We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort
Grandville, Michigan
2 reviews
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I purchased a one night stay through Groupon. I called two times to make sure they had our reservation and we were paid in full. Upon arriving with very little money we were told that we owed $140.00 no if's and's or but's!!!! How outrageous was this charge. We were told it's a standard charge and everyone pays for it. Part of the charge was for damage??? Are you kidding we did not even check in and we are not 20 years old. They would not let us see the manager either. To make things worst the room was a complete dive!!!! I emailed them direct when we got home and never got a response. Guess we never expected to hear back from them as they sure did not care while we were there. We recommend to stay away unless you like giving away your money

Steve & Barb
Michigan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortCollection, Manager at Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We appreciate you writing this feedback, so that we can assure you that the fees you mention are very clearly defined on the Groupon website. I apologize that you did not see it, but the information was provided. We do hope you will visit us again, so that you can experience a great beach vacation, like so many others who stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    98
    65
    59
    60
See reviews for
245
73
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Day one-unit flooded from a/c leak and they had fans on carpets. Also very hot In the room. Day two-it happened again but a little cooler. Maintenance threw the work towels in our tub and left them. Also, the master bathroom commode ran over. Day three-asked for another room and the only option was to downgrade us for same price. Still waiting to get commode fixed. Very disappointed In a place I had always heard was the best in PCB. Especially disappointed that my bad experience didn't matter to management. And for the record, I have never filed a complaint before :-(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRO1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortCollection, Manager at Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay with us. Sometimes, things do occur that is out of our control, but there is no reason that you should have received poor service. I do apologize and I assure you that I have followed up with our maintenance team. We do hope that you understand and will enjoy the rest of your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We attended a dance competition in the area and chose Edgewater as the place to stay. After a very long drive, we arrived at three in the morning; check-in was at 4pm so we had a long wait. The night clerk said they were running an inventory job and couldn't even get into the computer to see of our villa was ready until 6am earliest so...we waited. At about 6:30, we were told we would have a long wait as the unit we were assigned was pending checkout and clean up. We were exhausted and disappointed they could not find us anywhere to rest until the unit was ready, but not much we could complain about as we were early. We hit the beach for about five hours. When I checked back at noon, the day shift team moved our assigned villa to one that was ready and we finally got some sleep.

We had one of the golf villas, near the walkway to the beach. These villas are VERY roomy and really quite nice. Full sized kitchen with all the amenities, washer dryer, two bathrooms with showers, bedrooms on opposite sides of the villa, and a pull out sleeper sofa. Each bedroom has a balcony overseeing one of the lily covered ponds which have turtles, fish, and some very active frogs who hold late night parties. :-)

One of the balcony doors had a broken lock, so I called maintenance as we were heading out one morning; we came back several hours later and there was a card telling us they'd fixed it. This was impressive, but the villa and grounds show some signs of wear and need a little upkeep considering the prices they charge to stay here. It's not rundown or anything like that, I just expect better at this price.

The resort is located on Front Beach; there are beach side villas and golf side villas. Getting to the beach is easy; you can walk over a bridge/ramp or call a tram (tips are typically a dollar each way). Most everyone we've talked to has been friendly and of good spirits, even the guys on the beach who charge an outrageous fee to rent their chairs (seriously, $32 for a beach chair to rent it just one day?!).

There are plenty of places around here to eat. We hit restaurants the first couple of days then went to the store to stock up on food (villa with a kitchen, remember?). Prices were about what you'd expect; we shopped at Target and Walmart which are just down the road a bit, maybe five minutes away down Hutchison.

We have a family of five, so a large space like this one is fantastic. We prefer to do suites over rooms and this is the granddaddy of all suites. One thing worthy of note: if you are driving down from up north and come in via I65, make sure your have your stopover preserved before you leave; there were no rooms available between Birmingham, AL and Front Beach at all, so our drive became a forced non-stop.

Like I said - great place to stay, lots of room, friendly people. Only real negatives are the cost and a bit of wear.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortCollection, Manager at Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for providing this nice and informative review. I realize that you arrived early and I am pleased we were able to get you in around noon so that you could begin enjoying your family vacation. We hope to see you back for more dance competitions and future family vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were in Panama City for a baseball tournament (came in second) and the two bedroom villa was perfect for 4 adults and two children. Large, comfortable, well decorated. We were not on the beach but a pool was right at our back door. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortCollection, Manager at Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We appreciate you proving this feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your two bedroom villa. The villas are a great option that gives you a peaceful setting, while still gives you access to all the resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have been coming to Panama City Beach for almost five years now and really enjoy the break with family and friends. For the past four years we have reserved 5-6 condo's at the Edgewater and typically everyone enjoys their time here. My particular condo was booked from an outside agent and service requests were responded to quickly. However my other family members that booked directly through the Edgewater did not have the same service. From a half cleaned 12th floor condo to calls reporting numerous insects in the condo the Edgewater service did not live up to expectations. We even recommended they disinfect the condo and inspect for insects. Needless to say the Edgewater customer service agent did not agree.

In all honesty, I enjoy the Edgewater but because of this experience with leasing from Edgewater directly by condos they control, our family is looking at alternative locations for 2015.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortCollection, Manager at Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we thank you for being a repeat visitor. I am very sorry for the issues your friends experienced and I assure you these are not the norm. I will be sure to address your concerns with the approriate departments heads. I do encourage you to try us again so that we can deliver quality accommodations and service that we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Hickory, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Returning to PCB a year later for our 2nd honeymoon, landed us at Edgewater, a well-maintained condo/hotel combination, the hotel with top notch service from its courteous personnel, a safe and well-monitored pool adjacent to the loveliest pure white sand North of Sanibel. This June 8 - or late October/early Nov. - are the times to visit, still plenty of people, but not jammed, reasonable parking spaces, great food, shopping for every taste, weather with occasional evening mellow storms (mostly at sea and spectacular to photo in the evening). One can walk the beach for miles in near-solitude, or share the ocean with others privileged to visit, sweet breezes masking the temperature/humidity that would elsewhere be something to escape (to PCB, of course).
Now, I experienced the hotel as a 'visitor' - and in talking to others - as I was fortunate to have a friend who owned a condo across the road, a courtesy cart ride across an overhead bridge. It was in pristine condition, which I gratefully left at least as good - or better - than I found it. Certainly, some who are guests of the condo owners will have different results, but our 'pool tag' access to the hotel property/beach gave us and our grandchildren's first visit much pleasure.
So, I recommend this property as a whole for reasonable cost vs the quality of the 'product', and hope to return by at least my 3rd honeymoon! ☺☺

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortCollection, Manager at Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your second Honeymoon with us at Edgewater Beach & Golf Resort. We are so glad to hear about how much you enjoyed your time and all the amenities and services we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here since we got a great deal off of Groupon. Our room in tower two was gulf front and newly renovated. The guest room that I stayed in did not have a closet and just had a bunch of glass shelving. It was a nice look but not practical. All of the fixtures had been updated but our couch was in need of replacement. Overall we had a nice stay. It was good for the deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandad792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortCollection, Manager at Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for this nice review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your Bachelorette weekend and the newly updated unit. We hope to have you return again soon to enjoy all that Edgewater has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#17 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Beach Towers
Majestic Beach Towers
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.9 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#7 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 11212 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3668
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service resort in Panama City Beach, we offer a variety of activities and amenities. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen and washer and dryer for your convenience, and golf course or beach views for your enjoyment. Our resort offers eleven pools, four Jacuzzis, a shuffleboard court, six tennis courts, thirty-six holes of golf and endless Florida sunsets. Enjoy parasailing, jet skiing, tennis, golf, weight lifting, beach yoga or a soothing body wrap. The Club at Edgewater's Activities Director and team will be sure you and your family have the best vacation ever...until your next visit, that is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgewater Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Edgewater Beach Panama City
Edgewater Resort Panama City Beach
Edgewater Panama City Beach
Edgewater Beach Resort Panama City Fl
Edgewater Beach And Golf Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing