We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A BEACH”
Review of Sterling Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sterling Reef
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Sterling Reef was a stop during a two week vacation, and I think it was one of the best locations during our trip. The beach was unbelievable. We stayed in unit 304 and it fit all our needs. The desk is only open until five, however, it was very easy to access our keys and enter our condo. The unit was clean and well equipped.
Things to consider -
Chairs and umbrellas are NOT part of the condo, they are private and pricey to rent. If you have room bring your own, or even buy if you are staying for a week. It would be a LOT cheaper then renting.
We were in a third floor condo, however, this is really the sixth floor as there are three garage levels below the first floor units. So renting a first floor unit would probably have been our choice had we known this.
We loved our visit and would return without any second toughts

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinIslanddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Sterling Reef
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach! Nice balcony...gorgeous view! Always rent directly from owners! I always use vrbo! Better prices and usually nicer furnishings! #1406 is great! Clean, well appointed, spacious...2 full bedrooms, 2 full baths...washer/dryer...full kitchen...amazing view! Kelly was awesome to work with!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This condo is independently owned, so it is not managed by Sterling Resorts. And after reading some of the reviews on this property, I think that might be a good thing. Our unit was ready early when we arrived, which was a nice surprise. The condo was very clean and decorated nicely. We had plenty of towels, etc. The kitchen had everything you'd need to cook-in. The balcony was very large and had nice patio furniture on it. It had nice, comfy furniture in the unit, as well as a nice pull out sofa bed. There are only 8 elevators servicing 18 floors, so they weren't the fastest. They were cooled so that was a nice plus. The only downside I found about this property was that there was no hot tub! And the on-site gym was closed due to water damage. We got a GREAT deal on the condo, so we felt like we got our money's worth. We would definitely stay at this condo again using the same person we rented it from on vrbo.com.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We really loved our Condo! Looks just like the pictures JG's has posted!!! Booking with John & Sierra was great, very nice husband/wife team! They made the process really easy and had pretty good rates!!! The Elevators are a little slow, but they worked all but 1 time going down! The only issue we had was the tenants above us in 1804 (shooting fireworks from their balcony, smoking cigars, screaming, banging on the railing, moving chairs all night long!). We spoke with the Property Manager & he had already removed them from the property because of complaints that came in earlier than ours! He was an extremely nice guy too!

As for the weather and water in July... Most days were good. The water was blue & little green a few days, but clear!. Patchy storms, they didn't last too long! That's Mother Nature

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELB52980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We scheduled a last minute PCB vacation for July and had trouble finding budget friendly places on the beach large enough for our group and available for a Sun-Sun rental (most only allow Sat.-Sat., which we couldn't do). We booked our room through BookIt.com. Our reservation told us our check-in was 4 PM. So, we scheduled our drive from the Atl area accordingly, so we weren't waiting around a long time with kids under 9. We arrived around 3:30 PM and were told that our room wasn't available yet, but would be before 5 PM. So we walked around the property waiting. It seemed the small cleaning staff was taxed and running around trying to finish every thing. We reserved a 2 bdroom with king & queen, and sleeper sofa...sleeps 6. We arrived to find a king and queen with a twin bunk on top. This wouldn't work because of the 4 adults in our group...simply couldn't comfortably fit in a bunk bed!! We asked for a room change and after originally telling me they were booked solid, the front desk found another room like our booking. The 2nd room was much more updated and cleaner. The living room carpet was disgusting...gray carpet so dirty, you could see the black dirt/stains. Later that evening we discovered no sheets for the sofa bed and only 2 towels in the whole condo. A call down to the desk revealed that there was no one there....closes at 5 along with housekeeping. They provided a number for emergencies only. The next morning they quickly brought up more towels, sheets, etc. with no problems.
The parking situation is a little difficult for larger SUV's or trucks (which we were in) because of the parking deck. But most PCB high rise places have parking decks....so either be comfortable parking your vehicle in tight spaces or bring something smaller. We always found spaces available...sometimes tighter than others.....but always found one no matter the time of day/night.
There are only 2 elevators and they are slow...especially on check-in/check-out days. But during the week, we never really had a problem snagging one for the pool or beach. The luggage carts are VERY scarce....luckily my father brought one of those fold up wagons which helped our unpacking/packing dramatically.
I've seen a few comments questioning security....I can't say that we ever felt unsafe there. There was an incident where a few rowdy college kids decided to throw some things in the pool one night which kept the pool closed for extended cleaning the next morning for a few hours, but the staff handled it professionally and had those guests leave.
Whether you stay here or other places, I STRONGLY suggest you stay at a place with a pool. First time visitors to PCB don't realize that the gulf can be quiet strong and on days with double red flags, you CANNOT swim in the ocean because of rip currents. This is especially true with small children. The first 4 days there were all double red flag days and our small kids were pretty intimidated by the strong waves. Luckily, Sterling Reef had a great, clean pool and they loved it.
The location of the hotel was great. The walk to the beach wasn't bad at all...the view was great from our room! A large Alvin's Island store across the street provided us a cheap place to take the kids on one of the days when it rained ALL DAY. The store is huge and have tons to look at...so it amused the kids for a little while.
Overall, this place could use some updates. Carpets should be replaced with tile all around and the cleaning staff needs to be increased. The small staff seemed to skip over some things because they were just trying to get the rooms ready. 24 hour front desk staff should be a must as well. You also need to be very aware of what you are reserving...make sure you confirm upon check-in/reservation. Our Bookit reservation had a spot for "special requests". I put "gulf front" in ours.....but all of these units are gulf view. In hind sight, make sure you write in "No bunk-beds" or vice versa if need be. If you're traveling with a group of 4 adults, you won't want to end up with bunk beds in one room!
For the money in mid July, with our reservation requirements (Sun.-Sun.) I'd do it again. If you're more flexible with your dates and can reserve a little more in advance...I'd recommend trying somewhere else.

Room Tip: All of these balconies face the gulf and look down on the pool. The higher the room, the longer trip...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebsimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I agree with mandi5380, do not spend your hard earn money here, there are many other places that are better and we have stayed at some of them. We will never stay at Sterling Reef again. Floors were not vacuum, room had not been cleaned, no clean towels, dirty towels in washer, no toilet paper, sheets for sofa bed, old cooking utensils, old coffee mugs and glasses none matched. one bed had bloody sheets on the bed. After we complained they came the next day and cleaned and vacuum the condo. They also refund a portion of our money but it was not equal to one night for a 3bd room. I will not ever stay at Sterling reef again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank connie610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our unit was excellent (203). Kitchen was fully stocked. Beds & bathrooms very roomy and nicely furnished. Easy check in/check out. We had an issue with our A/C one evening that was resolved the next morning. Sterling Resorts compensated my family for the inconvenience with no problem. Great location. The only downside to our stay was the pool is rather small. The beach/weather was great so we stayed on the beach. Definetely needs a larger pool for the not so good beach days.
Would absolutely stay at Sterling Reef again.

Room Tip: Try to book a unit on a lower floor as elevators can be slow at times.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktownsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Panama Beach Resort
Grand Panama Beach Resort
#28 of 83 in Panama City Beach
299 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sterling Beach
Sterling Beach
#42 of 83 in Panama City Beach
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Terrace Motel
Holiday Terrace Motel
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Resort Condominiums
Boardwalk Beach Resort Condomini...
#24 of 83 in Panama City Beach
299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Majestic Beach Towers
Majestic Beach Towers
#12 of 83 in Panama City Beach
673 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Palms
Twin Palms
#44 of 83 in Panama City Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Reef

Address: 12011 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3443
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £140 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sterling Reef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Reef is a high-rise beachfront condominium located next to Shipwreck Island and near other family activities and popular restaurants. Sterling Reef offers 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a beachside pool, grill area, and fitness center. Amenities include garage parking, meeting/reception facilities, and free high-speed Internet access. Sterling Resorts guests enjoy unlimited free DVD rentals and access to the nearby Bay Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterling Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Reef Hotel Panama City Beach
Sterling Reef Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing