We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a reason this restaurant is so highly rated!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dee's Hang Out

Dee's Hang Out
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valley, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“There's a reason this restaurant is so highly rated!!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have been hearing about this place, but had never tried it. Believe the hype! This place is fantastic! The blackened fish tacos are unreal. We were here in PCB for 4 days, and we ate here twice. The shrimp Po-Boys are massive, and loaded with shrimp. The fried cheese grit balls and their collards are the 2 sides we tried, and were out of this world. I'll say this - you can pay WAY more for WAY less in PCB. This will be one our must-go places from now on. The place is tucked away in a strip mall type building, but the old pictures of PCB on the wall and the inside decor is very fitting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    271
    84
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrier Mills, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch here on our first day in PCB. We both had the 6 inch shrimp po boys. These sandwiches were PACKED FULL of shrimp!!! For the po boy and chips, the cost was $7.99 which I thought was a good price considering how much food you got. Would definitwly eat here again!

Helpful?
Thank Brachears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food/Wonderful find!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This place is why I use Trip Advisor. Would probably not have spotted this small restaurant in the small strip mall it's located in otherwise. We ate here 3 times on our five day vacation and would have eaten here even more if we would have had more time! Loved all the food we had, loved the atmosphere. Very busy place and I know why! Can't even list all the great food we had but I especially loved their Remoulade sauce (which I thought at first was their own tarter sauce with a "kick"), it is great on everything from fish and sandwiches to hush puppies and fries! Would love to have this recipe. Also save room at some point for their banana pudding, wow what flavor and 2 people can easily share. Make sure you get there by 6 or 6:30 at the latest in the evening or you will have a long wait! It's just that popular!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Visited here in October while on fall break vacation after checking out trip advisory reviews. Excellent place to eat. Seems to be a hotspot for locals which says a lot to me. The place is small and was completely full so I advise you to be there by 6 unless you want to wait. Food and service was great. Very friendly staff. We tried the smoked tuna dip cajun oysters catfish poboy and fried shrimp basket. All was excellent! Easy to find. Only minutes from where we stayed at The Summit. Make sure you check this place out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Visited Dee's Hangout for a late lunch. Had grilled tuna, grilled grouper, blackened grouper, fried pickles, cheese grits and sweet potato fries. Everything tasted great and the price was very reasonable. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melitta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dee's Hang Out also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dee's Hang Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing