We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“down to earth motel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachbreak By The Sea
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“down to earth motel....”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we have stayed here for 2 years in a row...the rooms are outdated that's for sure and the breakfast is limited but for the price well worth the stay. the staff is very helpful and go out of their way to make your stay the best....highly recommended for a stay....they also own legency next door if they are full///...make sure you try their restaurant next door....barefoot landing for a great meal....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachbreak By The Sea, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for selecting the Beachbreak By The Sea to be your home away from home when staying in Panama City Beach. We're so glad that you enjoy your stay with us each and every time! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    123
    90
    59
    73
See reviews for
165
121
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel the last two summers and we were satisfied with our stay. We stayed in September one year and August the next year. The rooms are mostly clean and older but have everything you need (tv, kitchen, balcony, etc.). The staff are a normal hotel staff, not overly helpful but they take care of everything you ask of them. The hotel is on the beach with a pool and hot tub (which were both clean both times we went). Hotel is within walking distance to Pier Park and other nearby restaurants. I was most impressed with the convenience of the this hotel. It is very laid back here and seemed to be a great place for families and couples. In all, I don't have anything to complain about from staying at this hotel. I was everything I expected for the price.

Room Tip: Better not to stay on ground floor room, seems to be alot of people walking in front of you room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajun4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachbreak By The Sea, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words highlighting our cleanliness, friendly staff and convenient location. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

An older, well maintained, clean property. Perfect for our family vacation. We came for the beach and spent most of our time there. The kitchen in the room was great for cooking our meals. While the complimentay breakfast was minimal, we supplemented it with cooking in our room. The staff was friendly and hard working. I was impressed with this deal and plan on visiting again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, but I enjoyed the double room with the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachbreak By The Sea, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Wow Jennifer, you make us blush! We try our best to please all of our guests and I thank you for taking the time to write a review acknowledging our diligent work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Even though this is not a fancy hotel, you have to decide what you want to pay for before booking. It is definitely on the beach and that is what we were looking for and did not mind a very slim breakfast offering or basic accommodations. We spent little time in the room as the pool and beach were right at the back of the hotel. We would ask for a third or first floor room if we go back. We were on the fourth floor and no elevator for hauling luggage up and down. Front desk person Kayla was very nice and friendly. The desk staff tells you there is limited parking but also gives other options across the street. As we were there on Sun-Tues we never found parking to be a problem. I see no reason not to return to Beachbreak by Sea - will most definitely consider it if we return to PCB. A sister hotel - Legacy is right next door and is pricier and I guess with more upscale rooms but understand the limited continental breakfast is the same.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry luggage up three flights of stairs ask for lower floors. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachbreak By The Sea, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your business and your positive review of Beachbreak By The Sea. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

If interested in exploring a stay at our sister hotel, Legacy By The Sea, I wanted to let you know that the Free Continental Breakfast between the two properties does differ. Beachbreak currently offers bagels, muffins, yogurt, juice and coffee. Legacy's free continental breakfast.currently consists of donuts, yogurt, bagels, cereal, fresh waffles, milk, juice and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

For spring break they made us pay a $400 deposit for 5 nights. We barely stayed in the room because we were always out and as we're leaving they didn't want to give us our deposit back because we were missing ONE hand towel. I don't understand how we ask anyone for towels and they give them to us and they don't keep track but I'm supposed to let them keep $400 because they didn't keep track of what they gave us. Bad experience and gave us a huge headache for the drive home

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianlovet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachbreak By The Sea, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Spring Break experience with us. However, it is a very common practice in Panama City Beach to charge cash damage deposits to guests under the age of 25. It is not a condemnation of all young travelers, it is because unfortunately the percentage chance of damage increases tremendously for this cross section of the population.

As far as your towel situation, I am confused. We give a set amount of towels at the beginning of the stay, and we give you a chance to inventory your room. We clearly list the prices for items that might come up missing or broken. Yes, you can get towels from anyone you ask because we are in the hospitality business, and it is our job to provide you with the amenities and service that you desire. However, if anyone you ran into gave you towels and you still ended up short on your room's par, it sounds like you got off easy only getting charged for one towel.

So in summation, I do apologize if the fact that we only refunded you $390 instead of $400 because of a towel gave you a headache on your drive home. Next time, just be sure you leave all of the towels that you got from all the people on property (that were not keeping up with them) in your room when you check out and all should be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Location: right along beach, literally right across a convenience store, and has a wonderful view. Keep in mind that there are two hot spots in PCB, this is on the less crazy side. The more typical spring break area is more east. I actually enjoyed this more because I can relax and socialize and then travel to the other side for the ragers at night. Nice balcony view!
Rooms: it was comfortable livable and mediocre. We only used to really sleep, shower, and leave our stuff in. They asked for a cash $400 security deposit in the beginning-**make sure you do a through room check in the beginning, otherwise they WILL charge you!**. They also gave us wristbands which cost $10 to replace if broken and $50 to replace if lost! Free wifi available only in lobby. Staff was friendly and quick to service. The exterior and interior of the room seemed outdated.
-Cleanliness: it was good, we did not see any bugs or anything like that. The sofa bed was dirty was stains and rust, but other than that it was fine. What was alarming was that we had found drug paraphernalia left from the previous tenant in one of our drawers! We quickly disposed of this.
-Safety: I don't know if it was just for the spring break season, but I felt safe because there was always police officers patrolling around. They never stopped to check your IDs or anything--everyone was out with open cans drinking and everything. I was glad that they were so close if anything ever happened.
-Utilities: the TVs were old and somewhat functional, our toilet was terrible in that it took a long time to fill, and in turn could not flush well, our room had a kitchen (which we primarily used the fridge, microwave, and toaster).
-Room service: will come to change sheets every other day, and comes around to exchange new towels and toss trash everyday
-Continental breakfast: bagels, blueberry/chocolate muffins, yogurt, OJ, apple juice--all for your taking. We just woke up between 7-9am and just grabbed what we wanted and went back to our rooms.
-CONS: the door had a tendency to not close all the way, make sure you lock it! our balcony door did not lock, really loud surroundings that will go early in the morning and late into the evenings, the sofa bed is god awful and will hurt your back,

Room Tip: Rooms with kitchens were very useful (I heard 2-person rooms have tiny fridges)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachbreak By The Sea, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a well-thought-out review of our property! First and foremost, I hope you enjoyed your Spring Break!

Your detailing of the property and its features was very accurate I must say. We are an older hotel, but with that comes a certain charm due to the fact that it is not your standard "cookie cutter". We are constantly renovating to try to keep up with the Jones'. For instance, the entire pool and pool deck was redone this off season, and we have just laid new carpet in all of the rooms. We are very excited about these two projects being completed! We have about half of the property now with updated flat screen TV's as well, and that is another work in progress.

Our staff service and friendliness is above all what we try to provide, and thank you for acknowledging that aspect of our property.

In your cons, you mentioned the sofabed being uncomfortable. This is not lost on management, as we are expecting to have all new sofas/sofa beds by this time next year. We are hoping that this comes to fruition! :) I am sorry that you had trouble with your doors and/or locks, and I hope that someone from maintenance was able to assist you with that if it was reported.

Alas, the noise is a large part of Spring Break. As you detailed, we do have Security here throughout the evening and overnight, as well as Managers on Duty. We do our best to keep the noise to a dull roar after hours, but we do want our Spring Breakers to have a good time and enjoy themselves! I hope that if you let us know about any noise issues we were able to rectify them, and if we were not, I do apologize.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts, and we hope to see you again so you can see some of the improvements we are trying to make!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed and had bed bugs they offered us another room.we went to look at it and some one had got sick on the bed and flipped the mattress. This was the only other room available. So the gave us one night free and we had stayed 7 days. They came in and sprayed our room. But next day seen another bug. Not happy at all

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khamby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachbreak By The Sea, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
I am sorry that you have chosen to share your experience in a falsified manner. In researching the situation, written documentation shows a completely different account of the events that transpired during your stay. I suppose that tends to happen when the review is posted 5 months after the fact.

I will respect the fact that you did not have a good stay, and I would like to discuss our difference in view points if you contact the hotel directly as opposed to a public forum.

Beachbreak is an older hotel, but one thing we pride ourselves on is our service to guests at By the Sea Resorts. I can assure any guest who reads this that our staff's response was much more proactive than the picture that is painted. I can also assure anyone that the resolution was satisfactory to the guest 5 months ago at the time of transaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
720 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
819 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#36 of 48 in Panama City Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
551 reviews
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
#19 of 48 in Panama City Beach
235 reviews
Beachcomber By The Sea
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachbreak By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachbreak By The Sea

Property: Beachbreak By The Sea
Address: 15405 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2501
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachbreak By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While the Beachbreak By The Sea may be small-it stands only four stories in a sea of high-rises-the resort is big on warmth and charm. One of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels, the Beachbreak offers 97 newly-renovated rooms and an array of room types including accommodations with private gulf-front balconies and fully-equipped kitchens as well as cabana-level rooms. Because all of the rooms are affordable, you can take a break without breaking your budget! Discounts at Gulf World Marine Park located across the street, at the nearby Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex and at our beachfront bar and grill next door make your stay even more affordable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beachbreak By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachbreak By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachbreak Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing