We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped Tent Sites”
Review of Campers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Campers Inn
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I arrived on July 15 2012 for a 4 night stay in a tent site. A huge thunderstorm arrived just as I did, so I had to wait in the truck till it passed over so I could set up camp. During the storm the power went out. My site was flooded with 4-5 inches of water so I waited about an 1.5 hours to see if the water would soak in and if the power would come back on. During the wait, I checked out the shower/bathroom. 2 shower stalls with curtains. I didn't check the water flow. Spoke with management about moving to a different site that wasn't standing in water so I could set up my tent (several unoccupied sites were fairly dry) but they couldn't because the power was out and they could not tell if these sites were reserved.

I understand the campground can't be responsible for the weather, and I even expected some thunder showers, but perhaps they should grade the tent sites better so the rain would run off better. After almost 2 hours the standing water on my site was still about 3-4 inches deep.
I left since it was getting late not knowing whether I would get a refund or not since they state they are not responsible for weather related issues.

I came back home...a 5 hour drive...and called the next day. They issued me a full credit. THANKS!

My suggestions: Have a back up reservation printout for times like this when the electricity is out, and do some grading on the couple of tent sites that do not drain water properly.

Another comment: The tent sites are terribly cramped. I have a 10x9 tent and 1 vehicle and was concerned that I would not be able to park on the site after my tent was set up...but of course I never found out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our first time to visit this campground. We took our pop up this past week and we will NEVER go back to this campground. First upon arriving I could not believe the weeds and how tall they were at the campsites, they were shin high! You would think with it being a holiday week that you would take extra pride in your facility for your guest coming in. The bath house by the pool was horrible! The womens only had 1 shower of 2 that worked and it after turning it on within a couple of minutes it was standing in water, so it didn't matter if you had on flip flops or not to protect your feet because you were standing in the germy water. There is 2 toilets, one of them hardly flushed the whole weekend and pretty much stayed standing with defecation, pee, and toilet paper (when there WAS any in the bathroom) or paper towels. We had to go every afternoon and tell them the toilet wasn't working, one time being told at 10 p.m. that maintenance was gone for the day. Every campground we have gone to they have had someone on site that could come and fix the facility, especially on a holiday week! They other toilet in the womens bathroom quit once or twice. It was VERY hot in the bathroom, no air circulating at all. My husband said the mens bathroom stunk and was nasty as well. The noise level was unbelievable. From the slingshot ride next to it, and the bars across the street, but the worst was coming from inside the campground! There were people talking as loud at 3 a.m. as they would at 3 p.m. Drinking and people cussing and screaming. Cars playing radios and lights shining into the camper. There was no control in this campground and total chaos. I don't think there was anyone from the staff that stayed in the campgrounds because I couldn't believe the noise level. I never saw any staff members except to come around and change the garbage bags in the cans every morning. Staff was very unfriendly. They only good thing I can say about this place was that it was close to St. Andrews State Park. We had to go there our 2nd day to the beach because the beach access across from the campground was nasty and the people from the clubs were on the beach drinking and there were beer cans floating all in the ocean and laying all over the beach! If you are looking for a camground that is family oriented this is not it. Now I know why this was the only campground that had vacancies on a holiday week.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bebe1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

For our first trip to PCB over Memorial Day weekend 2012, we decided to tent camp at Camper's Inn. We had no problem reserving our site, and it was as described on the website, and it was the same site provided to us via e-mail after reservation. We had no problems checking in and setting up. Other positives were the camp store, where we ended up purchasing numerous things every day, as well as the quick walk to the beach and to Spinnaker's restaurant. We were also pretty close to St. Andrew's Park, which we enjoyed. There were various negatives. First, the women's showers were pretty dilapidated. One was leaking so bad it filled the entire basin with water. (On a positive, this was fixed within one day). Another spurted a small stream of water constantly, without any way to adjust the flow. The handicapped shower had pieces missing off of the shower dial, making it very difficult to change the water temperature. Black Mold was everywhere--the floor, walls, ceiling, shower curtains--everywhere! The showers smelled like cat pee. Some stalls ran out of toilet paper by the end of the day. There were few to no hooks to hang anything on in any of the shower stalls--most had been broken off. Toilet paper was not only peeling, but large strips had been removed, and some chunks of the walls were missing. Another negative for tent camping was the noise pollution at night. What with the screaming patrons of the Vomatron, the live music at Spinnaker's, and the nightclub goings on at La Vela, there was plenty of noise to keep one hopping until around 2 am each night. Not to mention that many park patrons apparently thought the 10pm quiet time meant that quiet time was over. We heard motors revving, couples fighting, and a mother yelling at her children, "be quiet! It's quiet hours!" in the wee hours of the morning. Most likely, most or all of the negatives would not be a concern to an RV camper, but tent campers will probably not be as pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My daughter and I took a short trip to Campers Inn just before school started. We choose the Kampers Kabins for an inexpensive quick trip to the beach. The Kabins were basic in deed. Three beds and an air conditioner. While this was enough for us, it should be noted - be ready for just a bed (bring sheets) and a roof. Bring everything else. We enjoyed our visit - pool was nice, a short walk over to the beach. Pool shower house needs work - but, I am sure they will take of that in time. Until then, use the shower house in the RV section - my daughter thought it was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

These are log cabins with electricity, a window unit air conditioner, a double bed, and a bunk bed. There is a small seat and a small shelf on the wall. Two windows. Nothing else. There are camp grills between the cabins. Bath houses are about 100 feet away and the camp store about the same distance, which closes at 10PM. These cabins are sold as a step up from tent camping. We liked it, not having to mess with a tent and all that entails. The electricity and air were really nice in July. There is a nice pool and communal eating area next to it. The campground is gated, so there is limited traffic inside. There is a $40 refundable deposit. An extra key is a $10 deposit, but is not offered until after all the financials are completed, so if you want it, you have to do another transaction. The camp store is also lacking in some very essential basics, like shampoo, but there is a Walmart nearby.

The bath houses are in pretty bad shape. The men's had only one shower, the other was broken and closed off. The shower door is not lockable, you can just pull it closed. The broken shower had no door. In the women's bathhouse, the shower stalls were built different. One had no door, the other had a partial door that was just hanging there. There were no benches, just a shelf. Both bathrooms toilet stalls had doors that were latch-able, but very difficult to do so. No air conditioning in the bathhouses. It would be nice if there was a place to wash kitchen utensils somewhere near the cabins, but the best there is is a water hose on a slope in the grass behind the cabins, near the pool. A table and sink of the sort found at the fishing pier would be a very thoughtful addition.

Our cabin and the one next to it had obscenities carved into the logs and some of them were as old as 4 years. I wrote to the manager and owner and complained about this. The owner replied and stated it was being taken care of, but he insisted that it had only been there since spring break, three months ago. Some of the dates were three years old. He said he would like the opportunity to make it up to us.

One thing I forgot to mention to the owner was that the entire three days we were there, there were two teen girls driving a golf cart at full speed in circles through the campground with loud rap music blaring from a radio. It was very annoying. We have no idea what purpose this served, other than to keep them occupied through the summer. We never saw them stop and do anything.

These cabins are in front, right on the main drag, so it can get loud at night, since this is a party town. Lots of car and foot traffic. But we really didn't notice while sleeping. Across the highway is a large dance club set way back and to the right of it is a beach access path. There is broken glass in the sand, so be careful. During the day this place is closed, so you can park there to go to the beach instead of walking a few hundred yards from the campground..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diogo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
125 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,617 reviews
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
Beachcomber By The Sea
#7 of 48 in Panama City Beach
656 reviews
Palmetto Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campers Inn

Address: 8800 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4038
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Number of rooms: 114
Also Known As:
Campers Inn Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing