We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Hotel”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a typical beach hotel pool side or beach side rooms both sides of the street. So you can walk out to the beach from your room walk out to the pool , turn and walk to the beach or walk across the street and on to the beach.
The room was clean and well stocked with towels. The beds were ok. The kitchenette was stocked with utensils and a coffee machine that was challenging. ( I won )

This hotel is a few years old so if you are looking for resort style plush, keep going. The rooms are nice well maintained and perfect for a stay on the beach. If you plan on spending your time in the room watching TV dont come here . If you want to wake up , open the door and stand on sand this is the place for you. Parking is tight but what would you expect 50 yards from the water. The hotels are packed in as tight as possible.

The pool is clear and sparkling the people at the desk were really nice and gave us some food recommendations that turned out well.

There are some places to eat and drink with about 3/4 mile walk.

We will come here again.

Room Tip: A beach side room is worth the few dollars more if you want to have morning coffee on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lKehrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great small place. Suite facing gulf was clean and the view was fabulous. Worth very penny. The staff was friendly and it sure beats the high rise condos that line the rest of the beach. It's off the main road and the places that are next to the inn are not the high rises. The kitchenette was nice and very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lulu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The price is great. The location is on the beach. We had a two room, two bathroom suite. (Slept 8, one room double bed, second room 2 double beds and living had a sleeper sofa). They have a pool and a kiddie pool. Parking is horrible. Carpet needs to be stripped and get new. Their air conditioner are in the windows in front and back rooms. If you close the doors in the middle to where the two double beds were you smother. Bathrooms were clean. One of the toilet seats was broke. We asked for new room or new seat. Was told they were booked and the seat Was not in the budget. So if you didn't set just right you would pinch your booty getting up. We checked for bed bugs. Thank God that was fine. The kitchen had a stove, sink and refrigerator. I would recommend a cooler and disposable grill. They were nasty. Like they weren't cleaned in years. The kitchen table got soaked every time the room above us took a shower. Enough about the suite. To get to the pool you go threw the back door, under the porch (wooden with cracks) and threw a gate. Sounds easy enough. But at night there are two lights. So you can't hardly see. Every time the people above walks the dirt/sand falls onto you. The pool was nice. However the kiddie pool has no rails or steps to get in and out. You can't see because the only light you have is outside the gate around the corner underneath the porch. It's deeper than what you think and you fall in. Then scrape your knees to get out. The front office was hot. They needed to open the door/Windows to let a breeze in. Poor woman at the desk only had a fan smaller than my hand. ....... in the long run you get what you paid for. But something cheap you get something cheap. If we weren't so desperate and tired it wouldn't of worked. Everywhere was booked for the amount of people we had. The pictures are not updated. Must of been when they opened. Hope this helps! God Bless!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nellnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here , for spring break 2013. I must say . I enjoyed my stay here. First and foremost. It was less than a mile from club LAvela , and the main part of the beach where its exciting during SB. So instead of driving , me and my friends walked. took like 6 mins to walk which wasn't bad! I stayed at the rooms across the street that they have available. The rooms look fairly updated the KING sized bed was pretty comfortable and HUGE. it came with a minifridge , and a bar with a sink , which i loved!! The bathroom was nice, nothing fancy, but still nice and clean! the only issue i'd say , are the carpets could be a little more updated , but besides that , the rooms are awesome! The staff was friendly , Chris , the manager was nice , and every morning they came around and asked for trash and if we needed towels. oh and i forgot to mention that these rooms are on the beach! for the price , location , and everything else , this price cannot be BEAT. I'll prefer this over the condos which are pricey $$$. We paid 501$ for 5 nights during spring break! the average price for a condo is around 2-300 dollars! overall , i enjoyed my stay. average rooms , for the average person who don't need all of the fancy things! will stay AGAIN, AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Room Tip: This is a great value for spring breakers / college students!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

this is a very basic hotel. It has a good location: right on the beach, but away from frontbeach road. There is a plenty of parking space right by the hotel. It is certainly good value for the money.
What is not so good: stiff beds; reception closes at 9pm...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank xxapmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Some friends of mine have been staying here for years so I wanted to check it out. We loved the whole place. Our room was as nice as any mid-range accommodation I have stayed in anywhere except for a few things. Like the bathroom, it was much cleaner and larger than most! The room itself was a Jr. Suite with a balcony overlooking the Gulf too. You couldn't hear everything going on in the adjacent rooms like most places. There was also a dehumidifier in the room. Never had one of those, ever. There was a full kitchen and fridge, two flat screen TV's and the service here is second to none. They are so nice! They don't bug you like at some other places I've been to. Yes it is older, but I have no problem with that because it is not rundown. The room was was pretty. The colors were nice and the furniture was too. They also still have KEYS to the rooms, wow. No, its not "fancy" but it is perfect for us. I like the beach, I don't need a "fancy" room, a fitness center or a restaurant. There is a beach outside if you want to get fit, go run on it and there are restaurants EVERYWHERE in PCB if you haven't noticed. There are grills to use, the patio areas are pretty and the pool is CLEAN. The whole area where the Inn is more of a neighborhood. No loud traffic, music, etc. Everyone staying here was friendly also. We all spoke to each other when we met in the common areas. It was amazing that people still do that. Another great thing here is parking. Because the place isn't HUGE, you can park and be in your room in 2-3 minutes. You can get from the room to the beach in 2 minutes also. Try that in one of those high rises down the road. I can't find anything bad to say about the SUNSET INN. Thank you guys for a wonderful trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cooperlou902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed two nights at the last minute while passing through the panhandle of Florida. We made our reservation late in the day of our arrival and the front office made that experience very pleasant. Anna provided a detailed description of the rooms and happily accommodated our late arrival. Check in was a breeze and the rooms (second floor) in recently remodeled section were up-to-date, clean and we had a small kitchenette. We spent the following day on the beach. The majority of visitors were families with small children who were have a blast in the sand and water. Brought back many memories of time in Panama City as kids. If your looking for a great value with a friendly 'kid accepting' staff this is the place for you. We will be back with the grand kids for sure.

Room Tip: Several room types and locations (waterfront, across road, etc) are available. Inquire when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xplorer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
120 reviews
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#17 of 48 in Panama City Beach
288 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 48 in Panama City Beach
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#24 of 48 in Panama City Beach
300 reviews
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
391 reviews
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 8109 Surf Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4758
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £49 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn invites you and your family to vacation with us in paradise. Nestled among the sandy white dunes on the Emerald-Gulf waters and far from the crowds, you'll enjoy our spectacular sunsets, romantic beach walks, refreshing swims, and a variety of family activities. The Sunset Inn is just minutes away from the finest restaurants, golf courses, night clubs, specialty shops, amusement parks, and world renowned sport fishing. So enjoy our family atmosphere and have a pleasant stay at The Sunset Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Panama City Beach
Sunset Panama City Beach
Sunset Inn Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing