We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place To Stay On The Beach”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Perfect Place To Stay On The Beach”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We were delighted with our 3-night stay at the Driftwood. The staff were very easygoing and friendly, the room was just perfect with kitchen and balcony, and the beach was right there. Compared to the surrounding giant condo complexes, the Driftwood is what a beach hotel should be.

Our only regret is that there was not a decent Wi-Fi signal in the room. The signal was good out on the balcony though.

The Driftwood also has solved the problem of noisy teenagers and college kids - no adult, or group of adults, under 25 is allowed without a large deposit.

All this, and the price was fantastic - less than $100 per night. I don't need to look for another place the next time I go to Panama City - this is it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllocInitAutoRelease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    78
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
154
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

May of 2011 will be our 4th year (trip) to the Driftwood with our daughters (age 13 &10) We first stayed here late June of 2008 and haven't went anywhere else since. It is a smaller and older property (vs the high rise condos) but it's very clean, grounds are well kept, pool is always clean and clear. The rooms are a nice size. We first stayed in the upstairs efficiency, but have moved to the cabana rooms. There's nothing like opening your room door and having the beach just feet away. The beds are comfortable and the AC always works very well. You get to share the pool and hot tube of their sister property, Osprey, that is next door. Under the Osprey is a little tiki bar named Darrells. OH DARRELLS!!! He makes some very mean drinks.
Back to the Driftwood. During the summers months only, Watermelon time is at 1:00pm 7 days a week. The watermelon is cool and so refreshing. All the kids then get together to play vairous games like, seed spitting for distance, seed spitting for points, penny toss in the pool, tug of war on the beach and so many more. Ribbons are awarded to the winners. It's a very short walking distance to the Pier Park Mall (Simon mgd prop), which has many shops and great resturants like: Margaritaville, Regge J's, Back Porch, and many others. We always leave the Driftwood with many new friends. I would recommend this motel to anyone who is visiting PCB. We will always return and can't wait for out May/June trip in 2011. I JUST CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT DIFTWOOD

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraig014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We love the Driftwood. We started coming there in l984..and we came most every year
for 14 yrs. The kids grew up and we stayed busy...but we now have returned to the
Driftwood...the best place on the beach. We came this year with our son and his wife
and son and cousins. As usual,,,we had a ball...very friendly place...you feel right at
home.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Let me start off by saying, I love the Driftwood. My husband, my sister, a girlfriend and I stayed at the Driftwood the week of Labor Day. This is our favorite time. The beach doesn't have as many people on it. Once again the Driftwood did not disappoint. From checking in to the time we checked out our stay was fantastic. We arrived on Saturday, Sept. 4 in the afternoon. Our room was all ready for us. We switched rooms with our next door neighbors (who have been our neighbors for years) and got the bigger poolside king efficiency. When we walked in the room we realized that the air conditioner was not working properly. I went to the front office and advised them of this. Within 3 minutes two men were knocking on our door and brought in a brand new air conditioner. What service. The rooms were cleaned everyday and always with someone who had a very nice smile and pleasant personality. We stayed out on the beach most of the week, but when we came back to the pool there was always somewhere to sit and relax. On Wednesday there was even a cookout. I can't say enough about the Gilmore family. They know how to treat you and make you feel special. I'll be back next year. So get my room ready.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We had the best time at the Driftwood this year! The staff is so accomodating and friendly. The rooms comfortable, clean, and spacious. The new mattresses were a plus. Our A/C worked like a charm! All the extra's like the watermelon, coffee, grandparents's day breakfast are super. Can't say enough positive things about the Driftwood. We've been going to the Driftwood for 8+ years and going to PCB for 25 years! Nothing will stop us as long as it still stands as one of the few mom & pop motels left on the beach!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafolet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ball Ground, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We had a great stay. Been coming down a couple years now and staying here. The place is great for families. And fishing husbands,he just walks to the city pier.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straighthook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have come to Driftwood Lodge for years and it always serves our purpose of total relaxation. The outside shelter with rocking chairs and a beautiful view are the reason we come back year after year. Very few things are better than a cup of coffee (provided by the office) and a good book under the shelter at Driftwood Lodge.
The rooms are comfortable (good beds!) even though a little dated. We have also brought our grandchildren and they love the daily games and of course, the watermelon. The only negative would be the parking, but that is beyond their control so we just deal with it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxieGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#17 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Osprey on the Gulf
Osprey on the Gulf
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing