit was ok and the view was beautiful. We had a one bedroom with a bunkroom and pullout sofa. The pullout sofa was the best bed in the unit. The elevators are horrible and were very slow (when they are working). The wifi is slow or nonworking most of the time. Tidewater has one of the best locations on the beach and would be wonderful if you didn't have to deal with the elevators and parking garage.

If you stay here be ready to spend half your vacation waiting on elevators or use the stairs. I won't be returning here.

Room Tip: Stay on Level 2 so you don't have to deal with the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sls1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The room was great and they have a wonderful view. That being said, we will not be back. They do not have enough luggage carts and we had to make several trips to hand carry everything in. The elevators are the slowest ever. Sometimes taking hours to get space in one. Plan to walk a lot of stairs if you stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#10 of 83 in Panama City Beach
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sterling Breeze
Sterling Breeze
#44 of 83 in Panama City Beach
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#12 of 48 in Panama City Beach
591 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Isle Resort and Condominiums
Emerald Isle Resort and Condomin...
#2 of 83 in Panama City Beach
289 reviews
5.6 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Beach Resort

Property: Tidewater Beach Resort
Address: 16819 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tidewater Beach Resort is a first class resort condominium featuring an impressive array of amenities for owners' and guests' enjoyment. Two huge lagoon pools with hot tubs, a 4,300 sq. ft fitness center with roman spas, saunas and steam rooms, a 5,000 sq. ft. conference center, a movie/media center, indoor pool, seven elevators and much, much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Tidewater Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Tidewater Beach Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing