We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, except”
Review of Beachside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachside Resort
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

This is a motel, not a "Resort", as the name would imply.
We booked a room because it is away from the crowded section of Panama City Beach.
Amenities are few here, basically a pool and hot tub. No fitness centre, no bar, no restaurant. If you are looking for a resort, look elsewhere. If you just need a room, this place is ok.
We also, like another reviewer, had a two bedroom with only tv in one room. Our room was also moist and bed moist. Did i mention "moist"? Rooms were recently remodeled and I notice poor workmanship in this. There was molding that was cut awkwardly and not much in the way of decoration.
Hotel grounds looked old style, and there was painting happening in the areas of people's rooms. A little noisy and messy.
The beach is white and beautiful. Water is beautiful too.
Staff was very nice at desk. Front desk person, Jody, was very friendly and helpful! She knows about the area, and when we asked, she had great recommendation on where to eat and things of fun for kids.
Other staff (housekeeping) was very nice also.
As in past review, we too saw manager being discipline of front desk one day. I do not know how you can work on a beautiful beach, and seem so angry. The workers were always friendly and helpful. Not sure why they put up with this from manager.
I really think for the price, this motel needs more amenities. You must drive a few miles just to find food. We do not drink alcohol, so bar was not issue for us.
I suggest look around and compare before booking.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amadr1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

I wanted to thank you for you feedback on your recent stay at the Beachside Resort. I am sorry that we didn't exceed your expectations. As to the angry manager, if that was something that I did, I am very sorry. it is never my intention to demean or "discipline" an employee at the front desk. Share guidance or direct yes, but in no way would I want my actions or that of any of my staff to be anything but hospitable and professional. Again, I offer my sincere apology.

As to the remodel and the painting, I am sorry for that as well. We attempted to get through this final bit of work without bothering our guests, but it seems that did not occur. I assure that the work is over and all we're focusing on is the warm salt air, our beautiful beach, and our (most importantly) our guests.

Finally, thank you again for sharing your feedback -- I do hope you will allow us another chance to "wow" you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed here about a year and a half ago, and heard there was going to be a huge renovation project completed by this summer. I booked a room, in anticipation of seeing this wonderful renovation. What I found was a half hearted attempt at making it a habitable building on a beach.

First the room...because that is where you sleep.Our room was moist :( It felt like we slept in sheets that were not dried, but it was the humidity in the room that caused the moistness. Maybe dehumidifiers would help? We had a two queen room, and the mattress was comfortable, but again, the sheets felt gross. There was a new flat screen tv, but only one, and its a two bedroom! The bathroom was the best part...there was mismatched tile by the sink! A new remodel, with mismatched tile, and old toothbrush and soap dish from 1985!

We arrived at night, and looked forward to hanging by the pool, and maybe a visit to the new pool bar. "Sorry, the bar is still not complete." was the reply from the front desk. Really? It's the busy season in PCB, and the bar is still to be completed? That's crazy! I'm sure a pool bar would bring not only guests, but locals too, because there is not much around the west end beaches. Maybe if the bar brought in money, they would have money to buy matching tile?
So, anyway, we went to the lobby and asked Evan, the front desk clerk, where we could go to get some refreshments for poolside. He guided us to an awesome little store down the road called the "Carousel". The store is great, with a huge selection of whatever you need! We headed back to the pool and planned a nice day in the sun. About a half hour into it, I hear a voice yelling from somewhere above! God? No, it was the general manager, yelling down from a floor above. He was telling me that I was too close to the pool with my drink. He could have come down, and explained the rules, but instead embarrassed me (and himself) by rudely yelling from another floor. It turns out that there is a "four foot rule" with regard to food and drink near the pool. Well, that put a damper on the day, and we went to the beach instead.

The beach is great! Clean and white, with beautiful water. You can actually carry your drink right into the water, and nobody will yell at you!

The rest of the property:
Well, there was an attempt to remodel. The exterior of the building is all white now, with gray floors on the exterior walkways (all rooms are 70's motel style outside entrances). Honestly it's a pretty depressing paint scheme. There was standing water on the walkway by our room, and it was quite slippery. The walk to the pool is through a section that is old tile, that was painted over, instead of being replaced (painted the same white as the rest of the building).
The front lobby is drab, green with tan floor, and NO wall art or music. It has the feel of one of those old gas stations you used to walk into to pay. Only thing missing is the bell sound when a car pulls up. There is no signage that points to this being the lobby.
The parking lot is another example of a half attempt. Instead of repaving this very old lot, it looks like they filled the cracks and sprayed a coating on it. My shoes were black on the bottom after walking on this lot, and had to be washed off. The new sign, with the new name, was hard to see from the road as we first approached. The trees blocked it.
All in all, we had a good vacation. The friendly front desk personnel, and the wonderful beach, made up for the poor facility and being vocally admonished by the pool.

There is no fitness center, but the beach is a great place to walk or run.

Check out was fast and easy, but was uncomfortable, as the same guy that yelled by the pool came out to "discipline" a front desk clerk for something they did on the computer. In front of guests? Unprofessional!

It is sad that the remodel was done poorly. Maybe it was a cost issue, but that cost would wind up bringing in more business....and in turn, profits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

I wanted to thank you for your in depth feedback of your stay. First, let me apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. Surpassing guests expectations is some we strive to do, and it's obvious that we didn't hit that mark. Some of the remodel issues were/are still in progress, like the missing wall art and the unopened bar. Sometimes things take longer than planned and that seems to be especially true for remodels. As to the 4 foot rule for food and drink by the pools-- yes that is a health dept. rule. I am sorry that was communicated in the manner that it was. I will also follow up with housekeeping on the issues you had with a humid room. Keeping the rooms dry (or as dry as we can by the beach) was one of the top aims of the remodel.

Once more, I am very sorry that we failed to surpass your expectations. I do hope that you might give us one more chance and allow us to win you back. Hopefully, we will see you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Newly renovated! Everything was fresh and new. Very nice extra large room. We had 2 nice queen beds and plenty of room for our inflatable bed we took along with us. The room had everything we needed. A full size refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with sink, coffee maker, new air conditioner and free WIFI. I'm using the hotel WIFI now to left this review and we had no connectivity issues. The pool is very nice and there is a grassy courtyard with palm trees near the pool area. I love the hotels location. We are down the strip away from the party animals and traffic. Low automobile traffic in this area. The beach is not crowed either. This is a great hotel for mature adults and families. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I've vacationed in Panama City Beach for over 30 years and I consider this the best hotel for the price. We drove up and down the strip shopping for a room and the prices were much higher at the other hotels down the strip. We lucked up when we walked in here. Unless you are willing to pay big bucks to stay in the other newer hotels, this is the place to stay. I'm marking this place for all of our future visits to Panama. (this is June 9, 2013).

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view. Ice is on 3rd floor near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southerngent31014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

I am so glad you had such a great time at The Beachside Resort!! We have been working on the new Beachside for almost a year, it's been great having guests in and letting them see all the changes and upgrades. Again, thanks for sharing the feedback and making us your go to in PCB -- we look forward to seeing you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Cayman Motel (aka Beachside Resort) in May of 2013...except for the lack of WiFi in our room. When we called the motel prior to our visit we were told that every room had great WiFi connectivity. This was not true. Our laptop could not even see either of the two WiFi access points in the hotel. Both access points are located in/near the office/pool area. As a result, there was no coverage beyond 75 feet from the office/pool area. I tried to use my phone's personal hotspot feature but AT&T's cell data coverage is almost nonexistent on the west end of Panama City Beach. All in all. we still enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the office/pool area have access to WiFi. The other rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spammers_Are_Idiots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

I am so sorry to read that you had problems with our Wi-Fi. I understand how frustrating that can be. We have recently upgraded the system and there are actually hotspots scattered throughout the hotel. I was wondering if you could contact me at jlee@innisfree.com and let me know which room or area seemed to be the issue. That will assist with us narrowing down the problem area and assuring that another guest doesn't have a similar experience. Again, I am so sorry about this, but I do hope that you will come back and be our guest again. We'll see you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelontheBeach, General Manager at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: piano alto e vista mare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUCIA-9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelontheBeach, General Manager at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Siempre del 2do piso para arriba por las vistas de los balcones privados. NUNCA habitaciones del 1er...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pera1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelontheBeach, General Manager at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
869 reviews
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
72 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
119 reviews
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
476 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort

Address: 21905 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-1205 (Formerly Grand Cayman Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £48 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort is a full-service beachfront hotel on the quiet end of Panama City Beach, Fla., boasting 147 recently renovated rooms, a seasonally heated beachfront swimming pool and hot tub, free Wi-Fi, guest laundry, beach service and a popular poolside bar, The Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Hotel Panama City Beach
Hotel Grand Cayman
Sea Witch Motel
Beachside Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing