We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly”
Review of Osprey on the Gulf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osprey on the Gulf
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“clean and friendly”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and 2 daughter stayed for a week this past summer and had a wonderful time. When staying at osprey your welcome to the amenities to both the osprey and their neighbor motel driftwood. The tiki bar is very convenient provided great lunch deals and snacks for kids during the day and adult beverages at night. There are plenty of activities for kids like surf lessons and watermelon spitting contest. Every room has private balcony and view of the ocean. Room was very clean. I would recommend this stay for all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for trusting us with your family’s vacation. I was delighted to read your review, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our resort. I'm flattered that you think it's worthy of your time to write a review!

It made me happy to know you and your family enjoyed our daily events. Our family and team members consider it a privilege to share the beautiful place where we work and live with our guests. We would be thrilled to welcome you back when your travels bring you this way again.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    147
    32
    25
    14
See reviews for
260
233
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Four years ago we drove down Panama City Beach looking for a place that had a Gorgeous for for real oceanfront (not one of those trick photos taken from across a street to make it appear oceanfront), Not an ugly towering high rise condo (with hundreds of people that crowd their section of beach), hopefully run by the same family for many years so it retained some feeling of its heritage and charm for the area, and pleasant, well-maintained, safe, up to date amenities including kitchenette and if my list wasn't long enough, also was in the center of things so it had to be a very walkable and convenient spot. We hit BINGO! with the Osprey Motel. Here's what it's like: friendly helpful attitude of the front desk, like, "how can we help you enjoy your stay here?" instead of get rid of you asap. Fresh popcorn and coffee all day. Wifi with an ocean view off the side of the lobby with comfy chairs & games. Ice machine right outside lobby. Some covered parking (but not once did we have to park in their sunny slots). I think it's only 5 or so stories but the two elevators on either side takes you up quickly - we open the door -- from the large glass sliding doors at the patio: an expanse of unbelievably beautiful white sugar sand there's the crashing blue OCEAN in all its glory! We were in the room with two queen beds -- the dresser can't hold much but has a nice sized mirror (we mostly just parked our bags and used clothes from them set out of the way), The frig is Full-Sized -- lots of room and so very convenient for cold drinks, breakfast items, supper, any meals you wanted to make in the room on the stove-oven; small sink but adequate (no dishwasher), dishes, silverware & pots & pans included and I recommend a stack of paper plates to cut down on the dishwashing. Eating breakfast, lunch, or supper on the patio with it's large table (for 4) and looking out on those incredible ocean scenes and boats and the pier to the right -- morning, noon and night it was otherworldly. Back to the ambience of the Osprey and it's Summer Camp feeling -- in the summer months they serve us all fresh cold watermelon at 3 pm! Just come on down! Each night has a different theme like Peanut Butter Fudge Night, Movie Night (they show family type movies around the pool with plenty of seats at the Lodges next door that they also own), there's even a jewelry making class (a small fee for materials), and one day is a Free Seafood Gumbo lunch - good homemade gumbo with lots of shrimp, also corn dips and bean and salsa dips, a fruity drink, even cake! (There's more but I can't recall it all.) The head of the family who owns the Osprey & Lodges comes out and tells us how much he appreciates our patronage, explains the history that goes back to the 1960s of the family serving the Seafood Gumbo - they even have a song they've made up about the Gumbo and hand out the words and we all Sing Along! How old-timey is that? There is play equipment for young children, beach and umbrella renting available. The rooms are cleaned every day by a pleasant staff (but they don't do dishes). Location. It's a quarter mile from the pier so easy to walk down and watch all of the fishermen trying their skills -- lots of little boutique shops around there and across the street is the new Pier Point Mall with loads and loads of new stores. The mail also has a movie theater so if you run into some rain, go there. We love to walk so Marine Land with the dolphin show, seal show, birds, etc. is close enough for us. The Goodwill stores in the area are fantastic (have to go by car) -- lots of cast off kid's beach toys and games that people just didn't want to fool with packing up or didn't have room to take home. Well, yes, it's "dated" but up to date, and small, Not "condo big or fancy" but we have a close up view of the beach those folks don't have and for us the Osprey is full of charm and is just perfect. Oh, here's one more thing the folks in the high rises can't experience: many nights we open the sliding glass door and get lulled to sleep by the crashing waves and the soft sea breezes -- I mean how much more wonderful can life be?

Room Tip: We like the 3rd floor because sand flies can't fly that high so you can enjoy the patio & al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I was delighted to read your review, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our resort. It made me happy to know you feel at home with us. Our family considers it a privilege to share the beautiful place where we work and live with our guests.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back when your travels bring you this way again.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daleville, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was priced incredibly low for such a beautiful and convenient location. Room was comfortable, clean, artsy, and spacious. The view was spectacular ...and there's even a little 24hr hole-in-the-wall bar right across the street for all of you party animals ;) Within walking distance of the main/touristy district of the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyssaDanniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for sharing how much you enjoyed our resort. I'm so pleased to know that your family enjoyed their time at the Osprey. I'm flattered that you think it's worthy of your time to write a review!

Thank again for your kind comments.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wills Point, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was a great hotel right on the beach with a balcony and a kitchenette. It was in a great location near Pier Park and it was a fabulous price! We had no trouble checking in or parking. The staff was very friendly and there weren't a lot of hidden fees added on like some of the other places. The view from the room was breathtaking and the beach access was great. There is a fenced in playground with beach sand directly behind the hotel for kids. Also there is a Walmart a couple of blocks away. Would recommend it for budget minded families and we want to come back for a week stay next time. Also the kitchen has a full sized fridge and all the dishes etc.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MistyLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Upon arrival, we checked into a fully refurbished room. New carpet, paint, and fixtures. You are afforded privacy and peace here. The views were amazing. The hotel staff was courteous and the popcorn machine was a sweet touch. The book borrowing area was a nice touch, also. The kitchenette had everything we needed to have breakfast in the room on the balcony. A few groceries from the local store and you need to pick up ice from downstairs and you are set.The hotel was clean and getting cleaner. The staff was wiping everything down while we were there. The sands had been raked and the beach was also very clean in front of the hotel. We will definitely return. They actually hand you a key, not a card for the door. The linens and bed were excellent. Room well-appointed; nicely painted and decorated. This place deserves a re-visit if you have been and did not care for it before. It will be worth it. We like to support local family businesses whenever possible. They bring the personal touch to things.

Room Tip: The rooms south of the elevator allow for you to avoid any spillover noise from the bar across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooddogchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy S, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan on coming back soon. We are also very pleased to know that the hard work we put into keeping our rooms well maintained didn't go unnoticed. We look forward to your return stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived to Gilmore family resort on December 25. Ramil worked at front desk. He was very cheerful and provided a great hospitality.
I made reservation at Driftwood lodge. Its very nice place. But I thought it will be better to have kitchen, balcony. Next morning I talked to manager Lenny and he was able to upgrade. We stay now in Osprey Motel. Its Great place. Beautiful panoramic views from private balcony. Perfect spot for vacationers. Staff is very helpful, friendly. Glad to be here10 days and celebrate New Year at Pier Park.
t

Room Tip: During the winter months is better to stay at Osprey Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 224Belka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy S, General Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are so happy to know that you chose Gilmore Resorts to be the place to ring in the New Year! We hope to see you again in the near future. And, Ramil says "Privet"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed only one night. We were supposed to stay with someplace else on our way to the Magic Kingdom. We were not welcome at the other place due to our daughters developmental disability. We drove and drove and found what looked like a place we could afford that was clean and nice. We had no clue it was that close to the ocean as we could not hear the water because of music at a bar across the street. I walked in the office and told the clerk our tale and he rented us a room at a very reasonable rate. we went up to the room planning on dropping from exhaustion, but out daughter asked us what that noise was. It was the ocean. She was amazed, mesmerized and so were we. We went down and walked in the serf. we slept great, the room was nice and the beds so comfy. We got up and checked out the next morning and still talk about the great night we had at the Osprey.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianewagner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy S, General Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are so happy to know that we are part of your families' best memories. We hope you will come back sometime and spend more than one night with us so we can show you everything else we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay P...
#8 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey on the Gulf

Property: Osprey on the Gulf
Address: 15801 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osprey on the Gulf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico, Osprey On The Gulf offers the family vacation of a lifetime and the memories to match. If you are looking for a vacation that offers the combination of tranquility and adventure in an atmosphere of natural beauty, let the the Osprey on the Gulf serve as your perfect family vacation spot. Each room offers full kitchen and extra large private balcony over looking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osprey on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey On The Gulf Hotel Panama City Beach
Osprey On The Gulf Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing