We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

this is a very basic hotel. It has a good location: right on the beach, but away from frontbeach road. There is a plenty of parking space right by the hotel. It is certainly good value for the money.
What is not so good: stiff beds; reception closes at 9pm...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank xxapmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    93
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
112
63
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gadsden al
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Some friends of mine have been staying here for years so I wanted to check it out. We loved the whole place. Our room was as nice as any mid-range accommodation I have stayed in anywhere except for a few things. Like the bathroom, it was much cleaner and larger than most! The room itself was a Jr. Suite with a balcony overlooking the Gulf too. You couldn't hear everything going on in the adjacent rooms like most places. There was also a dehumidifier in the room. Never had one of those, ever. There was a full kitchen and fridge, two flat screen TV's and the service here is second to none. They are so nice! They don't bug you like at some other places I've been to. Yes it is older, but I have no problem with that because it is not rundown. The room was was pretty. The colors were nice and the furniture was too. They also still have KEYS to the rooms, wow. No, its not "fancy" but it is perfect for us. I like the beach, I don't need a "fancy" room, a fitness center or a restaurant. There is a beach outside if you want to get fit, go run on it and there are restaurants EVERYWHERE in PCB if you haven't noticed. There are grills to use, the patio areas are pretty and the pool is CLEAN. The whole area where the Inn is more of a neighborhood. No loud traffic, music, etc. Everyone staying here was friendly also. We all spoke to each other when we met in the common areas. It was amazing that people still do that. Another great thing here is parking. Because the place isn't HUGE, you can park and be in your room in 2-3 minutes. You can get from the room to the beach in 2 minutes also. Try that in one of those high rises down the road. I can't find anything bad to say about the SUNSET INN. Thank you guys for a wonderful trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cooperlou902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed two nights at the last minute while passing through the panhandle of Florida. We made our reservation late in the day of our arrival and the front office made that experience very pleasant. Anna provided a detailed description of the rooms and happily accommodated our late arrival. Check in was a breeze and the rooms (second floor) in recently remodeled section were up-to-date, clean and we had a small kitchenette. We spent the following day on the beach. The majority of visitors were families with small children who were have a blast in the sand and water. Brought back many memories of time in Panama City as kids. If your looking for a great value with a friendly 'kid accepting' staff this is the place for you. We will be back with the grand kids for sure.

Room Tip: Several room types and locations (waterfront, across road, etc) are available. Inquire when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xplorer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We love the Sunset Inn. This is the only place we stay in PCB. My whole extended family enjoys the Sunset. We like Jim at the front desk & he is always friendly & accommodating. It is a nice, family friendly, family owned place. It is an older motel & does not have the finest amenities, but the beautiful deck on the beach makes up for it. It is only 2 stories, so getting your luggage in & out is easy. You don't have to walk very far to get to your car. There are 2 pools & lots of lounge chairs. We enjoying grilling out on the deck by the ocean. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have ocean views Some rooms open up to the pool (watch the kids in the pool while you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our labor day weekend almost got messed up by Royal Ameeican charging us $200 extra at time of chek in!!! But driving around we found SUNSET INN, and they were super nice and friendly and no extra charges!!
Place has great location, at the beach, rooms are nice clean and big with kitchen microwave coffee pot toaster dishes and refrigerator!!!! Thanks to them our weekend turn out to be awesome!!! Family and couples have a great option in this place!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocio052612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sunset in an economy suite that had a queen & sofa bed in the living space with a separate bedroom and full kitchen. Anthony's beach service was very helpful. If you have mold allergies might want to look at the room first.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cracker365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Get away from the high rise hotels and try this affordable gem on the beach. There are kitchenettes in every room making this even more of a value. The staff is very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#32 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 8109 Surf Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4758
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn invites you and your family to vacation with us in paradise. Nestled among the sandy white dunes on the Emerald-Gulf waters and far from the crowds, you'll enjoy our spectacular sunsets, romantic beach walks, refreshing swims, and a variety of family activities. The Sunset Inn is just minutes away from the finest restaurants, golf courses, night clubs, specialty shops, amusement parks, and world renowned sport fishing. So enjoy our family atmosphere and have a pleasant stay at The Sunset Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Panama City Beach
Sunset Panama City Beach
Sunset Inn Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing