We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Chateau Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Motel
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I read all the other reviews and was prepared for a clean, old motel on the beach. Well, the good thing is location...right on beach...and the staff was friendly. However, it is a motel for guests that are pretty low class. Lots of rough looking types hanging around. The rooms are pretty old and the bedspreads need to be changed out. Ours had a hole in it. The bathroom was small and pretty shabby. Had a good time with family, but that was the highlight of the stay.

Room Tip: Sorry, I can't imagine that there are any rooms better than the crappy one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ExplorerfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    106
    60
    38
    70
See reviews for
189
119
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay. The Chateau is an older property. The staff was very good and the location was great. We had a great time and everything was clean. I don't think you will find a better deal in this area. We stayed a week and had zero complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We absolutely loved it there! The only complaints we have are having to climb the stairs to the pool and then again to the parking area and back down again.(I'm not it shape) But after a few days of doing it it wasn't as bad. The other complaint is that we were changing rooms on our second night and were told we could keep the first until the other was ready.... Than didn't happen.We had to be out by 10 like the regular check outs. The lady at the front desk suggested we go eat breakfast, we were up and going by 7am so we were done with breakfast way before 10. So now that the complaints are out of the way the good stuff.The staff was great with the exception to the lady a referenced. The Cabana room was wonderful! right on the beach, the beds were great, not like home, but NO SAGGING IN THE MIDDLE. There were NO BUGS. The AC froze us at night which is how we like it. It was super clean our room was clean everyday. Best of all is the location. Its only about 5 miles away from everything. We will be back next summer! Thanks for a great stay!!!!

Room Tip: Cabana rooms are beach level . Second floor rooms are pool deck or tanning deck level, 3rd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCNICK, General Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you sharing your mishaps so I can address this issue with my staff to ensure it is not repeated in the future. I hope that you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The room was dirty. Smells like a dumpster outside. Karaoke/loud music goes on at the pool.
If your room is by the pool you are forced to endure terrible music for hours at night. The extra parking is behind a purple haze across the street in a shady area. The $30 umbrella seats on the beach are torn and gross. Overall, terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jdeezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCNICK, General Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy stay with us. We do have karaoke on Friday and Saturday nights throughout the summer season. It's advertised on our website and most of our guest enjoy the activities. We are not involved with the chairs and umbrellas on the beach however I will inform the beach company of your dissatisfaction. We have a security that patrols all sections of our property to ensure guest safety and comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Ind
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Granted, during the 4th of July week 2013 the weather was awful. Over 20 inches of rain fell. The windows leaked big time but the guys tried. We made the best of it on the ocean and in the pool. The ladies at the desk were stressed and poorly informed. Zero breakfast. So many wanted to check out why not a 1 day rain check for public relations purposes. Three day minimum, at the price and condition, seemed much. I will never stay here, may never go back to Panama City Beach. It is a very uninteresting area when the weather is bad. I don't think they handled the customers that well, PS watch out for speed traps near Montgomery, Ala

Room Tip: maybe look at the Days Inn down the street. A real good hamburger place called the Front Porch. Hoot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreeleyInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCNICK, General Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
I will agree the weather was disappointing during the week of the 4th. 22 inches of rain in 48hrs, the most rain Panama City Beach has had in over 100yrs. The weather upset a few of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I will have to start with Ramil he is one of the friendliest people I know he really went out of his way to take care of us ... We booked through Hotels.com at another hotel there (Casa Loma ) and when arriving there found out our reservation had never been made after making a few calls we called the Chataeu my daughter spoke with him told him our problem and he was on it he couldn't put us up for sat. night but got on the phone himself to find us a place. we cked in early on sunday and he called us when the room was ready . the room was clean had no problems like all the other reviews are stating we were right by the pool yes it is a older hotel but is kept up nicely (if you need a five star go somewhere else) . We loved it there and will for sure go back it was in our price range and we got to bring money home for our next trip, they understand families with children and budgets and not out to get you I will gladly pay 127.00 a night again to them . and yes there was one day where it was kinda late when they came to our room for service but no big deal we just got towels and were good they said they were sorry to me and I noticed there was a lot of people cking out that day ... why people complain over the stupidest stuff Ill never know . I know there are a lot of crabby people out there to who like to just complain so get over it people .. Thank you to all the staff you did a great job we'll see you again next summer . :)

Room Tip: rooms at the pool are a little noisy if you have small children that sleep in the day we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina5666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCNICK, General Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Chateau Motel. I will pass along your kind words to my staff. I look forward to your stay with us next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This motel is old that is just a fact. The location and staff are great and it was steps from the sand. We had a cabana and it was directly on the beach. The view was amazing and for the most part the rooms and facilities were clean and neat. Now getting your luggage from the car to the bottom floor and back up again will about kill you. I thought I was gonna die a few times attempting to get my nice wheeled bags down three flights of stairs! Put in a ramp for crap sakes! Overall it's cheap and you can't beat the view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mljarred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCNICK, General Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Customer reviews are very important to us. I am glad that you enjoyed you accommodations and I will look into installing an alternative to the stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
708 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
110 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
545 reviews
Beachbreak By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
448 reviews
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#17 of 48 in Panama City Beach
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Motel

Property: Chateau Motel
Address: 12525 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3397
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Panama City Beachfront motel sits on a 500 foot stretch of sparkling, emerald green Gulf shoreline. Relax beside our lagoon-style, gulf side pool. Take a leisurely stroll at sunset. Grab lunch or a daiquiri at Treble Hooks, our pool-side Bar & Grill. Whatever you desire, the Chateau Motel is conveniently located close to the best Panama City Beach attractions and offers guests 150 ocean-view rooms with 5 floor plans to choose from. Located in the heart of the Miracle Strip, there is no better place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Motel Panama City Beach, Florida
Chateau Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing