We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best option....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Summit Condominiums
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I want to preface by saying that we found this place last minute. However, I think we could have found something where the upkeep was much better.
At first glance it wasn't a bad looking place. Good location, decent amenities, etc. The cleanliness of the rooms and the building was a major let down. The elevators are very rundown, the smell on the ground floor walking in is terrible, the doors are broken and look unsightly. The wifi is barely existent. There shouldn't be an advertisement for wifi.
Our room- the sliding glass door is barely sliding. The screen has a HUGE tear in it. The sofa bed is a joke; the mattress is nasty (no
one slept on it). The couch and chair could use a good steam clean. The refrigerator was disgusting on the side, like it hasn't been washed in a loong time. We had 2 rolls of toilet paper; one in each bathroom, so we had to buy more. We also had to buy paper towels. The dishwasher was broken. The bathroom doors didn't shut without a lot of force.
I realize a lot of this is the owner's responsibility, but be cautious anyway- take pictures so you're not blamed.
On a positive note, we had a view of the beach, two pools, a mini mart and drink and snack machines, and a tiki bar ($$$). If you have a family, it's a good location except for the bar next door. They're open til around 3am Thursday thru Sunday nights. Hope this helped somewhat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FMTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. I am sorry for the issues you experienced with the upkeep of the resort and your rental unit. Each unit is privately owned, however if you did rent through the onsite management we do have onsite maintenance and housekeeping. Our goal is for our guests to enjoy a problem-free stay and I do hope that you will try us again so that next time we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for The Summit Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here after traveling all the ways across the country from idaho and the people running the place were rude the room was old and in need of repair,and worst of all they attempted to double charge us at the end of our stay. Do not spend your money here the rates are horrible the staff are rude and down right crooked.

Room Tip: Go to another establishment
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rockcrawler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

I do apologize that you did not enjoy your time at The Summit. We do strive to ensure that our guests have a trouble-free stay. Although, I am not sure who you rented from, I am positive that no one would intentionally try to double charge you. I do hope that you understand and will try our property again to experience a great beach vacation like so many others who have stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Who ever cleans, dosen't do a good job. Had to clean bathroom. The corners were nasty in the bathroom alone with the tub, there was mold all over the vents. Had to wash all the dishes that we use, they had food left in them from pass guess. The pool areas were clean and kept. Security could have been more present.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4me789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We appreciate you providing your feedback. I do apologize for the cleanliness. Although, I do not know who you rented from, I can inform you that the onsite management does have onsite housekeeping. We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities of the resort including the pool area and we hope to have you return to the Summit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in a room rented from vrbo. I don't know if they use the same cleaners, but our tub/shower corners were nasty. I told my owner, but never heard back. Also, the patio door did not lock. It is an old bldg, but I thought the pools, hot tubs, and kiddie pool areas were kept up. They have laundry on site--very hot in there. Bikini bobs was nice to have because I felt like a lot of food in pcb is overpriced. I always saw security around and the front desk staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: The elevators are very busy and sometimes slow, so if you are in a lower level you could use the sta...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelleapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback. When renting through the onsite rental company, we do have on-call housekeeping. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and all the amenities that Summit has to offer. We hope to see you again soon when your travel plans bring you back to Panama City Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

After reading MANY negative reviews I was apprehensive at best about our stay. However, we stayed in room 1123 after booking with hotels.com, and I must say it was pretty decent. Don't get me wrong, it is very out of date and it could be cleaner, but it is not bad for the money. The mattress is hard as a rock, and the couch is so dirty I put a sheet over it before I let my kids sit on it, but I am a little OCD. Overall I think for the money we spent for the week the rest of the amenities make up for it. Bikini bob's is cheap and ok food, the pools are clean, and the beach access is perfect. Pretty good vacation overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We appreciate you for providing this feedback. Each guest experience is different and every unit is privately owned. Therefore, I encourage guests to contact the front desk, if you are concerned about any negative posts, so that you will feel confident about booking at the Summit and having a very nice experience. I will address your comments regarding housekeeping with our team. I am glad that you enjoyed the amenities of the resort and of course our onsite food offerings. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My friends and I have been going to this place 2-3 times a year for about 15 years. We went there the first time on a whim, and after our experience with the Tiki Bar, it was the main reason we came back every year. The fun and the atmosphere there was always a blast, even when the weather was horrible. The local bartenders were great and very personable. This year it was all different. Apparently, the Summit contracted the Tiki and some other places out to another company. Needless to say it was and is a disaster.
Our room was great as usual, as it was one of Mark Peery's rooms of Student Breaks. We've rented from him several times and always been a great experience. We've rented from Caldwell as well a couple times and it was great also.
It was just really sad and disappointing to see the Tiki Bar of old gone. As of now, we will search for other condos to stay in for future visits.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradleyclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback. We take these comments seriously and I assure you that it has been addressed with our Food and Beverage team. I do apologize for the experience that you had. Since the new management has been in place, we have strived to make positive improvements at our Tiki Bar including renovations as well as the menu offerings. I do hope that this does not deter you from renting at the Summit for your future travel plans, so that you can have the same great experience that you are used to having at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After reading several bad reviews I was very apprehensive about our stay at The Summit. HOWEVER, our room was clean and safe(we had 3 small children with us). We had only a few light bulbs out and balcony door was difficult to lock. No problem, it was fixed right away. I was worried about reports of noise and foulmouth young adults, but never had a problem with noise or anyone with foul mouths. There was an even mix of families, young adults(well behaved) and older adult couples. I was impressed with security who was always present, friendly and kept everyone in line.
My only complaints with The Summit are elevators are crowded at check-in and check-out and at night parking lot is crowded. Really had a good, relaxing and enjoyable get away with my children, niece and grandparents and would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Bring rail for younger children in bunkbeds, rooms near center of complex require less walking and m...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammyh70003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Each guest experience is different and every unit is privately owned. Therefore, I encourage guests to contact the front desk, if you are concerned about any negative posts, so that you will feel confident about booking at the Summit and having a very nice experience, as you did with you and your family. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
846 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
117 reviews
Long Beach Resort
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Majestic Beach Towers
#12 of 83 in Panama City Beach
675 reviews
Laketown Wharf Resort
#20 of 83 in Panama City Beach
598 reviews
Sunbird Suites
#67 of 83 in Panama City Beach
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Condominiums

Address: 8743 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4030
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £105 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Summit Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Condo located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico in Panama City Beach, Florida. Spectacular views and gorgeous sunsets from the 14th floor ocean front balcony. The Summit is next door to the very popular Spinakers Beach Club and Club LaVela. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Condominiums Hotel Panama City Beach
Summit Condominiums Panama City Beach
Summit Panama City Beach
Summit Condominiums Hotel
The Summit Panama City Beach
Panama City Beach Summit
Summit Panama City Fl
The Summit Condominiums Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing