We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Good luck getting on an elevator here...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laketown Wharf Resort
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Wow is this place huge, I'm surprised it doesn't have its own zip code. Stayed here for a family reunion. The rooms are fine, but that's about it. For such a large hotel/condo, they only have 3 sets of elevators. It look me on average about 30 minutes to go from the 14th floor to the ground floor. The elevators have no ventilation, so you're basically in a sauna. On checkout day, it took over an hour to get down. Very poor planning. The parking garage isn't even connected to to main hotel section, so if you park on the 3rd floor, you have to take the elevators down, then wait to get on another set of elevators. This place is just too big for its on good.

To recap, rooms are fine; but the elevators are enough to make me not want to stay here again.
Won't be back

Room Tip: Don't stay higher than the 3rd floor, that way you can take the steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very nice clean room, nice pools good location,but be ready to spend half your time waiting on elevators. Every time we used elevator was no less than a fifteen minute ordeal , also parking is very aggravating , So from the time you park til you get to your room will average 25 to 30 minutes. I definitely will not stay there again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Katfish2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful, spacious condo! Could not have been more pleased with the apartment style accommodation. We live in Panama City, and stayed here for our family reunion because all of our out-of-town family stayed here. But, the elevators! I can't even begin to say how horrible they were! They were slow, always packed, and not ventilated. We would often wait for several to stop, open, and not be able to get on because they were too full. Maybe other times of the year may not be as bad, but I would never stay here in the summer again simply because of the elevators.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Twila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My experience with Laketown Wharf was great! I am a local and each year my family likes to stay on "the beach" for Mother's Day weekend. Last year we stayed at one of Sterling Resort's other properties, Splash, so this year we thought we'd give LW a try. I'm so glad we did! Our room was spacious and luxurious! I was shocked at what nice amenities the room had. There are so many different pools to chose from plus a kiddie splash pad which my toddler loved. At night, there is a light show over the lake which was unexpected and really cool. The resort is located in a great spot, right next to all attractions and restaurants! I will say that when I read some reviews, I was kind of scared to stay about the elevators but we had no problem at all! No waits.

Room Tip: The property is MASSIVE so I would suggest requesting a room on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay here and unfortunately our last. The idea of the resort is great. Not a bad walk across the street, beside pineapple willies, to get to the beach. The condo was spacious and clean. But good luck once you leave the condo. Each time it took us 15-30 mins to be able to get on an elevator. We were on the 9th floor so taking the stairs up with all your beach chairs, coolers and umbrellas was not fun. But after waiting 30 minutes and still no elevator we had no choice. Parking in the south garage was always full, so we drove over to North garage. No easy access to the resort from either of the garages. Basically its a good place if you just want to go to the condo and never leave. It took us over an hour to just get in elevator pull the car up and get a luggage cart so we could check out.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shelleysewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Laketown wharf is a great resort on the panama city beach.
Pros:
1) Very close to the beach - 2/5 min walk from the north/south garage side.
1) Five pools and great entertainment options daily for kids, including movies by the pool.
2) Dancing fountain show every evening.
3) Big apartments.
4) Grocery stores, restaurants, amusement parks, etc all really close by.

Cons:
1) The elevators take a really long time to get to your floor. This might be due to the fact that the resort buildng is huge and is served by few elevators or due to bad programming - not sure.

Room Tip: Apartment 710 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukhada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This resort is in a great location with access to shops and eateries. This resort has quality amenities (Main Pool, Kid Pool, Family Pool Area, Putting Green, with all located in different areas) and room furnishings.

My personal rating criteria limits 5 stars/circles for resorts & hotels that are full service luxury offerings. 4 stars/circles are for resorts and hotels that are ON POINT in every aspect of service, furnishings, and cleanliness. I rated this an overall rating of 3 because of cleanliness concerns. This rating would have been a 4 if I didn't have to bring the cleanliness concerns to the attention of the front desk.

This location isn't directly on the beach, but, it is located across the street with public access. Pineapple Willy's is across the street along with a Walmart 1 minute around the corner. Since your apartment has a full size kitchen; you can prepare your own meals or venture to local eateries.

Elevator service is extremely slow. Slow meaning it can take 10 minutes for a car and sometimes the electronic panel would say no car available, which is unacceptable. This is something that they mention in the property television station. There are 2 elevators on the opposite ends of each wing and 3 in the main/middle corridor. We stayed on the 20th floor (21 floors total) and I wasn't in the position of going up/down multiple flights of stairs. Housekeeping and Maintenance uses the same elevators to service the rooms and doesn't have a service elevator.

Room Tip: I would select a higher floor apartment/room because of street traffic or pool noise. All rooms/apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Sandpower_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
869 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
120 reviews
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach Resort
#15 of 83 in Panama City Beach
336 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,604 reviews
Shores of Panama Resort
#57 of 83 in Panama City Beach
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laketown Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laketown Wharf Resort

Address: 9902 S Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-1201
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £96 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laketown Wharf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laketown Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laketown Wharf Hotel Panama City Beach
Laketown Wharf Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing