We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served a purpose, but don't expect luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachbreak By The Sea
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We were scared because of all the bad reviews, but got a great deal for a large group. We rented three rooms total. The room we stayed in was nearly perfect. Very clean, very nice shower, very nice view. We stayed on the Cabana level. White sandy beach ten steps away from hotel door. Second room was nice but had a few issues. First, the beds were horrible. Very old and very uncomfortable. Bathtub faucet was a little worn. The third room was nice with no problems at all. All in all, we had a great stay. No major issues. Felt safe, despite what some of the other posts said. Staff was outstanding. Pool was perfect. If you like to parasail or jet ski, the rental stand was right in front of motel. Also, there is a great little restaurant on the premises. Barefoot Beach Club was a great place for seafood and bar-type food. The main worry we found on the property was on the second floor hallway. The walls seems to be falling in and the air conditioners were rusty and water filled the hallway. I have to think that the rooms were probably being renovated (hopefully no one was staying in them). All in all, we had so much fun. We paid 62 per night instead of 120+. So, we would stay again, especially on Cabana Level.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preachersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

Pretty much what everyone else has said is true. The place is not very desireable. In addtion to the other issues mentioned, the ceilings were the tiles that can be raised, and in the shower, they could be pushed up when you were bathing. The showerhead was so low I had to duck to get under it, and I am 5'3". The bathroom looked dirty, the outlets were in odd places, the lighting in the whole room was dreary, I was afraid to remove my shoes, you could hear the sliding glass door above a little to well, and the pictures of this place don't quite match the reality. Also, this day and age, they need to have a business center. They did have wireless internet capabilities, but I didn't think I'd be needing my laptop given that every other lodging offers a business center. The location is great, and the staff was nice. Pool was awesome, and the beach was right there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grody224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Interesting place to stay! Akin to a trailer park, Beachbreak is a good ol' boys haven. Rich with cigarette smoking, beer drinking, cooler toting, country music blasting, passed out in patio chairs guests, this place was not my cup of tea. The rooms are clean enough, but the public areas are filthy and awful. A real dump! Do yourself a favor and pay the extra $25 per day and stay at the Legacy (nx door). Same owners - but worlds apart!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizabeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The two problems we had (a light fixture going out and an aircon unit not working) were fixed in a timely manner and with a smile. It isn't the staff's fault that the hotel is old and run down. The stairs are kind of scary & dark. There is no elevator and having recently had knee replacement, the 5 flights of stairs to the beach didn't make me very happy! There were pools of water on the walkways in front of the rooms. The room was dark and cave-like. They "upgraded" us to a "nicer room" with two bedrooms, but even that was terrible! Very dark, smelly, dirty, old, rickety furniture and stained worn carpet. The aircon units are very loud and blow air directly on the bed (the one that worked). The linens were good and clean, but everything else about the place was terrible. To top it off, we came back in the afternoon from a day's outing and found our door sitting open. Apparently the maid had cleaned the room (or half of it, as one bedroom the bed wasn't even made!), and hadn't closed the door when she left. The doors will not close unless you slam them, but the maids should know this as they go in and out of the rooms on a daily basis!! I'm just glad that our computers, cameras and other valuables weren't stolen! The pool and the whirlpool reeked of chemicals and were in bad repair. The smell at the pool was unbearable and gave me a horrible headache. I'm not overly emotional, but I cried the first night because of how bad the hotel was. We coped by spending as much time away from the room as possible! Had we not paid in advance, we would have found somewhere else better. For the money, you can find MUCH better on the beach!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

The room was beautiful with a gorgeous view of the ocean. It was the first time we had been back to Panama City in 13 years! While living in Alabama, we visited the Emerald Coast quite often. But after leaving Alabama for Texas, the 15 hour trip wasn’t conducive to frequent visits. This year, we had all grown so homesick for our beloved Emerald Coast, that we decided to make the drive . . . and we’re very glad we did. The accommodations of your facility were very nice . . . neat, clean and surprisingly more than what we thought we’d get for the bargain rate we paid. None of us expected to find a well-stocked kitchen, iron and ironing board, blow dryer, etc. when we checked it – but that’s exactly what we found. For what we paid verses what we received, you can’t beat the price. We plan to come back next year and we plan to stay at the Beachbreak by the Sea!. The staff was courteous and kind and we hated to leave . . . I know I shed a few tears when we checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexanMissingFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

You cannot beat the location, it's on the beach and not over crowded like the high rise hotels. Perfect if you have children, we had plenty of beach area to ourselves with no crowds. Rented 3 rooms with other families. We were 1st floor in front of pool. Would not recommend location. Stairs and garbage can right in front of your room. If you have young children ask to stay 1st floor near the playground area. There is a big enough cement deck with picnic tables and playground. Don't book the hotel for it's free continnental breakfast. it consists of bagels and muffins. Nothing to speak of. The price was excellent, beach location was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunscreen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This property has not had any upkeep in years . The room looks terrible, stains on the carpet and not clean. I felt like I had to clean the bathroom before I used it.
The beds were sloped down hill and we slept with our feet at the head of the bed. The sheets were clean. The cheap scratchy kind. I haven't seen any bugs yet. This is day one> Our door appeared to have been kicked it, we were not sure it would stay locked. Ok it was cheap, but I expect clean. The hallways outside your room are scary. They are dirty with peeling paint. They are just nasty. It is not worth the money you save. This place is not worth $1.00 a night. The pool is very small and crowded. Just say No to this dive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 49 in Panama City Beach
899 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 49 in Panama City Beach
751 reviews
Beachside Resort Panama City Bea...
#10 of 49 in Panama City Beach
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 49 in Panama City Beach
127 reviews
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 49 in Panama City Beach
216 reviews
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#9 of 49 in Panama City Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachbreak By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachbreak By The Sea

Address: 15405 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2501
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £48 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachbreak By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While the Beachbreak By The Sea may be small-it stands only four stories in a sea of high-rises-the resort is big on warmth and charm. One of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels, the Beachbreak offers 97 newly-renovated rooms and an array of room types including accommodations with private gulf-front balconies and fully-equipped kitchens as well as cabana-level rooms. Because all of the rooms are affordable, you can take a break without breaking your budget! Discounts at Gulf World Marine Park located across the street, at the nearby Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex and at our beachfront bar and grill next door make your stay even more affordable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachbreak By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachbreak By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachbreak Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing