We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Charming Beachfront Bargain”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs National Park
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beyond Charming Beachfront Bargain”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We panicked when our first "lodging/translation = nightmare did not work out! Holiday weekend and not familiar w/the area...eeek! But then we stumbled into this beachfront jewel! Although not new it was kept immaculate w/lovely refurbished appointments, comfy beds, kitchenette, new tv w/cable. Wow! The staff were precious! Especially Ms. Suzie who listened to our sad tale and made sure we would be comfortable... and her charming young man assistant, too! They even had complimentary popcorn and home made fudge AND an outdoor movie for the kids to watch from the pool! It was like a fairytale! LOVE this place. Thank you for preserving and making fantastic Florida memories. If you want a delightful family place this is IT!

Room Tip: beachfront is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    78
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
155
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is retro and has old Florida charm and I loved it! We were given great service and loved how close it is to Pier Park and Miracle Strip Amusement Park. We parked the car when we got there and never got in it again until it was time to drive home... we walked everywhere! The staff always had a smile on their face and it had a very family friendly atmosphere. No, its not a brand new place, but it was perfect for us and we had a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JSMFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place has something for everyone. From young couples to retirees, you feel at home and at peace. There can be so many kids you can't count but there is never a problem. Kids have loads to do. Every afternoon there are competitions for them and the staff makes them feel like they are their best friend. Although it always feels like family there you always do your own thing. It looks like a small mom and pops place but is ran like a place where one might stay to show how many bucks you can flash. It is very clean, attentive and appointed. Smaller cabanas to a separate 2 BR cottage are there to choose from. This trip there was a family affair. My husband and I stayed in a 2 bed room with a small kitchenette connected to our daughter's family room with full kitchen, 2 beds and a pull out. $10 bought us a crib for the baby. The best part for my husband and I was if you opened the street side door, your car was right there along with the all too busy road and noise. However, exit the beach side and it was all tranquility. Not just because the gulf was steps away and a beautiful view, but the noise and bustle surprisingly don't filter over to that side. We used to go there every yr but it had been 10yrs since our last visit. Nothing had changed and we liked that!!

Room Tip: The online brochure shows exactly the lay out of each room. Choose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImYounique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My sister and I are in our 60's. We used to visit the Driftwood when we were kids. Several years ago we rediscovered it and visit for a week every summer. We love the family feel of it and the fact that the Gilmore family and staff give such attention to their guests. We always get a cabana room so we can be close to the beach. We enjoy the daily watermelon cutting at 1:00 and the seed spitting contests that follow (complete with ribbons for the winners.) We love being welcomed by familiar faces- Suzanne and Ramil at the front desk and Lenny who makes fudge for Movie Night. The Driftwood is conveniently located within walking distance of the City Pier and the shopping, restaurants and entertainment of Pier Park. You can't beat the sunsets viewed from the Driftwood's sun deck.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to find a vacancy at this hotel during a busy weekend. The room was clean, the staff was nice, and the location was excellent. It is not an upscale place but it's very reminiscent of the old PCB before the condos took over. It was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spreadpeacenothate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I managed to get this hotel for 90.00 a night. I chose the cabana room and the location is perfect. Ground level walk out to the beach. The rooms are not super clean as everyone is stating. The are just ok. The beds are not comfortable and the floor is sticky. The staff is very friendly and they let us check in 2 hours early. Walking distance to pier shopping. Walking distance to pier fishing.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Asilhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I are doing a trip around Alaska. On the train from Denali to Anchorage I had to find a place for us to stay in Homer.

After calling around what felt like every accommodation place in Homer I found driftwood. Our luck couldn't have been better.

Excellent facilities, clean rooms and linen, friendly staff and conveniently located. Across the street there is a cafe and a steakhouse. Down the road there is a Safeway for those wanting to self cater.

The views are also stunning.

Really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank weekendtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
5.9 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
301 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#19 of 48 in Panama City Beach
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Osprey on the Gulf
Osprey on the Gulf
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing