We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay in PCB!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay in PCB!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I took a first time trip to PCB during the weekend of Father's Day 2014 to celebrate a friend's 30th bday. I'll admit, upon first looking at TripAdvisor, I initially wanted to stay at a beachfront property. Boy, am I glad I stayed here at the Hawthorn Suites.

First thing, I will say I was taken aback by a weird odor in the first set of sliding doors (most hotels have this odor), but once I got in the lobby, the weird "hotel" odor was gone. The check-in process was quick and pleasant, and Olaf was really nice and polite during out check out. Our room was on the third floor, and the elevator was a little slow. This is where I'm thankful I didn't stay at a beachfront property...I couldn't imagine waiting on an elevator where a property had more than 20 floors! Thankfully, the stairs were just fine, and it allowed me to get some exercise in.

Hotel Room- I ALWAYS do a bed bug check, no matter where I stay. I didn't see any here, so that was a good thing. The room included a full fridge and a small kitchenette area with cookware in it, so if you're looking to cook or prepare meals during your stay, you're in luck. Pretty clean, and very nice. I did not like the fact that the AC in the room comes on and off, I think it's programmed to where it doesn't run continuosly, but rather in 20 minute intervals. I did become quite hot sometimes and found myself wishing it would just stay on, but it was bearable although annoying.

Pool-This was my favorite part. It has a grill for use, and the pool closes late, like at 10pm I believe, so I really like that. The deepest level is 5ft, so no diving, but I LOVE the shallowness of it because I can't swim, and it makes me comfortable if I had kids playing in it because of the manageable depth.

Breakfast- Pretty good with a nice selection of hot items. I ate bacon, herb potatoes, a muffin, and some juice, but they have cereal, grits, oatmeal, eggs, fresh fruit and a waffle station as well.

Overall, I really enjoyed the location of this hotel, easy access to EVERYTHING as it's on the main road, and just quiet enough to actually get some R&R after a busy day at the beach :)

Room Tip: I noticed some rooms had balconies (it appeared to be corner rooms). Ask about this when you reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hawthorn Suites. I am happy you found are in room kitchenettes to be useful. They come standard in every room so you will be sure to get one again on your next visit. The air conditioning units are designed to cut off when the room reaches the set temperature and they will cut back on when it goes below the desired temperature. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful pool as well as the hot breakfast. We will be looking forward to seeing you again here at the Hawthorn Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    136
    104
    51
    35
See reviews for
227
120
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hawthorn Suites is a suite-based hotel that is very comfortable and accommodating. Our TV did not work correctly and they had a technician there within 10 minutes fixing everything and they made everything right. It is located near everything you could possibly want to visit in Panama City Beach. Ryan was amazingly helpful with our reservations -- thanks for that. Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharonP473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hawthorn Suites. We recognize that the extra attention to detail and exceptional guest service is what are guests have come to expect and I can assure you, that is the same great service you will get on your next visit. Thank you again for your kind words and for staying with us here at the Hawthorn Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wonderful stay. Arrive at the hotel very early in the morning. No problems checking in. The
staff was very attentive and informed me of all the amenities available. The two ladies at the desk( Wendy and the other I'm sorry I can't remember her name) where very helpful with anything asked of them. The room was very clean and comfortable. The linen service very good.
If I decide to come back to the festival I will definitely book my room at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegociao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am so happy to hear that our staff was so accommodating and able to get you checked in early. Early check in is a service that we always try to provide to our guests whenever it is available. I do hope that we get the chance to have you back with us in the near future here at the Hawthorn Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We just visited Panama City Beach, FL on May 29, 2014 - June 2, 2014. The staff was great there, especially Ryan and Wendy. THEY MET OUR EVERY NEED. The city was very nice. . THANKS AGAIN FOR EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nward65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a few kind comments. Wendy and I were happy to take care of you. I do hope the next time you want to come down and enjoy the surf and sand, you make the Hawthorn Suites your first choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIty Beach
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#21 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#18 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL
Address: 7909 Panama City Beach Parkway, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-4856 (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites is Panama City Beach's newest all suites hotel. The hotel features 80 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds / king with fully equipped kitchens, including a dishwasher, work area with internet access, and a 32in. Wall-mounted plasma TVs in all rooms. Some rooms have balconies and sofa-sleepers as well. Hawthorn Suites is only 1.5 Miles to the beaches, and 4 Miles to Frank Brown Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Panama City Beach
Mainstay Panama City Beach
Panama City Beach Mainstay
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Panama City Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing