We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legacy By The Sea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Legacy By The Sea
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed the first week of June and had an awesome time! Staff was great, rooms were clean with a beautiful gulf view. We enjoyed the free daily breakfast - awesome waffles!! We also took advantage of the discount they offered for the Barefoot Beach Club right next door on the beach. Great location as is right at Hills Road which takes you directly out to Walmart to pick up a few groceries. Then directly across from us on Front Beach is Dippin Dots, which the kids REALLY enjoyed and the convenient store there was surprisingly very reasonable. Sharks is within walking distance either via the beach or Front Beach Rd. Very close to the fishing pier, and Pier Park Shopping too!! We will definitely stay again!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed staying with us! Thank you for your kind words and thank you so much for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    250
    104
    50
    47
See reviews for
286
252
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Legacy offers great value and customer service. The location is centrally located & in walking distance of many activities, shopping and restaurants. The trolley stop is across the street and another beside the hotel so both directions are close. The staff was always helpful to resolve issues ie needed different room to satisfy a guest that didn't want a connecting room. Although people can throw items off the balcony (as they can most places), mgt. will address if informed and will have guests leave that are not following the rules. We had small kids throw ice, it was addressed & that was the end of it. The only hot breakfast is waffles; would like to see that change. Also, couch was rough/ scratchy: we just out a sheet over it. Beds were comfortable and room clean. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 773Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your review. It's actually a felony to throw things off the balcony and you're right; we do not tolerate that type of behavior. It is a surefire way to get evicted from our property. Most guests are pretty courteous so that sort of thing is not usually a problem. However, in the case of these small children throwing ice, we thank you for alerting us to the action so that we could shut it down right away. Thank you for giving us credit as to how quickly we resolved the issue as well.

Thank you for mentioning our convenient location, walking distance to everything, helpful staff, cleanliness and comfort. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean, nice hotel with wonderful view and great location! The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. If you want to get your complementary breakfast, better go there early, it gets pretty crowdy on the busy days.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review and recognizing our friendly, helpful staff, great location and wonderful view! Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Best part: comfy bed
Not so great: keys didn't work randomly, couch was burlap type itchy material and needs updated. Bad cell reception. Pool in bad location allowing no oceanview while sunbathers subjected to falling lit cigarette butts and debris. No real fix for this without relocating pool...btw heater didn't work for 5 days we were there.
Just ok : Breakfast could have used a little fruit but otherwise ok

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cabLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear cabLouisville_KY,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Our current sleeper sofas, while not burlap, were purchased in a sturdy thick material due to their resilience against elements like water, sunscreen, suntan oils, our high volume of guest use, and multiple cleanings. However, you will be happy to know, we will be replacing all our sleeper sofas with new ones covered in a material just as durable and more comfortable.

All of our rooms have private balconies overlooking our beachfront pool as well as the beach. While it is possible for a cigarette butt to be thrown down, our guests seem to be very courteous of others, just as you probably are, so we haven't found that to be a problem. Our maintenance crew also keeps the pool along with the entire grounds very clean.

I'm glad you enjoyed our comfy beds and hope that you will enjoy our comfy sleeper sofas on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The property is older and the furniture is old as well but it was clean and I was impressed considering I paid $125 including taxes and this property is oceanfront. Every room has a balcony with an ocean view. I asked to be as high as possible and was on the 12th floor, only one floor was above us. The view from the room was awesome! You walk into the bedroom and there is a door to close it off from the kitchen. It was nice to have a kitchen, has a nice size fridge/freezer and stove. They stocked some basic supplies. The living room is on the other side of the kitchen and has a nice window to see the ocean, the balcony is nice. The pool is heated. The bathroom was clean which is one of the most important things to me! Walking distance to the pier shopping center and restaurants also. I would stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Melissa C,

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed Mother's Day weekend at the Legacy and we were very impressed with the hotel. Excellent view. Loved the room. Plenty of space. Full kitchen. Close to everything including the new Pier Park area. We walked to Sharky's and had a wonderful meal, although there is a restaurant right beside the hotel. Water was a little chilly, but that's to be expected in mid May. Plan to come back again this July. Had a wonderful time and The Legacy made it that much better.

Room Tip: This may not be a room tip, but parking is limited and early arrival assures a better parking spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Charlie-
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. I'm happy to read that you had a wonderful time. We can't wait to see you again in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Legacy for four nights in April 2014. For us, it definitely had some pros and cons. This is my opinion overall:

Pros: The rooms are large and can accommodate families easily. There were only two of us, so it was more than we needed. The rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, dishes and utensils, pretty much everything you'll need. Lots of towels, although they were a bit thin. We changed rooms twice (more about that later), and all our rooms were very clean. Great view! You are right on the beach. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. The pool is very nice, although not very deep at the deep end. It would be great for children. For families, there's a door that separates the two parts of the room, and each part has it's own ac/heater unit.

Cons: The Wi-Fi isn't free. I believe it was about $10 for 24 hours. We thought the breakfast area was too small. Every day we found it hard to get a table, and there was a line for the waffle makers, the only popular item on the menu. We didn't think much of the selection, it was pretty sparse, but the breakfast was included. The exercise room was small for this size of a property, but it didn't seem to be utilized much. The ac/heater units were the typical under the window motel units, and we found them noisy and difficult to adjust properly. The rooms were in the process of being rehabbed. The first unit they put us in still had old carpet and smelled a little musty. We asked to be moved, and they moved us to another unit that was in better shape, but it was a smoking room. It was OK until some people checked in next door to us, and they smoked A LOT, which seeped into our room quite easily to where our unit reeked of smoke! We finally got moved to a non-smoking room, but until we complained we were never asked about smoking preference.

Lastly, we thought it was somewhat pricey for what we got. It's right on the beach but it seems to be an older hotel with some issues. They are trying to spruce it up, but they're still working on it. If you can book it for a good price, however, go for it! Also, if you are nonsmokers be sure to get a nonsmoking room!

If you find this review helpful, please give me a helpful vote. I try to be thorough and give my honest opinion, because the reviewers on this site have been very helpful to me in locating some great properties! Unfortunately, we didn't have a lot of choice on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Missionman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I apologize that our front desk agent did not ask your preference of smoking or non-smoking and that you were placed in a smoking room. They do not usually ask preference as that is already indicated on your reservation by the room type selected when you made your reservation. If your reservation is made online or by a third party website it is important to select the room type that coordinates with your preference. I'm glad that after you expressed to us your preference, we were able to quickly provide you with a non-smoking room.

The ac/heater units are typical under the window units. I’m not sure why you felt the ac/heater was difficult to adjust. All rooms are equipped with digital ac/heater units which should be easily adjustable to your desired temperature. If at any time there is a question about any appliances in your room please let us know and allow us the opportunity to fix the issue or replace the appliance. We want your stay to be comfortable and enjoyable.

You are correct; our exercise room is not large so we do not claim it to be a gym. However, it does have a variety of equipment to get the job done, treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike and free weights. Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel. It is provided by a third party service and they do charge for their service. Daily is $10.99 and weekly is $22.99. We also have a computer in our lobby with free internet access for any of our guests to use. While we do not offer a full hot breakfast we do offer a FREE Continental Breakfast and with donuts, yogurt, bagels with cream cheese, cereal, fresh waffles, milk, juice and coffee, most guests find the selection quite nice and accommodating. In addition to seating in our lobby we also offer outdoor seating pool side for guests to enjoy a beachfront breakfast.

Thank you for appreciating the numerous perks of our property like our location (right on the beach), large rooms with fully equipped kitchens (perfect for families), great view, nice beachfront pool, and as you said, our super friendly and accommodating staff! We certainly want every guest to have the best stay possible and as a team we strive to achieve that every day. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will be returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
6.4 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Pier Park Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#7 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palmetto Inn & Suites
Palmetto Inn & Suites
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy By The Sea

Property: Legacy By The Sea
Address: 15325 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3527
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to create unforgettable memories is right here, including the world's whitest beaches, beachfront pool and hot tub, comfortable newly renovated rooms, and hospitable service 24 hours a day. You'll find the sugar white sand of Florida's famous Emerald Coast beaches steps from our doors. We're conveniently located in the center of Panama City Beach, shops, restaurants and entertainment all within walking distance of your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Legacy By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Legacy Sea
Legacy By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing