We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, full of character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming, full of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

On an impulse beach weekend, we picked up one of those rest-stop hotel coupon books, and saw $44 at Flamingo. My husband, the neat freak, just knew it must be a dump. The nice front desk lady gave him keys to the 3 types of rooms that were available and told him to choose. The newer, nicer tower rooms were full. The older rooms were, well...older. They were all clean and beachside, just dated. If you're looking for upscale, go to the high-rise condos and share the pool and a few yards of beach with maybe a couple thousand people. This place was sweet. We shared a balcony with a snowbird couple that played Yahtzee. Everyone was so friendly. There was a Pot-luck dinner on the deck by the pool. With our street-side window open in the morning, we could hear the seals at GulfWorld across the street at their feeding time. The cabana rooms are right on the sand. We had Wi-fi. It's really close to Pier Park. It was a lovely trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    161
    48
    35
    38
See reviews for
215
125
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MARIETTA, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

My wife & I just returned from a week's stay at the Flamingo & it was WONDERFUL, even though we had to deal with hurricane Ike, no really bad weather, just rough surf.
The double red flags were out about half our stay, so NO swimming in the gulf.
We stayed in one of tower units which feature a sleeping area with two queen size beds, a kitchen & a living area.
We stayed on the seventh floor & the view was AWESOME.
The daily rate for the unit was $79 a night, VERY reasonable when compared to some other places.
This was the forth time that we have stayed at the Flamingo over the past several years, either for a week or just for a long weeknd.
We were pleasantly supprised to find that there were a couple of up-grades since our last stay....new mattresses on the beds, VERY comfortable, It looked like they just painted the place too & an additional air conditioner in the sleeping area, so much for some previous reviews stating that the rooms were too hot, in fact, it got almost too cool at night, they work very well.
The room & the property were VERY clean.
Our thanks to the house keeping staff, our room was spotless everyday.
There are not very many decent motels left on the beach due to the recent condo boom, but the Flamingo NEVER fails to deliver.
If you're looking a decent place to spend a few days or a week, you really need to consider this place if you're going to Panama City.
One more thing...the Flamingo is conviently located within walking distance the new Pier Park, which is a great new development & Gulf World is practicly across the road from the place
What more can I say...I wish that I was back there now.

  • Liked — Clean, Clean, Clean, the beach, the sun, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Hurricane Ike
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SCOOTERTOM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanblue72
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

My husband and I had visited the Flamingo in early August, we had a wonderful visit. The room was very clean, the housekeeper and the maintenance man were very nice. There was even a large beach rat that jumped in the hot tub with us, and we still decided to go back. We returned for the last week in August. The room was was very run down, clean, but not as clean as the previous room. The hotel was booked though with drunks and very loud people. They were funneling beer at the pool, doing alot of dirty dancing in front of kids and all. Filling up there coolers and just tossing the empty beer box on the deck. Very loud and cursing all the time. We were not the only couple to witness this, ALOT of people were complaining. We will never stay here again. One woman that was so drunk, she was trying to pick a fight with another guest, only because he was wearing a team cap she did not like, he finally had to walk away. The police were called friday night because of a domestic fight at the property. This place may be family owned and operated but they need to screen who they let stay here, it could be a wonderful FAMILY place. Being from WV, I had never been to PCB during spring break, but feel I came pretty close with my stay in August.

  • Liked — Right on the beach.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanblue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

My experience at the Flamingo was GREAT! Compared to all of the other beachfront properties in Panama City, the Flamingo cannot be beat! I must say that the rooms may not be the fanciest, but they are clean and have all anyone would need and if you are on a budget, this place is a must!

  • Liked — the price!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabond0059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

I had heard good things about the Flamingo but when we got there this was NOT the case. I hav\e stayed in my share of cheaper hotels, but this was just rediculous. This was THE dirtiest hotel i've ever stayed in. And i'm not spoiled! The room was dirty;the toilet seat was so dirty, the carpet was nasty feeling, the couch made me feel like i was in a college guy's appartment. i had to lay a blanket over it just to sit down. The fitted sheet on our bed was gritty feeling (i got the top sheet off of the other bed and layed on top of it) Overall it just made me feel gross being in that room. I was so disappointed. The staff was friendly at all. Barely helpful. The cleaning staff half-way made our beds each day and that was it. I will NEVER stay here again. i know it was a good deal...$89/night, but if cleanliness is important to you do not stay here!!

  • Liked — It was on the beach, but that's the only good thing.
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms and rude staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank akledbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

This is really a great place to stay. we have 3 children and finding a motel is really difficult. This place is awesome, the room we stayed in had a full kitchen, and the room was very clean. Actually the photos you see of the motel on their website are not as good as in person. We will be back here everytime we are in PCB. If you want a expensive motel for a inexpensive price, stay here, its GREAT and I 'm pretty sure you'll be glad you did.

  • Liked — The extra clean rooms, and full kitchen
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amberlou08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

After arriving from Indiana the Ambassador did not have our rooms we had reserved in March, we went next door the the Flamingo and they were able to save an awful start to our vacation. The Flamingo staff was so nice to give us 2 large rooms they were very very clean, and had a great view of the pool and the beach. Having never been to Panama City Beach the Flamingo Hotel made our stay great. We had two families going with kids to entertain. The pool was very clean and the grilling area was alway neat and we always had a grill to cookout on. The front staff was very helpful and very very nice as well as the maids they were always there for anything you needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great getaway. Thank you Flamingo staff for making our vacation a great one after a bad start.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 15525 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Family Owned and Operated beachfront motel for over 35 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Panama City Beach
Flamingo Motel Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing