We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“huge complex with spacious condo across from beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laketown Wharf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laketown Wharf Resort
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“huge complex with spacious condo across from beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom condo with a separate area for bunk bed and two bathrooms,full kitchen and washer dryer. Everything was nice about the condo; even nice view of the ocean and plenty of restaurants/stores within walking distance. However, we stayed 4 nights and there is no maid service. Not even to bring clean towels. The condo even had a "not very fresh and clean smell" when we arrived and while nothing was visibly dirty , it has to be difficult to really keep a place clean without daily service and relying on on the renter to clean. . The rates were exceptionally good, though, so I suppose they figure you can do your own cleaning to make up for it. The elevator situation is a problem . Several times we waited so long for an elevator that never came, that we took the stairs 14 flights of stairs to our condo! Panama City is a difficult city to fly into , so I doubt we'll be back. The beach is gorgeous ,though.

Room Tip: floors above level 5 ( I think ) only have views of ocean. The others look at a parking garage. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    148
    86
    51
    51
See reviews for
317
75
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The price was extremely reasonable for the size of the apartment. We had a one bedroom and the living room was enormous- lots of room for 2 yoga mats and still open space. Huge hallway, lots of room for our bikes. Lots of room to spread out our wetsuits and other equipment. It was clean and we found everything we needed. Being across the street from the beach wasn't an issue. We were on the 18th floor, so could see over the buildings in front of us. (only one tall one- others are only one or 2 story's) We paid about $100 a night. Having a code to open our door was nice- didn't have to worry about keys for during race and swimming. There was a bit of a back up at the end elevator, but we discovered no line at the middle set. If we get in to the race again, we will definitely stay here again. (they also send us a %10 off coupon for our next stay) Staff in the lobby were very helpful as well.

Room Tip: For better views, ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runrgrlOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here as part of a group participating in the annual Ironman competition. The weather was a little colder than a usual beach visit, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy the many outdoor amenities. The condo was large with a full kitchen, and the ocean view was absolutely incredible. It was an short walk to the beach and centrally located to many restaurants nearby. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Our squeaky door was fixed before we returned from breakfast, and the receptionist made reservations for dinner at a recommended restaurant. Plus there was a "dancing fountains" light and water show each night that was thoroughly enchanting. Overall, it was the perfect weekend get-away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWildBlueYonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This thing might be in it's place in Vegas....HUGE, concrete, massive parking garage as a dominant architectural feature. We arrived late and we screwed up our reservation, but it just blows my mind that a property this big does not have a 24 hour registration desk....we arrived, ready to pay $200/night, but the only staff were security guards that could not even give us a room. Really? Such a huge place with so many empty rooms and you don't want my money? Well the good news is we drove right across the street and got a new, two bedroom beautiful waterfront condo for less money...at the Shores of Panama....oh, by the way Laketown is not on the water...it's across the street looking out across all kinds of tacky shopping and parking lots...what kind of business analysis says building such a behemoth makes sense? Oh, right this is a condo property where people bought the rooms with the expectation that the management would rent them out...(but not if you show up late)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintpetermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a blast at this resort. The rooms were awesome, the staff friendly - this is a place we will plan to return to. Sam at the bar and Kyla made us feel very welcome. These 2 are great resources at the resort and I hope the management understands the talent and professional courtesy that these two offer to this property. We will not shop around for better deals - we will be back for Thunder Beach at this resort next year! We had a 3 bedroom, a 2 bedroom and a 1 bedroom condo for our group that was spacious, elegant and the most comfortable place that we have been when away from home. Thanks for making this trip special for all of us.
Raptors MC
Perryville Ky

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

First time stay at this resort and it was wonderful. Me and several of my friends went to PCB for the fall Bike Rally and we absolutely loved this resort. We rented a 3 bedrm 3 bath condo that actually sleeps 8 people and it was great. All the ammenities that you could ask for and more. Two covered parking garages with complimentary guest parking available, 5 swimming pools which included a kiddie pool, rooftop heated pool, large zero edge family pool, tiki bar at main pool, large island pool on the lake. Resort just steps away from the beach. Fitness center, childs playground, dancing style lake fountains, meditation garden. A 52,000 sq. ft lakefront boardwalk. All units are 100% non smoking but smoking is allowed on the balconies and around all pool areas. No pets allowed! Across the street from Wal-Mart for convenient shopping. And on the beach side you are across the street from Pineapple Willys. This resort is amazing. Once you go you will want to return. There is a Bike Rally in the Spring and I hope to be able to stay here again.

Room Tip: I can not imagine any of the rooms being uncomfortable in any way. You can select 1, 2 and 3 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed here in May of 2011 in a 3 bedroom 3 bath it is a great place to stay if you have little children as they have a great kiddie pool area. This is in part why we booked this condo because of the kiddie are however out of the 7 days we stayed it was closed for 1 day and a half. Wish they would tell you when you check in that this is going ti be the case but that is the only thing that was not so great. I loved all the pools and hot tub all the photos that you see on the web site are exactly what you see when you arrive. I would have like it to be ocean side but it;s the next best thing if you cant get ocean side.Our Grand Children has a blast and loved the light show . That was a plus they still talk about it all the time and how they want to come back to Panama City to see the light show at the condo. If we ever come to Panama City again this is likely where we would stay.It is so close to walmart and eating places and not far from pier park. The walk to the beach is not bad just across the street would recommend this condo to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.3 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#18 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.9 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#8 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bikini Beach Resort Motel
Bikini Beach Resort Motel
#22 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laketown Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laketown Wharf Resort

Property: Laketown Wharf Resort
Address: 9902 S Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-1201
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laketown Wharf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Laketown Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laketown Wharf Hotel Panama City Beach
Laketown Wharf Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing