We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and old”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This place is in serious need of an update! The carpet has got to be from the 1960s and smells like it! The room is a decent size but we seriously looked for ways to spend time away from the "resort" because it stunk and was probably the worst hotel in which I have ever stayed! Just don't do it!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbie4est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 5 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback, it helped us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,501 - 1,507 of 2,087 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

This hotel has everything, a hot deli, lazy river, pools, slides, tiki hut, awesome large yet cozy bar on the beach open year round with beautiful comfortable love seats and chairs around your personal fireplace and heat lamps for the colder months not to mention large screen tv(s) and kareoke. It is clean, charming, safe and has very friendly, responsive and helpful staff. The amenities surpass every time share I've stayed in. The outside areas are beautifully decorated with thatch roofed umbrellas and flowers. The rooms are older but clean. Beds were comfortable and the tv was new. Hours for the pools, deli, tiki hut etc... are generous. Great location and great time!

Room Tip: Ocean front ... no other way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marion n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have stayed at the Sandpiper Beacon Resort for the last four years and we love it! They have so much to do there we don't have to leave the Resort if we don't won't to. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I take my three daughters every year and each year they hame something new for us to enjoy. I love that they have an onsite Store and Laundry room, so if we need something simple we still don't have to leave the Resort. Looking forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: We enjoy staying on the bottom floor when we had our younger daughter. We could just walk straight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I took our 3 kids down for a long weekend and had a blast. There is no need to leave the property. They have so many activities for the kids to do even in the off season. The Tiki Bar and Deli are also very convenient to have on site as well. This resort does have some age but is very well kept up and is staffed very well. We will be returning. Thanks, B Ray

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one away from the Tiki Bar, it can get a little rowdy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Sandpiper Beacon was a great place to spend our week of vacation.. Lots of activities were provided for kids everyday such as bingo, beach games, inflatable water slide, smore night, movie night, etc. Not to mention there are pools, slides, a lazy river, a hot tub, a kiddie pool, shuffleboard, volleyball, beach playground at the resort. The kids were entertained the entire week. We went sailing on the Gulf for $10 per person as well. The resort made every effort to keep us happy, they even gave us a FREE room to help with space. Four adults and 10 children (ages 7-15) were in our party. I would recommend Sandpiper Beacon to anyone! If you are taking children, I would check the dates of bike week and spring break to avoid the partiers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a nice place to stay. It is an older facility, but they are in the process of renovaiting. It offers many fun filled family actyivities that are free!! Something new and exciting is going on everyday.

Room Tip: They are great abot early check in and free room upgrades! You just need to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

If you are skeptical about this place, like I was, go ask the front desk to see the room you will stay in. Our room had new carpet and fresh towels! We were very happy with our overall experience! If it is not up to your standards, then go to another hotel nearby....there are hundreds to choose from on Front Beach Road. But our two children loved the heated pools and beachside playground. P.S. The deli was Delicious!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
568 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
869 reviews
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#19 of 48 in Panama City Beach
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
120 reviews
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
477 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £37 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing