We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Tower By The Sea
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Fulton, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff was very nice, got clean towels every day. Room was very dated but clean. Beds were comfortable. Has a beautiful view with easy access to the beach, but Balcony is tiny and heat from air conditioner made it uncomfortable to sit on balcony. Room was crowded, Kitchenette was ok, large fridge, microwave, but had a tiny stove with tinfoil lined burners and couldn't tell what temp cooking on since there were no numbers on the knobs.. Bathroom was small and very little room on the counter to place toiletries, but shower was nice.. Parking is a nightmare!! Lot is way to small and no way to turn around. Not much within close range as far as restaurants,but some shopping, putt putt golf and a water park pretty close..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22TJD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    116
    35
    20
    34
See reviews for
130
114
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Room and grounds were clean. Room was nice had a kitchen was a little crowded but quite satisfactory. Pool was clean and not crowded although a little small. Would ask for higher floor next time would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btr001, Owner at Beach Tower By The Sea, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Dear July guest,

I do apologize for not responding to the review you wrote in July 2014, I would like to say "thank you " for staying with us here at The Beach Tower. The staff at The Beach Tower welcomes you back whenever your visit Bay county in the future. We always enjoy accommodating our repeat guest, Sincerely, Sharon McLaughlin, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickamauga, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have been staying here for years & will never stay anywhere else! I have a tight budget & extremely particular man who has refused many rooms because of cleanliness. We both agree year after year to come back here. With our children or just the two of us the accommodations are everything we look for in a get away. Some visits are for two nights & some for a week & we wouldn't change a thing. From the front door to the cleaning crew you wont find a more welcoming group of people. Every room has a beautiful view with easy access to the beach. I cannot rave enough about this wonderful American owned & operated place to stay! LOVE YOU BEACH TOWER!!

Room Tip: Excellent view from every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabatha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btr001, Owner at Beach Tower By The Sea, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Loyal Guest of BTR,

I would like to thank you for the recent review you gave The Beach Tower regarding your most recent stay. We appreciate your loyalty as a repeat guest and hope to continue to fulfill your high standards regarding cleanliness and friendly staff. Our employees do like their jobs and try to express this through friendly customer service. Without guest like yourselves, they realize they would not have a job. Thank you for your continued patronage and we hope to see you soon. Respectfully yours, Sharon McLaughlin, Owner, Craig, Carrie, JR, Jamie, Housekkeepinjg and Maintenance staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I really hate leaving a bad review because the view from the rooms is fantastic. However, that can be said of many other beachfront hotels in this area. In addition to poor room conditions, most of the customer service here is terrible! We arrived on a Sunday evening, and were given room 308. We asked if they had another room higher up (which was requested in our reservation). The clerk (the younger guy) was friendly enough but said he could not approve it, it would have to be addressed in the morning with the manager.
We checked into our room (a double queen with kitchenette) and found the room was very dated, with rust on the refrigerator, a tiny stove with tinfoil lined burners and a tension rod with flimsy curtain to serve as a "closet" door. There is barely enough room to get by the desk in the first room and the edge of the bed. There is a single chair in the room which has to be moved to right by the entrance door in order to use the desk otherwise the path is blocked. There is very little room on the bathroom counter in which to place toiletries and not even a lid on the toilet.
As we semi-unpacked, hoping to move to a different room the next day, we found the TV in the beach side bedroom area was completely snowy and the cable was loose in the wall. Being a modern family, everyone searched for an electrical receptacle to charge their device. The plugs kept falling out. Nice maintenance! Nothing a propped up chip bag can't handle.
The beds were not very comfortable, with those yucky scratchy polyester bedspreads. A single pillow per sleeper was provided.
The next day, we went down to speak with the manager and asked for a different room. He told my husband to come back later after the check outs. We went to a late breakfast and on the way back in we checked back in with the manager, and he told us he couldn't move us. There was vacancy, and he refused to move us. Basically, sorry, you paid up front (I will never stay at a place that does this again! I got burned in Marathon last summer with the same type of deal). So, no refund, no moving you, you just have to deal with it. I can never recommend this place. So I will repeat, the view is great, but if you want a decent room with decent customer service and value your $, stay elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BKS_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btr001, Owner at Beach Tower By The Sea, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Modern Family,

I apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced at the Beach Tower in June. We never guarantee room locations or room numbers when a reservation is booked. We try to honor request of such when a reservation is booked, but cannot guarantee it. The reason we could not move you was due to the fact that all our kitchen units were booked for the time period you were there. Our kitchen units are the most popular. The manager tried to move you after reviewing the arrivals we had coming in the day you wanted to move, but could not fit you in a kitchen unit because the number of days you were staying were shorter than those of the arrivals for the same style room. I agree 100% with you that the front room is very small. We have tried to limit the furnishings in that room to get more floor space, but we upgraded our bed size from full to queen 2 years ago, this taking up the 6 or 8 inches that would normally be between a night stand/chair and bed. Regarding the "comforters", those are simply cotton/poly blend comforters that are used in all our rooms, I make no apology for them. The rusted front on the refrigerator, well that is being replaced this week. Being directly on the water with salt air, appliances, furnishings, etc do not escape the rust. This refrigerator should have been replaced before now. Again, i do apologize. The outlets, i don't have an excuse or reason for them not holding your plugs in tact. In 2012 we did a renovation on the electrical in the rooms. The plugs are standard, universal plugs. The aluminum liners under the stove elements are used in place of aluminum foil, for easy cleaning between checkouts.I am so sorry that your stay was not one of being problem free. I do appreciate you giving us a high rating on the view, which is one of the main reasons people stay on the beach side when traveling to the emerald coast. Regarding our policy paying in full at check-in and no refunds for early check-outs. I have been a motel owner/operator since 1995 in Panama City Beach. This has always been the policy at both properties i owned as well as every other motel/hotel and condo on PCB, We are all considered vacation resort destinations and have to stick to a tight policy regarding early check-outs and payment in full as well as minimum night stays during our peak seasons. In the future i recommend when traveling to a vacation destination you specifically ask policy regarding refunds, payment in full at check-in as well as guaranteed room numbers and location, this would avoid another disappointed trip for your family, Respectfully yours, Sharon McLaughlin, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

They have upgraded all the rooms since our last stay and they are SO SO much better!!!! We loved our stay!!! J.R. and Carrie at the front desk are SO SO nice and helpful. They did everything to make our stay with them GREAT!! Our room was great the people at the front desk (JR & Carrie) were great. our trip was wonderful love this place!!!

Room Tip: 5 floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatlinburgky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btr001, Owner at Beach Tower By The Sea, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Gatlinburg Return guest,

Thank you for the very complimentary review. We have indeed completed a renovation nearly 2 years ago. Our first time guest as well as repeat guest seem to approve. Carrie and JR do go out of their way to help our guests in any way possible. Thank you for returning for a summer visit with us here at The Beach Tower. I apologize for the rude guest you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you again real soon, Regards, Sharon McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The motel itself is very clean & accommodating. Everything was just as described on the motel website. Beach access was perfect! The only thing I did not like was some of the guest were rude & when reported to the front desk nothing was done to resolve the issues...but they were handled none the less. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btr001, Owner at Beach Tower By The Sea, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear "very nice"

Thank you for the recent review about The Beach Tower Resort Motel. We appreciate the time our recent guest take to go on-line and post a review after their stay. I apologize for the rude guest, but we really can't control them. If people would just come to the beach with the attitude that "any day at the beach is a good day", maybe they wouldn't be so rude while here. I hope you caught a great beach attitude while here, thank you for staying with us. Hopefully you will return and find that the beach attitude could be contagious, lol, Respectfully yours, Sharon McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My trip to Florida from Tennessee and stay was wonderful and would stay in Beach Tower Motel again. JR was a welcoming clerk who sold me on my selection to stay at a great location right on the beach. The room was clean and all the aminities were right there to enjoy to include a shower from the beach before entry back into the hotel for a quick clean up. The pool was great as well. The southern charm and welcomeing spirit will be remembered. It is all about the desk service and follow through. The room was just great with the large bathroom. Excuding the noisey "senior trip group" I would recommend this establishment( I am not sure how I would have handled this situation). I felt that I knew the family that owned the place.They were my kind of people!

Room Tip: ask about if there are large groups of youth being there if sleep is important...you will love the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btr001, Owner at Beach Tower By The Sea, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear "Nice Stay",

Thank you for choosing The Beach Tower Resort Motel for your recent trip to Panama City Beach. I appreciate the comments you made regarding our friendly staff and southern charm. Unfortunately for our families who get to come to PCB right when schools let out for the summer, they do have to risk staying at a property where "Seniors" from various high schools come to celebrate graduating from high school. This was the situation when you were here. I like the suggestion you wrote in your review for future guests, "inquire about groups" being booked during the same time you are planning your trip. We normally do not book this type of group after the first couple of weeks in June. The remaining part of the summer season consist of couples and families. We certainly hope that you will plan to stay with us again very soon. Respectfully yours, Sharon McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
813 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
110 reviews
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachbreak By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
448 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
708 reviews
Beachcomber By The Sea
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Tower By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Tower By The Sea

Property: Beach Tower By The Sea
Address: 12001 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3403
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Tower By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beach Tower By The Sea, family owned and operated. We are here to ensure that your stay with us is your time to relax, unwind, and enjoy our beautiful beaches. Our gulf front location is conveniently located across from Shipwreck Island and is within walking distance of restaurants, popular night spots, shopping, local attractions, and the Bay County Pier. Our beautifully appointed rooms and suites feature private balconies, facing the Gulf of Mexico, and overlooking our pool which is heated seasonally. Our friendly staff takes pride in providing guests with clean, comfortable rooms and outstanding customer service. We offer several floor plans to meet your needs, most featuring full kitchens. Other amenities include:* Free in-room Wi-Fi * Coin Operated Guest Laundry * Beach Bar * Each room comes equipped with hair dryers, irons & ironing boards * Beachside grilling deck * Cabana covered poolside patio with 50" flatscreen TV & music system * Covered parking and security cameras * Full Beach service - Parasailing, Jet Ski, Umbrella/Chairs * Volley Ball court * 24 hr Coffee in Lobby *WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS. Monthly rates available from October through February. Free local calls, no parking fees. THE BEACH TOWER IS A NON-SMOKING PROPERTY EXCEPT IN DESIGNATED AREAS. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beach Tower By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Tower Hotel Panama City Beach
Beach Hotel Panama City
Beach Motel Panama City
Beach Tower By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing