We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very good time and experience employees were very helpful and nice they help fix a mistake with reservation was able to get me and family into the resort had a great time and will be back as soon as we can

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene-Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are so happy we were able to resolve any issues with your reservation upon arrival! We do our best to ensure all of our guests a fun and stress free vacation from beginning to end and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves! Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Beacon for your stay in Panama City Beach. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,199 - 1,205 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Luckily we had a good room near the pool for our children to have easy access. I am very thankful that we were not located in the rooms with the indoor pool. The indoor pool area was noisy and stuffy. The walkway between the pool area and rooms was pretty nasty with cigarette butts and trash on the wet ground with people running around barefoot. We did not stay in that area for long. I think that was the worse area in the resort, although many people were in that pool, which also had the lazy river (don't waste your time in the lazy river! People were walking in the lazy river and there are not flotation rings like in most lazy rivers!) The room was clean, and we had plenty of towels, but always needed more toiletries. The proximity and easy access to the beach was wonderful. The Tiki Bar provides plenty of seating and easy access from the beach to help cool off and get out of the sun, while still being nearby and able to see the beach. We had a 2-room suite, which had a kitchenette. The fridge was a good size, but the stove was very outdated and although it was clean, it looked very used. The carpet was clean and the rooms smelled ok. The rooms are very basic and they are not like newer hotels or condos, but they were comfortable ad clean. During peak check-in check-out times, they had several staff members were located in different areas to help out. I do wish they would have had some workers going around occasionally to pick up trash that others were leaving behind. The first day by the kids' pool, there was so much trash and cigarette butts left on the ground that it was disgusting. The next morning everything was cleaned up and ready to go, but during the day, it would be great to have workers go around and sweep up trash left behind by others.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit and would return again. I would make sure to request the same room, as we liked where it was located. Although the rooms were not cheap during the peak season, they are reasonable. They offer daily activities, even free watermelon, that can keep the kids busy at certain times. The food on the resort at the snack bar was good, but across the street, the restaurant was over priced and not too good. We had breakfast there one morning and the food was not impressive. Don't order the scrambled eggs if you like them fluffy, because all we got were well-done eggs that cut up in pieces.

You can rent chairs for $25-30 a day, which at 5 o'clock they come over and remove the umbrellas and cushions. We were still enjoying the beach at that time, and we could have stayed there longer. They even woke up my husband from his nap instead of moving down the beach and coming back to him later. We paid $30 and only had them from noon to 5pm. We also rented the paddle board for $25 for an hour. The kids enjoyed doing that. They also have boats and kayaks for rent.

My sister has gone there after peak-season, and the rates are very good and they still offer lots of amenities. We are looking forward to going after peak-season.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the indoor pool---very loud. Beach front on the first floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vamosnosamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our first time visiting Florida was amazing! I would recommend staying at the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort. The staff people are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and cozy. The location is perfect. Our children are grown up so it was just me and my husband that stayed here. It is very family and pet friendly resort. We had a blast! We would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter if your room faces the water or not. The only thing I can suggest is don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we have stayed the last 3 years and love it very much. we can take our family member that is not always welcomed everywhere (dog). we liked the fact that this year you could have someone take your picture there at the resort without leaving. we had our picture taken with are beloved pet and loved the pictures. cheers to you for having so much to offer at the resort!!! we be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The place itself was good. The people that stayed there...not so much. Wasn't too keen on the 3rd floor balcony being shared among 5 rooms with only 4 sets of tables. The people next to me decided it was party time on the balcony at 4 a.m. and the people on the other side had kids that thought it was fun to persistently knock on their door for 30 mins straight. The amenities were nice and staff was very friendly and helpful. It was the other rude guests that I had issues with.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snsshume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Do not waste your money on this terrible "resort" (and I use that word loosely). I found this place on the internet and their website made this motel look and sound like it would be a nice place to stay. Their website is very misleading. Upon arriving, I noticed the exterior was very old and run down, but I was hoping the inside would be better. Unfortunately, I was wrong. The pool was very small and had very few lounge chairs for use, but I wouldn't have used them anyway. They were old white plastic chairs with dirty cushions and the pool was dirty as well. We never used the pool during our stay because of this. I spoke to the lady at the front desk and nicely told her that this was not what I expected. I asked to please get a refund on my deposit, but she said I could not, so we had to stay. The rooms were outdated and smelled musty. The carpet was dirty both in the rooms and in the hallways leading to the rooms. The elevator was broken as well so we had to carry loads of stuff up flights of stairs. One night, the police had to be called because of an altercation and people were also beating on our door during all hours of the night. We felt uncomfortable and unsafe. This was absolutely the worse place I have ever been! Don't take your family here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 2 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Sandpiper Beacon. The rooms, hallways, and floors could use more cleaning and lots of upgrades. Staff was very accommodating and very kid friendly. For the price of the rooms, I would expect more towels, bath items, and the little things like that which most "hotels" offer. I do have to complain about the parking. Sandpiper Beacon does not have enough parking to accommodate all of their guest. On returning from Pier Park Friday night, we couldn't find parking in either lots. My father is handicap and there was no parking available to him until I saw a vehicle pull out and I literally stood in the spot until my parents arrived.
But overall, the "hotel" was average but not worth almost $600 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atweedell79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
881 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#20 of 48 in Panama City Beach
513 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £37 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing