We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I've ever stayed at in PCB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Splash Resort Condominiums Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've stayed at several different resorts in Panama City Beach and this is the first time that I had a bad experience with a resort. We chose Splash because we thought it would be really great for our grandkids. However, the pools are very small and covered so they are cold and very crowded. And they will just close the pool and keep it closed all day. But what really made me uncomfortable about the place was how unfriendly all of the staff is there. The security guard that works the day shift is a complete jerk. I felt very uncomfortable with all of the camera's spying on you. There are camera's everywhere and I felt invaded everywhere I went, especially because the security guard walked around all day like he was some sort of Hitler - he was rude and creepy. We had a 3 Bedroom/3 Bath condo and when we got there, only one bathroom had toilet paper. We had to immediately go to the store. There were no extra trashbags, no dishsoap and 2 TV's didn't work. I have stayed at Edgewater, Calypso, and Aqua and they are all hands down better than Splash. I would never go there again and would highly recommend everyone to look elsewhere. I am usually easy to please and have never left a bad review before, but I had to take the time out to share our experience at Splash - extremely disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kara070408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We love that it's family oriented and the security/rules help make it more enjoyable. It's up-to-date and close to the beach. The lifeguard accessibility is super!!! The room was neat and had all needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taradmille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I'm not an overly picky person. I just want what I pay for. That didn't happen at SPLASH.

We usually go to Fort Walton and have a great time, but this year thought we would try a new place. I like PCB, but would never stay at SPLASH again. It was affordable, but not very warm and inviting.

The lazy river is in fact, extremely lazy. The lazy river is a couch potato. My nephew needed a paddle to make his way around the tiny circle that looks much bigger in the pictures. For the number of people in the two buildings the pools are way too small, and there are never enough chairs. Their advertising shows a mini-bowling alley. Nope. The arcade games are mostly for older kids. Most of the kids in this place are the under-10 set.

The buildings aren't very old, but seem a little run down already. We stayed in 1406e, and the condo itself was decent, and would have been just right if: the trundle bed for the youngest was actually usable. It couldn't be pulled out from under the other bed. Thank God we brought a blow up bed. The fridge didn't cool as much as a fridge should, (I know how cold beer should be in a fridge, and it was never frosty cold. Sort of cold. The AC never cooled the master bedroom. We called maintenance a couple of times, but no one showed up. Ever. One of the reasons to get a condo is to be able to cook. The kitchen wasn't very well stocked with the things one needs to cook: decent pots and pans, tongs for grilling, colander, etc. We made do with what was there. Used a bath towel to get things out of the over since there were no pot holders.

The biggest red flag was this: the management seems less than interested in keeping things neat and tidy and enjoyable, but they are VERY INTERESTED in people following rules. Security people troll the property day and night looking for scofflaws and n'er-do-wells. They smell an infraction from a hundred yards away and then pounce. I watched one woman throw a two-year-old and her mother out of the hot tub. The woman walked up, and asked the kid, "Sweetie, how old are you?" The kid says, "I'm this many," as she held up two fingers. The lady actually yells, "Out of the hot tub! You have to be three to be in the hot tub!!" Really? Yelling at the two-year-old? The male security guard acts like he's watching over a maximum security prison, and not a family beach resort. There are more civilized ways to remind people of the rules, in my opinion. Zero tolerance. One strike and you're out!

I was ready to leave on Friday, but we decided to stay the entire week. Make sure you get your luggage cart very early in the morning, or you won't get one. It's complete madness by mid-morning on Saturdays.

Will try PCB again because there are lots of fun family things to do, but we won't stay at SPLASH. Instead of SPLASH, maybe it should be named DRIBBLE.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank conkatkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Splash is a LARGE condominium and with any place or business this big there are bound to be issues. With that said, we lucked out. Our condo was excellent, nothing broken (except a DVD player in the master bedroom) and everything worked well. It’s the perfect place for school aged kids. It’s away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip and from rowdy teenagers. For as large as the place is, it is very well kept and clean, even with kids running around everywhere. Overall, the staff is very friendly.

My recommendations:

• Please take care of a place like it is your own so that others will enjoy it in the future. So many people treat it like a rental property and trash it while they are there. “Well, it’s not mine.” This is usually why the next person has a broken air conditioner or refrigerator or some other problem.

• Don’t check in on a weekend! The complaints about the elevators probably came during those days. Most other times are fine.

• Best times around pools are in the early morning and late evening.

• Bring your own drinks to the pool. The bar is way overpriced!

• Try to speak with the actual owner of the condo beforehand and ask plenty of questions.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank TravelingwithSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was my family's first trip to Panama City Beach. We usually go to Fort Walton and stay at Destin West Resort. It has an Olympic size pool and a full size lazy river that wraps around the back side of the property, among other amenities. We wanted to do something different this year and had heard about PCB being a lot of fun. I looked at different properties and based on the pictures of Splash, I thought it would be comparable to Destin West...a couple of pools, a lazy river, an indoor water park...it seemed perfect for my kids. Boy, was I wrong. When we arrived, my kids wanted to go see the pools and lazy river first. My 9 year old saw it and asked "Where's the rest of it?". It is literally a very small circle about 40 feet long and about 20 feet wide. It has little to no current and if more than a few kids are in it, it creates a complete bottleneck. Do not believe the pictures. This is no lazy river. The pools are also a joke. Two very small pools. My kids actually like to swim in pools, jump in, dive for toys, have fun. That did not happen here. Both pools were always full with people, packed in like sardines. There was no room to swim at all, definitely no jumping or playing. The deepest part was only 5 ft anyway. As for the indoor "water park"...it was a large bucket that tipped over every few minutes to dump water on the kids along with small slides on each end. It's ok for very small kids. My 9 year old enjoyed it some but my 14 and 16 year olds thought it was lame. If you have very young kids...8 and under...and you don't mind large crowds all the time, this might be ok. But not for older kids definitely.
The security staff here is awful. The most uptight group of people I've ever seen at a resort. I sat and watched one lady scream at various children at the pool area for the slightest infraction. Everything has a rule and they are going to be sure none will be broken. I understand there has to be rules but I think they take it way too far. People are here for vacation. Not to serve a prison sentence.
Our condo itself was fine. Except for the trundle bed which was broken and unusable, everything was as advertised. AC worked fine for us. No complaints about the unit.
The location of the resort was also an issue for us. It is a couple of miles down the beach from the main area, Pier Park. There was nothing within walking distance. Everything we did we had to get in the car and fight the traffic on Front Beach Road. So if you want to be near all the fun things to do and see, then don't stay here.
As I said, this was our first trip to PCB. Because the resort was so awful, we went out every day and found things to do. And there are plenty of fun things to do in PCB. Wonderworks, Ripleys, the zoo, the Man in the Sea museum, Race City, parasailing, the Pirate Cruise, the alligator park, the list goes on and on. There were so many things to do that we ran out of time to do them all.
That brings me to my final comments. We had an absolute blast in PCB. We want to come back next year and do the things we didn't get to do on this trip as well as some of the things we did do. But we absolutely will not stay at Splash again. It is not for families with older children or families that don't want to be packed in like sardines or screamed at by security staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just returned for a week’s stay. My daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren stayed in a two bedroom condo. We had everything we needed and more. The kitchen was fully stocked and very convenient to use. We never had an issue with the AC at all. Everything was in good working order except for the tea pot that leaked which was no biggie. The elevators were also not an issue – ever - and I am not a fan of elevators so in reading some of the negative reviews on the elevators I was anxious as we were on the 21st floor. The elevators were fine. We never waited long for one, even on check in and check out days. We had assigned beach chairs for the entire week. This came with our condo rental – not sure if it comes with all condos. The beach bar/grill was pricey but it is a vacation resort so that’s to be expected and there were many restaurants around from which to choose as well as having your own kitchen to stock up on snacks. I would stay here again. It’s a nice family resort.

Room Tip: Rent through the owner of the condo if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

For our child's 1st beach trip. We definitely didn't not want to disappoint. Well needless to say she didn't want to leave nor did we. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The beach side restaurant had the best food. The kids activities was so cute. My daughter won't separate from her build a buddy. The pools were clean and there are so many different ones to please the entire family. Also the unit we stayed in 506 West . Was beautiful and clean. It made me feel at home. Very cozy and very tastefully furnished. The overall trip was beyond my expectations. This is now going to be our new family tradition. Thank you Splash Resort for making our child's beach experience amazing. If you want a great place to stay and make family memories. This is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02142004lbrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
3.2 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emerald Isle Resort and Condominiums
Emerald Isle Resort and Condomin...
#2 of 82 in Panama City Beach
295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pineapple Beach Villas
Pineapple Beach Villas
#15 of 82 in Panama City Beach
121 reviews
7.6 mi away
Laketown Wharf Resort
Laketown Wharf Resort
#19 of 82 in Panama City Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Resort Condominiums Panama City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Resort Condominiums Panama City Beach

Address: 17739 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-5903
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £158 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splash Resort Condominiums Panama City Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront condominium waterpark resort. Family oriented and no smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Splash Resort Condominiums Panama City Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Splash Hotel Panama City Beach
Splash Resort Panama City Beach
Splash Resort Condominiums Panama City Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing