We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but musty rooms and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location but musty rooms and poor service”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We were on the last night of a week long trip and just exhausted. We didn't want to deal with the touristy beach hotels on this night but we did want a place within walking distance to a restaraunt. The location of this hotel was just what we needed and the price was right. The front desk clerk had absolutely no personality and said she couldn't give is the room type we wanted because they were full. We never saw one person come or go from this hotel and there were only three cars in the parking lot the entire time, so we never could figure out why the room she gave us was all they had left. We were able to walk to pineapple willies for dinner and the hotel was quiet and restful, which is all we wanted that evening. Overall this hotel is pretty shabby and every one who works here looks mad at the world, but the location is good if you want to get away from the crowds but still be able to walk to places.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    71
    37
    26
    19
See reviews for
102
71
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

It's the third time I stayed at this hotel. It's clean staff are friendly but still no eggs or bacon on the weekend. If I'm going to pay $180 for one night, I'm going to need some eggs and not have to go to Waffle House. I do no understand why the rooms are cheaper durin the week and they get eggs. The people who are paying much more to stay here on a holiday weekend are getting cheated for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaC914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my children and was pleased by the cleanliness of our room and the cozy feeling of the lobby. The hotel can be booked for reasonable rates online and the staff was friendly. My only complaint about our room is that there is no way to completely close the curtain and it is really hard to sleep late when it is so bright outside. The hotel is relatively close to the beach. I don't know why you couldn't walk there in about 10 - 15 minutes, however, we chose to drive. The hotel is within walking distance to Zaxby's and a Dollar Tree...perfect for traveling with a bunch of kids! The gym and the pool are very small. Our room had 2 beds but was also very small. It did include a microwave and fridge. We only stayed one night which was great since a lot of hotels in this area have a 2 night minimum.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend during the tail end of our Summer vacation in the Florida Panhandle and New Orleans. We were very disappointed with our stay and actually were looking for other accommodations shortly after checking in. I was told when I booked this hotel that it is a 10 minute walk to the beach. I challenge anyone to walk to the beach from this hotel. There are two very busy streets you have to cross and a hectic Walmart before you get near the beach. Then you have to cut through other beachfront properties to get to the beach access. We woke up early and drove to the beach. Luckily we found quiet and free parking on the beach. Panama City Beach is not a sleepy, beach town in any way. The beach was wide but the water was murky and full of algae and seaweed. We were told this is not typical of the beach but we did not see any seaweed/algae in the water a week earlier in Destin.

Now to the hotel. As soon as we walked in, you are hit with a mildewy odor that permeated the property. It actually got worse in the room and we later found out that the air conditioner was full of mold and mildew. That could not be healthy for us. The floor in our room was filthy as well. On our second day after returning from the beach, there was an overwhelming smell of cigar smoke on the third floor where our room was. This is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel and when I reported it to the front desk, she told us she knew which room it came from and called the police on them. The pool is not fancy and did not seem clean. I witnessed a group in there with young children using the pool without swimsuits. They were just swimming in their underwear. That cannot not be sanitary and hygienic. Lastly, I noticed sketchy individuals in the lobby and parking lot throughout our stay. One night (8/3), there was someone loitering by the front desk trying to "sell" his room to anyone that came by. Since the hotel was full, potential guests that came in to inquire about vacancy were harassed by this person. The front desk person tolerated this person and allowed this to continue. She was not part of it and stated it was illegal but allowed him to stay there harassing guests and potential guests. I also noticed questionable people in the parking lot drinking alcohol, smoking and doing who knows what else. We did not feel overly safe here. In closing, we were not very impressed by Panama City Beach as a whole. Other destinations on the Panhandle like Destin, Fort Walton Beach and Seaside are much nicer. If we ever return to PCB, we will definitely NOT stay at the Country Inn and Suites on Clarence Street.

Tip - to get away from the all action and trashiness of PCB, head to historic St. Andrews on the other side of the Hathaway Bridge for harbor front dining, boating and shopping. Awesome food at Uncle Ernies or Gracie Rae's right on the water, nice little shops on Beck Avenue and live music and eclectic gifts ideas at the "Little Village". It was a great respite from hectic PCB and we may return just to hang out in St. Andrews. So quaint, low key and chill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtrippers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dizpatel, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to me directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

And again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel - it's clean the staff are very friendly but for $232 for one night I deserve some eggs and sausage or bacon. This is my second time staying here and it's still the same thing. I need eggs for $200. Please serve eggs on the weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaC914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Good location for the price. But my last post was deleted by the owner so im going to keep it short.housekeeping woke me at 8am every morning i was there not using thier doorstops, and using the metal lock thats on each door so they run in and out of each room letting it BANG so when I ask them to please stop, they nod and keep doing it! I would stay here of they cold get a translator in and ORDER them to stop! I enjoy sleeping when I am on vacation. I work housekeeping 4 yrs so there is no excuse for ignorance when I call front desk and tell them to fix this issue, and I am ignored

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dizpatel, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the guestroom doors banging. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

1. Door latch has a screw missing.
2. Refrigerator not chill
3. Stains on carpet
4. Extreme slow drain in tub and shower
5. Upon entering the room the previous customer had left their coat hanger on the door.
6. stains on bed skirt--gross!
7. stiff bed.

Mind you, i'm being charged a little over $150 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
10.7 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
4.3 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
#20 of 48 in Panama City Beach
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panam...
#24 of 48 in Panama City Beach
546 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach
Address: 10241 Clarence St, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-4104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites is located in Panama City Beach, near the beach and is centrally located to all shops, restaurants and attractions. There are seven different room types to choose from and the hotel has an outdoor pool, business center, fitness center, meeting space and guest laundry facilities. It is also close to the nightclubs and there is a trolley stop in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama City Beach
Country Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Beach Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing