We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 1st rate clean nostalgic facility that makes You feel very confortable!”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A 1st rate clean nostalgic facility that makes You feel very confortable!”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

A very clean, well maintained facility with a " family" flavor. The staff was excellent, keeping the rooms and community area spotless with minimum intrusion on the Guests and there use of the facilities. The rooms were very nice with unexpected amenities such as dishes, toaster along with microwave and ref. The beach area was excellent as We had a front row room so We had the feeling of living on the beach. Overall the finest stay I have had in Florida. THANKS!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruiser48433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    78
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
154
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

great place to stay for the money not just a number treated like family clean rooms great staff and wonderful views i woul return

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, AB, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2010

The location of the Driftwood Inn is great, being right on the beach and just a comfortable walk (yet sufficiently removed from the noise) to Pier Park and the Pier itself for those who like the fishing or just checking out the water. The staff and many of the repeat clientele make this a very friendly/fun place to stay. Although it is an older style motel, the amenities are good, and the place is clean. The view from our balcony on the second floor was great (I have the sunset photos to prove it).

A minor comment - improved Wifi signal would be a nice upgrade.

If vacationing on a bit of a budget, yet wanting to enjoy a great beach location, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We love the Driftwood so much that as soon as we find out when fall break will be for the next year we make our reservations immediately. The smaller mom & pop hotels are what we like best and sadly there are very few left at PCB. The staff are very friendly and helpful if you need assistance with anything. On one occasion the people outside on the deck were loud while we were trying to sleep. We reported it and it was taken care of right away. That is the only problem we have ever had in all the years we have been going. The Cabana rooms are great, just steps away from the beach. The location is the best, walking distance to Pier Park. We enjoy the beach sunrise to sunset and this is the place to be. Love the Driftwood, see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Our first visit to the Driftwood was after a long road trip and we were looking forward to some R and R, At first glance the lodge is an old and somewhat tired looking building but on being shown our room was totally adequate, clean, and made a great change from the 'clinical' rooms we had been staying in such as Crowne Plazas and holiday Inns.

Yes the towels are thin and the bathrooms small but the view from our Cabana was amazing and more importantly so were our fellow guests who welcomed us as if we were family, If you make the effort to mix with the other very frequent guests it is an absolutely delightful place to be !
The owner cooks for all the guests every wednesday ( a cook out ) and we took dessert along with the other guests.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

I would rate this number 1 in our opinion !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodley188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We decided to stay at the Driftwood Lodge because it got such high ratings on Trip Advisor. We were disappointed when we arrived. This is an average older hotel which is maintained pretty well but does show its age. We should have been alerted when all the literature stressed No Refunds. The rooms are nice size although the bath area is quite small. The towels are small and thin. There no beach towels although it is a beach hotel. Wi Fi is only available in an open area near the patio and the signal is very weak. There is no elevator so the second floor is a walk up. The good points about this hotel are. the location, right on the beach and 1/4 mile from the new Pier Walk. The guests are very friendly and seem to know each other and the price is reasonable. The rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ramblinwreck59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birningham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We had decided to take an unplanned trip to PCB over the weekend and I looked on Tripadvisor and found this place. Seeing the #1 ranking, I thought the rates would be too high and was surprised at price. The pics looked good so we tried it.

We arrived late at night or early in the morning, depending on how you look at it, so the desk clerk gave us half off for the night. The Drift Inn office was closed and a sign directed you next door to the Osprey, which are owned by the same people. I requested one of the Cabana rooms, located on the beach level and he gave us one located on the end by the beach entrance. The room was a good size and contained a mini-fridge, microwave, and a wet bar. The hotel is older so the bathroom was a little small. The beds were a little firm but were comfortable. The room was clean. No inroom coffee but it is available behind the office every morning. There is a full sized coffee pot in the room for the guest who bring their own coffee.

The grounds were very well kept and many people were cleaning and grooming every morning. Weber grills are scattered throughout the grounds and there is a large sun deck available. They do need to add inroom internet but most hotels do.

This is really a neat place to stay and kinda brings back memories of how PCB used to be. We will keep this place #1 on our list also.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#17 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Osprey on the Gulf
Osprey on the Gulf
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing