We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

On the beach. Seaside pool for a post-Gulf swim. Cordial staff that accommodated any request. Near other social night life spots but not so close to have traffic all hours of the night. Though we were celebrating an anniversary, this place is great for families and kids. The kitchens come with dishes, silverware and pans. And the separate bedroom from the seaside living room allows late night TV viewing from keeping up the rest of the party.

Room Tip: King bed rooms have newer remodels. Slightly nicer than doubles rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JADIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

we stay here often , the sunset views, the winn dixie, arbys, mickey d's, aisian food, cvs are all within walking distance , we even walked to dusty's.. the kitcen was cool also with Buddys fresh seafood market is like 1000 feet or so. But why leave the beach, pizza joints are everywhere just call.. they have buy some nights get free nights, thanks for that Beachcomber folks,, oh yeah the Coffee is great in the lobby ,and free
breakfast, I didn't go to starbucks all week, a Big thanks for that, and did i mention the Sunsets

Room Tip: higher the better for watcing dolphins take binocs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Toilet Broken with water gushing from the bottom....management refused to give me and my family another room until maintenance evaluate the problem. Once maintenance arrived, the old guy tells me that nothing is wrong with the toilet because its flushing without a problem, when water is all over the floor!!!! I guess the roaches thought a pool party was going on, because they started showing up without an invitation. We packed our bags and left that nasty place in the middle of the night. They told me that they would refund me 4 both nights, well only 1 night was actually returned to my credit card. I've stayed at this place in the past, but I can assure you I WILL NOT ever stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cmj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were looking for a LAST minute hotel on the Gulf. We looked from Gulf Shores to Panama City. We were driven by value, location and convenience. We settled for this one, not really knowing what to expect.
• Location: it's right on the beach! Every rm is ocean front. The only thing you have to cross to be on the beach is the pool!
• We got a one bdrm suite (make sure you specify for a non-smoking one—they gave us at first a smoking one and the smell was SOOOO bad there was no way we would have stayed in), with 2 dble beds, one pull out couch and kitchen. The suite is not fancy but clean and comfortable, and very cold with 2 individual AC units and 2 tvs. There is a small balcony with 2 plastic chairs coffee table. We enjoyed sitting there and watching the unobstructed ocean view!
• The kitchen is tiny, but had all we needed: full size fridge with freezer, stove with 4 burners (the big one didn't work) and a stove! The cabinets had all you need: clean sauce pans, china plates, mugs, cups, cutlery, spatula, cutting board, sharp knife, cookie tray, water pitcher, ice trays in freezer, ice bucket, new sponge and dish washing liquid. The ice maker was right outside our door which was convenient, but noisy at times when people came. Ice makers are on the 3rd, 5th and 6th floor by the 2 —very slow— elevators.
• The breakfast area has just a few tables and is tiny. Bkfst consists of orange and apple juices, tea and coffee, peach and strawberry (Yoplay) yogurts, jam, butter, bagels, banana and chocolate muffins. They had no real sugar, just sweeteners.
• There is a computer room which stank cigarette smoke so much we couldn't use it for too long. There is wi-fi available for $10/day.
• The pool opens at 8am and closes at 11pm. Nice but not huge. A dozen people feels a little crowded. The spa is very hot.
• The hotel grounds are not fancy but well kept. Although, out of all the properties on this beach strip they had the most palm trees, which was really nice. Right out the few steps down to the beach is a giant (15ft tall) red adirondack chair, which was a big hit with everybody (and easy to spot on the beach)
• The staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. The girl immediately found us a non-smoking rm after we complained, even when they were booked solid. The rm service was very efficient.

In the end, we were sad to leave. It cost, after tax and service fees etc, $235/night, but that was LAST minute booking and and July 4th week peek season.

Room Tip: Specify a NON-SMOKING room if you are a non-smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Made someone come check our room everyday when we didn't want them in there. Wouldn't give us money back when we tried to leave early and pictures are miss leading

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clevelan134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, it looked very nice. The front desk staff was very nice, and upgraded us to a room with an ocean view at a very high floor. When we entered the room, we walked into the bedroom. This was very annoying as during the night, you could hear people outside of the room and cars on the road. you then walk into a hallway with a full kitchen on one side and a bathroom on the other. The last room is the living room with a magnificent view of the beach. Downstairs, the pool and beach were also very nice. The only things that I did not enjoy about the hotel was that (a) although there is a complimentary breakfast, it was merely a couple of juices, with bagels and yogurt, and (b) the housekeeping at this hotel is ridiculous. We went out for a couple of hours, and came back in the evening. there was trash on the floor, the bathroom was a mess, and they didn't even give us new towels. Basically, this hotel has a very good location, but it could and should be renovated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soccergirl1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stay was cheap with a 4 day 3 night time share presentation package. Nothing to complain about except you have to pay for internet. They could use an upgrade to everything but I guess these kids can get rowdy and destructive, so why bother. Else everything worked and the room was fairly clean. They do maintain the property. During the busy season it can be loud late night with kids acting up but nothing alarming. Parking can be challenge sometimes. If I had to pay full price I'd probably TRY to find something more modern but I probably wouldn't have any luck, so I guess I would stay again. Just wish they'd upgrade and not raise the rate, then it'd be worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
892 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
87 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
554 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £69 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing