We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family resort we have visited. Big Splash hit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Splash Resort Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best family resort we have visited. Big Splash hit”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great resort with water park for the kids. Located far away from the party scene and close to family oriented Pier Park. The owners take care of their rental units. Summer books quickly and we found the best booking options from owners on VRBO.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    224
    126
    100
    90
See reviews for
853
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First time renting a condo. The owner made it very easy and an enjoyable process. The rooms were very clean just as promised. They made us feel they really cared and wanted us to have a great vacation. The building was undergoing renovation so it was a little messy but the grounds people made sure there was little impact to guests. Note this is a family oriented condo so there are lot of kids at pool area but the pools were great and our room came with beach chairs which was nice always having a place to sit on beach. Want to stay here again,

Room Tip: 707East. Corner 2 bedroom. Great balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaTnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great view! This is a 1 bedroom with twin bunks that sleeps 5 . The master bedroom was very small with a queen bed that was terrible. The bed squeaked even when you rolled over.The living room furniture was very old and worn out and very uncomfortable, also did not have enough seats for 5 people. The cleaning people did a terrible job and cleaning. Dirt and trash in between the furniture and the wall. Will not be staying here again. Way too expensive for the quality of the resort. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Splash 5 years ago and LOVED it! It was beautiful and looked brand new. We stayed there again 3 years ago and liked it, though noticed it was in need of some work. Stayed there again this summer, and decided we won't be back. Our condo was privately owned, and pretty nice, though the cleaning person didn't do a very good job. There was hair in one shower, a wad of wet toilet paper in the other shower, a dirty sock on one of the living room side tables, and sand on the couch. We had similar cleanliness issues on our previous stay, though not as bad. The resort common areas are starting to show some wear, and nothing as been done to fix it. 3 years ago paint was chipping on some decorative shutters by the lazy river, and the paint is still pealing, though worse now. The pool nearest the water park was very cloudy the whole week, and the hot tub water looked a bit "off". We were afraid to enter it, so we didn't. Children 12 are not supposed to be allowed in the hot tub, but it was full of small children and toddlers all day and all evening every day. On our second day, mu husband stepped on poop in the pool and told a security guard (there are no lifeguards or pool attendants). The security guard's response? "Are you sure it isn't a leaf?" My husband responded with "I stepped on it, so YES I'm quite certain it isn't a leaf!" They did close the pool, and it remained closed the rest of the day. We never saw anyone check the Ph levels or add more chlorine, though I guess it's possible they did it in the late night. However, the pool was still very cloudy the next day. We swam in the lazy river pool because it was the clearest. Our 3rd day, we overheard a woman tell the security guard she saw poop in the middle pool. The security guard's response? "Are you sure?" The woman responded with "yes, it was on my hand, so I'm sure." They closed the pool for the rest of the day. We never saw anyone check the PH levels or add more chlorine. The next day, the pool was very cloudy. We again swam in the lazy river pool because the water was clearer than the other pools. By our 5th day, none of the pools were clear. Nobody seemed to care. We told our son to keep his face out of the water and shower immediately after. We are not germ phobes at all, or I would not have allowed my son in the pool at all, but this pool water was not clean. It is impossible to say to your kids on vacation that they can't get in the pool though. You have to walk down stairs to get to the beach, so if you are in a wheel chair or if you have a beach cart, it is very difficult to get to the beach. The beach is very crowded during the summer months, and the condos next door have signs up telling Splash guests to stay off their section of beach. The parking deck is across the street, so you have to walk the distance of about 2 football fields every time you need to go to your car, and there are not enough luggage carts for all the guests, so if you are not lucky enough to locate a cart, you must make numerous trips to your car to pack/unpack luggage, and that's a long walk when you are weighted down with coolers, suitcases, groceries, etc. kids' daily activities cost money. Arcade costs money. Beach activities cost A LOT of money, and are very plentiful and tempting to children. Oh, you want to jump on the big water trampoline out in the ocean? Great! That'll be $25 per person for 30 minutes. We found ourselves having to say "no" constantly, which makes for a stressful vacation. Elevators were crowded and you had to wait in line to catch one every single time you wanted to go upstairs or downstairs. Every ride on the elevator was like being squashed into a can of sardines, and smelled it as well. The water park looks great, but the water is freezing cold, so most kids avoid it. The splash pad is great for the littles, but again, few people use it. The lazy river is the most popular attraction, but it's small so it stays really crowded. The free movie nights are laughable. The movie is projected onto a small wall by the lazy river. It's about the size of a bedroom TV, and it was projected crookedly on the nights we were there. Walk down the beach to Sandpiper Beacon and watch their big screen free movie instead. They use a giant inflatable movie screen on their lawn. You can see it from the beach. This resort is located on the far end of the beach, so it isn't close to most of the attractions, except Pier Park, so you have to spend a lot of time in your car driving places. However, Pier Park is great, and it's just a very short drive. It isn't really close enough to walk to though. There isn't really anything in walking distance except Alvin's souvenir shop and ice cream parlor. I'd recommend spending your hard earned money at a better condo at the other end of the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 2nd floor (floor directly above pools). Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASmartChk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great view. The overall décor was nice and the artwork of antique toys and old Florida travel posters combined with the beachy paint colors gave it a good feel. This was a 1-bed condo with sleeper sofa and bunk-beds. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was comfortable although bedding looked pretty care-worn. The furniture in the living room however was very worn and dirty AND there was not enough linens to make the sleeper sofa let alone having an extra blanket. We ended buying a blow-up mattress and extra pillows at a discount store. The bathtub also looked very dirty upon arrival so we bought our own favorite brand of bathtub cleaner and scrubbed it out. Sad thing is that this could be a truly spectacular unit if the furniture and appliances were upgraded and adequate bedding were supplied as well as providing some basic cleaning equipment. We had a really nice stay but that had more to do with what we did with the place more than how it looked when we arrived. The Bar/Grill leaves quite a bit to be desired. Hours of operation are inconsistent and food choices are limited. Understand that these are condos but this is on the West end of the beach and there are some times when you don't want to cook or fight all the crowds to grab a bite to eat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candgfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We rented this condo from Sat to Sat. Start by saying the room was very nice and pleasant. The Beach where the hotel was way over crowded. Every morning had to walk out to the far right where the private beach was. Alot more room there and not over crowded. We enjoyed that! Now the Customer Service and security. Customer service does not exist. There are only a handful of people running this huge property. 1 front desk, 2 repair people, 1 HOA and 1 security guy. That is all you see every time you are out and about. Pool is way over crowded. No personal space. Security guy is a joke. Resort staff doesnt know policies for pool as a unit. 1 guy says 12 and over. Another person says 12 and under dont need a wrist band. Then 1 guy says you dont need a wrist band to be in the pool area while another says you do. That effects us since we only have 4 wrist bands. 2 adults, 17, 12, 12, 10 and 3. Total joke. Got into it with security personal. Dont have time for this. We all work hard for our money and dont need this petty stuff bothering us. Way over priced for the service. We wanted to try this new resort but shoulve stayed with our other home away from home, EDGEWATER... Also has anyone seen the bowling alley? That doesnt exist. OUR FAMILY OF 7, WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESORT.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
235 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I rented this through a private ownership company and not the main one on location. We stayed in room 501 in the East Tower. We knew before getting there check-in was at 3pm, and check-out was at 10am. We had no problem getting in our room shortly after 3 at our arrival. It was a very nice 3 room/ 3 bathroom condo with cute decor and amazing views from everywhere including all 3 balconies and a giant window in the living room/eating area. It was clean and comfortable. The furniture and all tile floor were perfect for the beach. We had 3 maintenance issues during our 7 night stay, which were all addressed very fast (our washer/dryer knobs fell off and needed a pair of plyers to work, we were welcomed with no parking passes, and our fire alarms all started going off at 1:45 am for no reason). The worst thing about Splash was the elevator situation and trying to use them to get your stuff to your room and vise versa. Being on the 5th floor, we occaisionally used the stairs. We went July 5-12, so I was worried about everything being super crowded, but was pleasantly surprised. The lazy river was not very large and was sometimes on the crowded side, but was frequently not very crowded at all. A few times, we were practically the only family there. There is a small pool attached to the lazy river and then two more small pools which also never seemed overly crowded. My 8 year old enjoyed the main splash pad area, but my 4 and 6 year olds enjoyed it the most. Most of the time, it was not crowded at all. The one hot tub was the only thing that always seemed crowded and was mostly inhabited by small children. There was a shaved ice stand taking cash only located by the splash area selling them for $4 and $6 sizes.There was also a tiny gift ship only accepting credit/debit cards. There were also grills available for use, but I never saw anyone use them. On the beach, some days were more crowded than others, but it never felt too crowded to me. The facilities seemed in good condition to me. We did not try any of the scheduled activities for the kids, so I cannot comment on any of them. All people 12 and up need to wear their arm bands at all times when using facilities.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank amyw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#9 of 83 in Panama City Beach
450 reviews
7.3 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Isle Resort and Condominiums
Emerald Isle Resort and Condomin...
#3 of 83 in Panama City Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Resort Condominiums

Property: Splash Resort Condominiums
Address: 17698 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-4948
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splash Resort Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront condominium waterpark resort. Family oriented and no smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Splash Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Splash Hotel Panama City Beach
Splash Resort Panama City Beach
Splash Resort Condominiums Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing