We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun in the Sun”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Homer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun in the Sun”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I went with 2 Grand kids both
girls ages 12, The girls had a blast at all the events taking
place. My husband enjoyed the hot tub most of the time.
We never left the resort with the mini golf, swimming, water slide
and Tiki Bar plenty to do once the car is park it stays parked till we leave

Wish the really young children would not be allowed in hot tub.
they come in with floats and this tub is already so full.

The free activities for the families are great we love the outdoor movie night
with free popcorn

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    538
    228
    102
    242
See reviews for
1,181
279
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and would have LOVED to have stayed longer.The Sandpiper Beacon is a great place whether you are bringing kids or just the adults.We had kids and had a WONDERFUL time!!!They have something going on all the time for the kids...free outside movies with popcorn,free putt putt(which my boys loved),hula lessons,xbox hours,family karaoke,a Polynesian Show that was great,inside lazy river,water slides,tatoos and arts and crafts...too much to list it all.Several tiki bars which have alcohol and non alcoholic drinks,beachside deli,ice cream shop...you name it.There is only 1 COMPLAINT I have....There was so much for the kids on site,that my boys did not want to leave the whole time we were there!!!!!Of course we saved money that way..lol The staff was EXCELLENT!!Very friendly and helpful!!Rooms are clean and very worth the money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyllan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On arrival, elevator was broken (lightening strike).....we were on the 7th floor...taking steps up from the 3rd floor up.... we decided to try it because I wanted an ocean view. I have ruptured discs in my spine and degenerative joint disease in my hip and was feeling it the next day. My husband and I went down to the office and asked to be moved. The desk clerk and manager did all the could to make it up to us and gave us a wonderful room, ground level... open the door and can see the beach from the patio. Also, very close to everything else they had to offer. I enjoyed laying on the hammocks beneath the beautiful palm trees, listening to the ocean waves and feeling the gentle breeze blowing. I hadn't felt so relaxed in a long time. My two sons are very stretched apart in age, one 16 the other 9... I must say there was a variety of activities and amenities that they both could enjoy. They loved beach side bingo and family karaoke.... the tiki bar area was family friendly.... we only left the resort twice in the 6 nights we were there... once to go eat and the other to go to Shell island. There was no need to leave. We had it all right there at the resort.
My husband had been told previously that the sandpiper was old and that we would not like it.... he and I both now agree that we will never stay any place else in Panama City Beach. We loved it so much we were sad to leave. Our family felt comfortable there. I felt safe allowing my children to be out on the property without me watching their every move. The employees there are all courteous and friendly and worked very hard to make our stay a pleasant one. I honestly do not believe we can wait an entire year to come back... you may be seeing us again before next summer! Thank you again for making our stay so great.... we found our new home away from home. (would move there if we could)

Room Tip: Many of the ground floor rooms are right at the beach, so if youre looking for a beach or ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelindaFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great place for a trip to the beach. We are a couple but enjoy the Sandpiper very much. If I were taking kids it would be NO 1 on my list.
Getting a little pricey, but I want to book a 1st floor room with a small pet and you pay for that.
This was our 6th trip and will be back at the Piper next year
Maid service not real good. they will sweep your room and bring towels but as far as cleaning sinks and stools no

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Love all the things you have for family. Rooms need to be a updated! Carpet was really worn but besides that loved being there!! The staff was excellent and very nice. The view to the ocean was beautiful! The ice cream parlor was the best ice cream we ever had! Love the hula dancers and fire dancer! The hotel has lots to do and enjoyed being there. It was my family's first time in Panama City beach and we loved it! We will now take our vacation there! Hoping next year to stay in one of your beach houses! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel because we look for vacation spots where our kids have a water park type environment with plenty of activities. We typically stay at Waterscape in Ft. Walton (which we love even more now). But Ft. Walton does not have a ton of shopping or off property activities. This looked like a perfect match.

Our room was dirty, the bathroom had paint peeling off, the carpet was coming up, and every piece of furniture was substantially worn. I will try to post pictures so you can judge for yourself. My wife wouldn't take her shoes off or take a shower. Because of the room conditions we left after one night.

Pools - our kids did enjoy the big yellow slide. But the pools are all very small and spread out in odd locations. If 5-6 people are in the pools they feel overcrowded. We didnt get to try the inflatable slides because they were deflated when we went to try them.

Beach - the beach was clean and the water is clear. The ocean was much more clear here than in Ft. Walton with no seaweed issues.

Property - it just looked old and run down. The hallways were very narrow and it just felt dirty. The paint on the buildings was old looking and dirty.

It seemed like they are trying to put some lipstick on a pig.

If you do decide to stay here I would avoid rooms in the indoor pool area. Its very loud. We paid extra to get a ground floor beach front room. Dont expect to have a walk out beach patio. The patio door opens up onto the main concrete walkway. No privacy sitting on your ground floor patio as you see every guest walking to and from the ocean (bad for privacy good if you want to see and be seen) Back to Waterscape for us.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2016
Craig, thanks for your feedback - and we apologize that your stay was not more satisfactory. We always want to provide guests with a safe, clean, and fun environment when they stay with us, so to see that we didn't manage to check all those boxes for you makes us sad. We constantly perform maintenance and upgrades all around the property each year, however - we are an older Resort, built in the 1950's, so we will never look as new as some of the condos built within the past 10 years. We do appreciate being compared to a place that calls themselves "the area's most luxurious beachfront condominium" and was built in 2007 though :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My brother thought of a family gather and was looking for a hotels and he found this resort due to the activities for the family and kids. So, my husband and I brought decided to join the fun and brought our kids. My brother came with his girlfriend with her 2 daughters. We all stayed for 6 days in a condo with 2 seperate bedroom, kitchette and washer and dryer. Which turn out to be very nice and a spacious place for all of us. The kids enjoyed most of the activities at the resort andhad fun in the beach. The kids enjoyed the pools and and water slide expect the indoor pool had a smells of cigarettes every though there is a small sign of no smoking. We grills shrimp skewers and steaks and after being on beach. Then, we decide playing volleyball other kids decided to joined us and had a great time. All the kids had so much fun that my 6yr old said he would like to come back next summer because he has so much fun. Before leaving the resort we took a picture in the giant chair, to played in the arcade games, and got ice cream. We enjoyed the stay at this resort. We hope to come back again.

Room Tip: The condo we were great and spacious for a large family. Bring your own coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
552 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
822 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#21 of 48 in Panama City Beach
490 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Property: The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing