We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summit Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summit Condominiums
Lagrange
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in room 824 and if this an indication of other rooms at the Summit, I do not recommend staying here. Upon arrival, room had an unclean smell (understatement). Sofas needed steam cleaning. Shower drain backed up and bathrooms were not cleaned properly. Plug in outlets were loose and unsafe. Lamp in den was bent and loose and unstable. Remote control for television did not work. The fact that you are required to submit a non refundable damage deposit is ridiculous.
The one thing that I did appreciate was the friendliness of the office staff upon arrival and departure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wildtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We appreciate the input and the comments you have listed will be helpful in us improving our quality and service. We strive to have our guests experience a problem-free stay and it certainly sounds like we did not succeed. I apologize and I assure you that it will be addressed. I do hope that you will return, so that we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    143
    94
    82
    166
See reviews for
280
99
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in 1414 and Susan Chen is our Angel. She is there for us if we have any questions. This is our 2nd time with her and look forward to going back. We take our 3 granddaughters to spend special time with them. Our condo was so comfortable, washer and dryer, kitchen loaded, the view from the balcony is amazing, the pools are great with plenty chairs, workers where so friendly. Bedroom large. We made life time memories at a great price. Thank you Susan and God Bless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank lgc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much for providing this nice feedback. We are so glad to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay at Summit Beach Resort and we hope to see you again soon to experience more memories that will last a lifetime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Checked in at the summit on August 15th 2013 @ 2:00pm and checked out on August 15th 2013 @ 2:30pm! The most outdated, nastiest, raggedy, filthy, and UNCLEAN! thing I've ever been in! 100$ cleaning fee charged to my account for what I DONT KNOW! The condo had nasty paper towels under the couch, the couch and furniture had holes in it and on their last legs, the frig was DISGUSTING with brown mess all over it and in it, rust on the light fixtures, cob webs in the ceiling, balcony had cracks in it, nastiness all over the walls, and the bedrooms were so small the beds barely fit, much less anything else! Bathrooms were disgusting also! Complained to my booking agency who contacted the manager and were offered another unit at the summit, walked in this unit and walked right out due to the AWFUL smell of backed up sewage...went back to the manager and demanded my money back, they found me another condo for the same price and we were very thankful! Wasn't putting my head to rest not ONE night at that ratchet place! We were moved to the Majestic towers and it is awesome! Thank The Lord! Don't waste your time or money on the summit...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Realist07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We appreciate you providing this feedback. I am so sorry that you found the Summit in the condition that you described, but I am pleased that the alternative location worked for the remainder of your trip. Your comments will be addressed with the appropriate department head and I assure you they are taken seriously. We do hope that you will try our resort again, so that we can have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I just checked out of this gross, disgusting, filthy dive.
The pools, hot tubs, Bikini Bobs, and beach area was 100% wonderful, however the rooms, elevators, bathrooms, and all indoor aspects of this joint needs to be bulldozed. Within 2 minutes of checking in, I knew that I had made a horrible mistake booking at this dump. I knew that getting a refund was out of the question, so I didn't bother asking, however thought about sleeping outdoors instead of inside of our room. This place makes Motel 6, or any run down motel look like a 4 star hotel. The most miserable 3 nights I have EVER spent. I would not even feel good about ever taking a dog or other pet to this rip off, filthy mess.
Also not family oriented due to my observation that a LOT of underage alcohol consuming teens running around yelling, being loud, etc...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorjaysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We do apologize that you did not enjoy your visit. Your comments will be addressed by the appropriate department heads. We work hard at ensuring that our guests have a great time at our property from the amenities to the units. Please do reconsider trying us again so that we can have an opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Thought we would try this side of the beach this time down in Panama City Beach, wow, this place was rough and very outdated. There are hidden fees, not necessarily all there fault part in conjunction with Expedia but not a very nice surprise and could hurt someone who didn't have the extra dollars. Our toilet was broken and not fixed for the first two days when someone finally showed up the third morning but by then we had fixed it ourselves, the bathtub wouldn't drain at all and stayed stopped up and that we fixed too. Really pretty bad when your paying alot of money to stay in a fully furnished condo for a vacation. The kitchen had all of three forks to use and hardly any cooking pans. Light bulbs out in several places and not replaced after letting them know. Furniture I would not sit in, so very stained and filthy. The refrigerator didn't work properly either and constantly dripped water on floor and areas in it froze food that wasn't supposed to be frozen. The mattress was covered in plastic so every time you moved you would wake up from the noise. I will not ever go back to this place, but thankfully we love PCB and will return but most definately to another condo resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetovacation2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I am very sorry for the issues you have experienced at our resort. We do take these issues seriously and they will be addressed. I can confirm that any fees that were charged are outlined on the Expedia site as well as your confirmation. We do hope that you will reconsider and try our resort again in the future when your travel plans bring you back to Panama City Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Summit. It is an older property and could use some updates. We rented directly from the owner on VRBO.com. The condo was in good shape.
Issues: Our only issues were the couch bed and the noise. The mattress on the couch bed was terrible, very thin and old. We just put the bed back in and slept on the couch. We had six people one one three year old and it was crowded, but we knew what we were getting into. The noise issue is from Spinnaker's. The condo is located on the far right side of the building and on Sunday night the band, etc there was rocking out until 3:00 AM. It was impossible to sleep in the living room on the couch. The bedroom and hallway bunk beds were fine, but if you plan to use the living room couch as a sleeping place on weekend nights, plan for loud music from Spinnakers.

Good Stuff:
I saw many reviews about elevator problems. We did not have any. The elevators worked fine and are actually very fast.
The pool area was well kept. There are two spacious pools, lots of lounge chairs, tables with umbrellas, to kiddie pools, two hot tubs, and a very convenient (but expensive) Tiki Bar. It was family friendly when we were there. The pool hours were 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM. There were plenty of signs about not using towels to reserve loungers and this seemed to be followed regularly. It was clear that if you put your stuff down and did not come back for hours it would be moved to a central location. Four sets of bathroom are located all around the pool and courtyard area.
There is a snack place right by the pool, which was nice for a quick snack. We LOVED the Bikini Bob's restaurant by the courtyard. Great and cheap! Cheap drinks, plenty of food choices, and $.99 sodas. This was great to walk in from the beach and buy a drink. Alcoholic drinks from here were so much cheaper that the Tiki Bar.
The beach area was convenient. You just walk out from the deck around the pool. There are five water stations to wash you feet, etc when you walk in from the beach.
The view was very nice from the 9th floor. We regularly saw Summit employees out doing maintenance, etc. There is an arcade on the main floor that was fun for the kids. The is a gated property, so we always felt pretty safe about our car and there was plenty of parking. This is within walking distance to A LOT of stuff. Mellow Mushroom and Hammerhead Fred's are directly across the street, as well as the Slingshot ride, Go Karts, etc. This is close to Emerald Falls, where we love to play goofy golf and ride Go Karts. Spinnakers was right next door.
All in all, we like the property. We would definitely rent 902 again. It was in great shape. We like the Summit's location too. Great and economical!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We appreciate you providing your comments about your recent stay at Summit Beach Resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our property as well as all the amenities we offer directly at the resort. We hope to see you and your family return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

First of all let me just say that compared to all the other prices I found for the time we were going, this was one of the cheapest for a three bedroom condo. I feel like we got what we paid for which is not that bad. The place is old and it shows. There are lots of small little issues and things that need to be fixed and addressed. That all being said, I was not unhappy with our stay. We were in condo 1509 and it was clean with no issues with bugs or anything like I've read in other reviews. There were some lights that didn't work and a few other things. The most irritating was the sliding glass door in the main room out onto the balcony. It was horribly difficult to open which we reported. Someone came to fix it the next day and it worked once or twice but then was back to being difficult. The elevators were hot and crowded but not unbearable. Overall, we had a good time and I would stay here again if the price was right again. However, if you want luxury it is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magicalkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsPCBeach, Manager at The Summit Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We appreciate you providing this detailed feedback of your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time and we will review your comments both positive and negative with the appropriate department heads. We hope to see you again soon at the Summit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
5.2 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.5 mi away
Majestic Beach Towers
Majestic Beach Towers
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#17 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Top of the Gulf Suites
Top of the Gulf Suites
#72 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laketown Wharf Resort
Laketown Wharf Resort
#19 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gulf Crest
Gulf Crest
#14 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Condominiums

Property: The Summit Condominiums
Address: 8743 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4030
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Summit Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Condo located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico in Panama City Beach, Florida. Spectacular views and gorgeous sunsets from the 14th floor ocean front balcony. The Summit is next door to the very popular Spinakers Beach Club and Club LaVela. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Summit Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Condominiums Hotel Panama City Beach
Summit Condominiums Panama City Beach
Summit Panama City Beach
Summit Condominiums Hotel
The Summit Panama City Beach
Panama City Beach Summit
Summit Panama City Fl
The Summit Condominiums Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing