We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Crowded and Rowdy!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ardmore, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too Crowded and Rowdy!”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The room was fine for the price, and the staff was very nice, but the pools were too crowded. I realize that this is the busy season, but you are packed in like sardines. The atmosphere is perfect if you are there to party, but if you want to have young kids go to Splash. We stayed at Splash for 3 nights and just thought we would try Sandpiper for 1 night. We won't be back at Sandpiper. We loved Splash!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyssaJordansMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    493
    209
    98
    240
See reviews for
1,059
266
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shiloh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We have stayed at Sandpiper for the last 7 or 8 years and have never had any problems with accomodations or booking. The staff is always so pleasant and to us it has always been the best place to stay in PCBeach! Sandpiper has so much to offer for all ages. We are always very pleased with our stay and will continue to come back. We hope it will be around for a very long time!! Sheila Carlisle

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernbelle2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We have stayed at the Sandpiper several times over the past 15+ years and were so disappointed this year to discover that the person in charge doesn't care for the guests. We stayed on the first floor (room # 139) and water dripped from the ceiling onto one of the beds and onto my moms head! She was so upset !! Imagine your family member, maybe even your child sleeping while water dripped from unknown sources from above.. toilet? bath? We did report it immediately and were told we could move to 3rd floor but my mom can't stay on higher levels due to health reasons.
We shifted folks around in our room and continued our stay. We were told to talk to the manager the next day. All staff that we did talk with were very nice especially the man who talked with us outside the entrance as we were checking out. I did ask the manager if the owner was aware of what had happened and he said that he was. The manager did offer us a free night on our next stay which was a nice jester but what if we are never able to come back? We asked to be credited for one night for this stay but was denied. I realize things happen in a place as large as this and with this many guests but ..for $219/night and for repeat guest who really thought a lot of this place this should have been handled differently. My mom will never return to the Sandpiper; this was her 2nd stay. Giving us one night credit as we asked would have made us feel that the owner did care for his guests and we would have returned for years to come if possible. The owner doesn't care if you return or not so when you read reviews and are deciding where to stay for your next family vacation then just keep driving past this place to somewhere that will care for you and your family even after they are paid!! Very disappointed guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnPulaski09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Me and my three boys and my mom stayed for the weekend and we hard a great time. It was very nice you didn't have to leave the room at all if you didn't want to. We live in town and we decided to come to the beach for the weekend just to get away and we enjoyed ourselves we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arab, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We just returned home from our first stay at the Sandpiper Beacon...but you can believe it won't be our last. There is so much to do at the resort that you really don't have to leave unless you just want to. I don't know who had more fun on the water slide, my girls or me and their daddy. The entire staff were so nice and helpful. Anytime we needed something, there was someone around to ask. We didn't arrive until 11:30 pm, so we sat on the balcony for a while...even late into the nite, there is security walking the area to make sure everything is ok. We can't wait until our next visit

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArabBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This is our 25th year staying at the Sandpiper. We are on a first name basis. The Hundley's have been more than helpful accomdating us and all of the many familes who have vacationed with us over the years. It is a family orientated environment and provides 3 pools, hot tub, lazy river, miniture golf, children's playgound and more. For adult entertainment they have a Tiki Bar that provides Karoke, Pool Tables,and not last but least Big Donna with music for all ages. Over the years we have made special friendships with people from Georgia and Tennessee and continue to meet at the Sandpiper for our annual vacation. Our Louisiana crew looks forward to our annual trip this July to the Sandpiper.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgourgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We just spent a weekend at the Sandpiper Beacon, right on the beach. All we had to do was step out our door. We had a great little patio where we sat and watched all the beach happenings. We swam in the indoor and outdoor pools and the lazy river pool. Our room had a refrigerator, stove and microwave, and a grocery was on-site. We could listen to live music pool-side with the ocean as a backdrop. Some things offered during the weekend - parasailing, hula lessons, welcome drink, live music. Great location, lots to do both at the resort and nearby. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is just down the street. We drove 30 minutes to catch a boat for a sunset cruise. St. Andrews Park is about 30 minutes away too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
467 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
232 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Property: The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing