We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

this place has everything for families, from watermelon everyday to a movie night on the deck. Staff is wonderful and amenities are great. The scenery is great and you have the choice of beach or pool, or relax in the hot tub. Even have a cool beverage from the tiki bar. shopping is just a block away at pier park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Camelrider2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    78
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
156
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed. This place was listed as #4 of 50 some hotels. Yes, they said it was dated, we were prepared for that.
The driftwood was dated but reasonably clean. Nevertheless, it had other problems. It had an air conditioner that kept us awake with its loud clanking.
The one bedroom plan is poorly designed for temperature comfort. When we made the living /kitchen area comfortable the bedroom was hot. When the bedroom was cool enough the living area was freezing.
The place did not even provide tissues.
The parking was not ideal and there isn't an elevator. Carrying everything up a flight of stairs was difficult and they Didn't offer any help.
Warning! If you have an emergency and must leave early after a few days stay, you won't receive any refund for unused days.
Location is good for pier and the Pier Park. As for us, we won't go back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank vjmsuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Due to the Driftwood Lodge's HIGH ranking on TripAdvisor, our family chose to stay at this #3 ranked recipient of the 2014 Certificate of Excellence.

Thorough research and CAUTION advised before booking here. We STRONGLY advise reading & taking heed to the lower scored and older TripAdvisor reviews. We now know they are still applicable even though overlooked due to current high ranking.

1. Free Parking =
1) A small parking lot located on the bumper to bumper, busy, street (WITHOUT a crosswalk) across from the hotel. The lot is next to a business called "Snappy Turtle" and a Helicopter landing pad (giving frequent tours).
AND/OR
2) A parking garage with tiny spaces by today's vehicle size standards. (Tight fit for our full-size four door car. Felt bad for the families we witnessed squeezing their SUV's into the spaces just to leave the spaces because they couldn't open their doors.) Witnessed several dinged doors.

2. Family/Kid Friendly = (Ultimately, we each weigh the feedback and research then decide whether it's a healthy environment for our families or not. Some may be okay with the current conditions while others may find it unacceptable.)
1) Alcohol specials for adults.
2) Children frequently unsupervised (right next to unenforced signs stating children must be accompanied by an adult).
3) Daily summer activities. Some cost to participate & some are complimentary e.g. watermelon seed spitting contest. Sounds fun. However, the staff demonstrated lack of training handling kids left in their care. The outside movie viewing was nice. Make sure to physically claim good seats for your family two hours in advance by laying towels over the chairs you'd like and hope no one moves them. Very crowded and seats fill up fast.
4) Great place for folks who enjoy LOUD VEHICLES CRUISING, HONKING, and people SHOUTING NON-G Rated verbiage in front of the hotel from 4:30 pm until 2:00 am DAILY. Street side is an absolute "Spring Break" ATMOSPHERE when it is NOT "Spring Break". Ocean side is very nice away from the hotel.
5) NOT an easy walking distance to Pier Park with young children.

3. HEALTH =
1) NOT recommended if you suffer from any MOLD, MILDEW, RUST, SMOKE or DUST allergies.
2) Balcony is in need of repair. Old boards painted over. And rust found on almost every metal fixture. Balconies are NOT PRIVATE. There is potential for more private dividers. Even lattice would be better than nothing. Hopefully you're comfortable sharing the view with your neighbors and their habits.
3) Kitchen had gnats when we arrived. Grime on inside of cabinets.
4) Non-Smoking room had smoke residue in and on everything.
5) First night, noticed our room air conditioner was loud (airplane propeller loud). They were quick to replace. Two male employees came in carrying a rusted, banged up, USED air conditioner and put it in. This happened 3 more times! They were always quick to replace, however, should a family endure 4 air conditioner changes resulting in loss of sleep, time, comfort, and cool air in a 7 day visit? In addition to staff, being strangers, coming in to replace each time? We witnessed housekeepers time after time, room after room, leaving the HOTEL DOORS OPEN while they cleaned the rooms for 20 plus minutes. It just made those old used air conditioners work/clang even harder. During our stay, we witnessed several others put out by their poor air conditioners, also.
6) No elevator for those who have trouble going up and down stairs with or without suitcases/personal items.
7) Careful in the bathroom. It's tiny. Wall to wall approx. 4ft x 5ft. Doesn't accommodate much more than a few towels, wash clothes, bar soap and 3 one ounce, rip open packages of shampoo and conditioner (enough for one person a day). No cabinet space for personal items.

I would give a negative (-) ranking if it was an option. It's disappointing. Restored older places can be such a great experience. They can be booming with excellent customer service for new and/or returning customers. And they can exhibit genuine care by showing each customer concern for their experience. As well as, genuine concern for the building and its surroundings. Also, they can show concern for their facility by having adequate life-cycling processes in place to create a more comfortable environment for their customers. If they have that for your stay..congrats! They were not evident on our week long stay.

I hope they improve or are in the process of improving management/leadership skills and providing management & front desk training in customer service for future customers.

Room Tip: Don't stay. However, if you must...don't stay over a day or two, especially if you have alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsport, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at The Driftwood Lodge every July for a week for 19 (soon to be 20) years. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate any concerns you may have. The owners are there every day also. Once a week they have a big outdoor screen for everyone to watch a movie. The kids and adults really enjoy this! They provide popcorn and even homemade peanut butter fudge!
We always stay in a cabana room which has two full size beds. They have recently upgraded the furniture in the rooms and got flat screen tv's. Has a small kitchenette with microwave and fridge. There is also a toaster,coffee maker and utensils and dishes for you to use. Charcoal grills are also available for use. The rooms are super clean. Nothing fancy but definitely a wonderful place to make beautiful memories. They have free watermelon every day for their guests and daily activities for the kids. I HIGHLY recommend The Driftwood Lodge for your next family vacation! The Gillmore family run an A-1 resort.

Room Tip: Love the cabana rooms. But if you need a full kitchen the cabanas will not be for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farmfam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for trusting us with your family’s vacation. We appreciate your kind expressions of appreciation, and are especially grateful for your continued patronage over the years.. Our family considers it a privilege to share the beautiful place where we work and live with our guests.

We will be delighted to welcome you back when your travels bring you this way again.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortons Gap, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our first stay at The Driftwood Lodge. 3 years ago we stayed next door at The Osprey, owned by the same family! The rooms were clean, service was fantastic, and nothing can beat the friendliness of the staff on these properties!! I love the fact that the Driftwood is only two stories high; it means I am really ON the beach and not IN the sky!! LOL!
Movie night on the pool deck was THE COOLEST THING EVER!! The establishment set up a large projector screen for a movie showing at dark! It was so awesome to be outside sitting on our second story balcony, watching a movie, and the moonlight bouncing off of the ocean waves!! LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cjomott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for trusting us again with your family’s vacation. I was delighted to read your review, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our resort. I'm flattered that you think it's worthy of your time to write a review!

It made me happy to know you feel at home with us. Our family and team members consider it a privilege to share the beautiful place where we work and live with our guests. We would be thrilled to welcome you back when your travels bring you this way again.

Hospitably yours,
The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our great friends told us about The Osprey, so we decided to go for a week just the two of us. The couple gave us great reviews,but seeing is believing. I loved the room, hearing the oceans waves at night on the balcony, and watching the moon reflect off the water was priceless.

The service was second to none. The room attendant was great! The first night our fridge wasn't cooling as expected and one call to the office, and they brought another new one right up. The maintenance man put everything in our fridge just like we had it down to the water in the bottom. There was a small item on top of our fridge and he put it on the new one. ( WE WERE SHOCKED HE EVEN NOTICED IT)

We lived for a week without a clock and it was wonderful! We've made our reservations already for next year. We met many nice couples while we were there, and they are all return customers. The Osprey and Driftwood are both very family friendly! I highly recommend the properties.

Dining and shopping are right in walking distance.

The tiki bar could've been better. The lady wasn't really excited about her job.

The grill and picnic tables were perfect to have a spread of food and everyone just ate and had a great visit together.

We booked our trip for next year when we left!


prepare to be amazed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Although we had to make reservations & pay for three nights, when we could only stay for two, to be able to reserve a room, we enjoyed our stay. The location is good, the room was comfortable, and the view from our deck was beautiful. The hotel guests were quiet; however, the motorcycles on the street made much unnecessary noise. We would stay here again, even though we felt that they could have reimbursed us for one night since there were vacancies and we didn't request maid service during our stay.

Room Tip: We liked the 2nd floor, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KYseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
545 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
813 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
314 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
110 reviews
Osprey on the Gulf
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing