We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Out family stayed here at the end of February and the view and access to the beach is amazing. We got a great deal for the our stay but I'm not sure I would come back. The place was a little dated and run down. The room was not as clean as I like it but for the view and value I can't complain. The heated pool was really nice and we did enjoy our stay. The staff was friendly. I'm glad I paid winter rates as I wouldn't have paid any more for the room as it was run down and very dated

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravelor617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    76
    29
    36
    70
See reviews for
122
67
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royston, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It was a great vacation and we have a wonderful time. The staff at Sugar Sands was friendly, helpful and very nice people. The room and view were awesome. My wife got the view and room she dream about for this trip. Location was great as you were out of the busy area but close enough to be there in minutes. We are already planning our trip in September 2014.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view. Also use the steps it will get you loose for the ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked a last minute stay as Sugar Sands was transitioning from Winter to Spring (end of February to beginning of March). There were a lot of seasonal repairs (paint, etc) going on, but none of the workers were intrusive. Both shifts of Front Office staff were pleasant and agreeable. No issues at all with our reservation and they were even willing to accommodate us by offering us a room with a different floorplan than the room we initially booked without having seen the property.

It reminded of us of the old mom and pop hotels in Panama City Beach before the high rises became commonplace. It's by no means a high dollar resort, but the rooms are clean, you have a kitchenette and, during the winter months, their pool is heated.

We're happy to have another option for hotel stays when we're down in the area. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: There are a pair of buildings at this property. We stayed in the East Tower which is slightly closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geetar_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuscany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we only stayed 1 night but its was a good one, good room, good beds, clean, with complete kitchen for"snowbirds", we had groundfloor room few steps from the gorgeous beach, used the heated pool with its jacuzzi twice, its was unusually cold on this 31 dec. so the heated water felt great. well equipped patio, could imagine staying here as a "snowbird" . beach is simply fantastic, endless and wide -

Room Tip: good rates - worth staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank podvalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
502 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

First let me say that's it's the best end of the beach to be on! Very quite. Not much has changed at The Sands but it still has the same great service and staff it has always had. The ocean view rooms are the best but the units across the street do overlook a pond and feeding ducks and turtles can become amusing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brewColumbus_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here Christmas week and had an excellent experience. The suite were very large and very clean. The service was top notch. Highly recommended for a great and quite vacation. The heated pool and hot tub were perfect for this time of year. The ocean view was outstanding, we will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights here in October 2013. It is an older property that is adequately maintained and simply furnished. It is in the quiet far west portion of Panama City/Bay County. All units, except those across the street, are beach front. We spent a couple of nights in the first room assigned to us. The drip of hot water in the bathroom shower was quickly becoming a stream. Management moved us to a top floor suite with a separate bedroom and full kitchen for the last couple of nights and refunded one night's stay. Apparently the plumber couldn't come until the following Monday. The pool is supposed to be heated, but it was still quite cold. We very much liked this place and the area. Good value

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janelmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
5.3 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Casa Loma Inn
Casa Loma Inn
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
3.2 mi away
Palmetto Inn & Suites
Palmetto Inn & Suites
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
7.9 mi away
Beach Tower By The Sea
Beach Tower By The Sea
#19 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Property: Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Address: 20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is a mid-rise family oriented beachfront resort located on the desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just five minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes, and great rates for family vacations! Beachfront tropical pool and hot-tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel
Sugar Sands Inn And Suites Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing