We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok, not memorable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meadows Course at Marriott Bay Point

The Meadows Course at Marriott Bay Point
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Meadows Course at Bay Point is a classic old Florida layout, the kind of golf course members and public guests enjoy playing day after day and visitors return to year after year. The Willard Byrd design weaves through the mature oaks and pines of the Bay Point Resort community with numerous strategically placed bunkers and water features. Playing just over 6,900 yards from the championship tees, and just over 5,100 from the forward tees, it has the length to test the best player while providing more forgiving options for less experienced players. Located just off Thomas Drive and minutes from the pristine beaches of Panama City Beach, The Bay Point Meadows Course is a can't miss for your golfing pleasure.
Smyrna, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was ok, not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

It was in decent shape and we played a quick round, but it was nothing special. They could use a layout on each tee and more yardage markers in the fairways.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRGT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, MI
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nicklaus has an even imagination ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

While in Panama City Beach, last month, we decided to try one of the area golf courses, as we ususally do in our travels. This time it was the Jack Nicklaus designed Meadows Course on St. Andrews Bay. The club is now owned by Wyndham and since we are members and stayed at the Wyndham Panama Beach condos, we were able to get a discount on the greens fees from $79 each to $69 each. However, we found out that the course offers a deeper discount through "GolfNow.com".

The course is gourgeous, sculpted out of the salt marshes and retaining the natural habitat for the 'locals'. BUT, Mr. Nicklaus has a tendancy to make that natural beauty a backdrop to frustration, aggrevation, and disgust! In the words of Rodney Dangerfield: " ... you gatta have a lot of balls to play dis game!"

Those feelings aside, it was an enjoyable dauy, a beautiful course, the clubhouse was very nice and the staf was great. The people helped us load and unload our clubs, the starter gave us many tips about playing the course and the beverage cart, while not frequent, was welcome. There are five tees that makes the course 7300 yards down to 6000 and the challange is very different at each level. The biggest troble that you can get into is water and sand. The water is on 13 of the eighteen holes and sand is on every hole. The ground is relatively flat, as it is throughout Florida, and the trees do not often come into play.

The course is on the east side of the PCB area and a little trickey to get to but is well worth finding and playing. If like a challange and have extra golf balls, this is the palce for you!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubahanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NIce Course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I played a couple of times. Was in nice shaoe compared to last year. Greens were smooth. Much easier to play than the Nicklaus course.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice course to challenge your skills.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I really like this course although it's not called the Marriott anymore it's now the Wyndam. It's a simple layout but very challenging.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fearlessphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well maintained course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a great time playing this course. Very well maintained and a little tight for us duffers but an awesome place to play!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Meadows Course at Marriott Bay Point also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Meadows Course at Marriott Bay Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing