We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2008

The room had a perfect view of the Gulf. We asked for a non-smoking room and we got it without any problems. The hotel manager even went an extra step to place us in a location grouped with other couples of our age and interests - there were a lot of high school spring breakers. Thanks to the consideration of the hotel managers, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the company of everyone, including the spring breakers. Our maid service was above board - excellent. The layout of the room was excellent - a suite with couch, table and chairs, refrigerator, microwave, stove, kitchen sink, and much more. This was a lot for the money - extremely satisfied, and we will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bob-Louisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2008

My wife and I enjoyed four nights at the end of September '07 at this property. Our 34th wedding anniversary was on 9/29 and prompted our trip from our home on Lake Gaston on the NC/VA border.

We intended to spend only one night in PCB to check out the area because my brother was moving there from 35 yrs in Atlanta and had just closed on a house in PCB, though still hadn't moved down. However, we found out there was a Harley Rally, Thunder Beach, going on and though we aren't bikers, we decided to stay in our relaxing digs at the Beachcomber all of our vacation rather than hiking down to a favorite spot outside Tampa, so that we could take it all in and see for ourselves what one was like.

Many bikers stayed at the Beachcomber the latter part of our stay there. We enjoyed looking at their machines and watching what bikers do at a beach rally! Nice folks, all. None was out of the way at all and the resort treated them with respect, welcoming them with open arms as did all of PCB.

Had a very nice, 4th floor room with spectacular view of Gulf, beach, swimming pool and spa. Our room was very satisfactory and daily rate quite reasonable. We were "walk ins" who arrived late on Tuesday evening with no reservations but the front desk clerk was quite accommodating and welcoming, filling us in on what to expect once the bikers began rollin' into town in earnest.

There was no restaurant on site at the Beachcomber so we took all meals out except for ordering pizza delivered once.

We own a one bedroom, oceanfront condo at Myrtle Beach, SC at Beach Cove Resort. Our room at the Beachcomber was comparable to our condo there and so was the rest of the resort., except for no restaurant. Well kept. Clean. Well managed.

We would recommend the Beachcomber by the Sea Resort at Panama City Beach, FL to our friends without hesitation. Quite a fun experience for us as first-timers to PCB, largely due to the nice folks and ample accommodations at this property.

Marshall Henry

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muthertrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The stay at the the Beachcomber By The Sea was by far one of the best stays I had in panama city beach. The people were so pleasent and the room was immaculate. I would recommend the Beachcomber By The Sea to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay with the great hospitality of the south.If available try to get a room on the seventh floor as the views of the gulf are breathtaking.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank wavelover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Wanted just a week end get away and checked several hotels
before deciding on the Beachcomber.
It was a great choice.The price was very reasonable when
you compare them with other hotels that are beach side.
Also we did not have to commit to a three night stay
as we did not have time for a three night stay.
The staff was pleasant and the room was clean.
A clean room is important to me and they delivered.
A family atmosphere, clean pool and surrounding area.
All in all our stay was relaxing, comfortable and pleasant.
We will stay at the Beachcomber when we visit Panama
City Beach again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missbeeAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

My wife and I spent four nights at the Beachcomber and could'nt have enjoyed it more. We stayed in mid sept. during the week and there were no children so it was very quiet and relaxing . This was the first time we vacationed without our children (they are grown now) we could get used to this!
The hotel was a very good value being on the beach and have decent rooms . The pool area was well kept , and the staff was very helpfull .
We will probably stay there again .

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank TennesseeDUDE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Room was right off elevator - I called and got the top floor - ocean side and we stayed for 3 nights. I was suffering from a stomach virus and the first night was wasted as all I did was sleep. Found a wonderful place called "Mike's Diner" open for breakfast and lunch near the hotel. Hotel room was clean and mini fridge and microwave a plus. Continental breakfast was lacking so don't bother. I had to bring laptop to hotel lobby for wifi. Did not have access on 7th floor.
We were surprised at all the construction going on in this area and the "super mall" that is being built and will open in 2008. Will not be the quaint feel that PCB has - going for the SanDestin/Destin feel which is a shame. We ate at the Diner down the street - good solid breakfast fare for a regular price.
All in all - I would go back and bring my daughter and grand daughter for a week long stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NanLong24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Great place to stay while you are in pcb....the room was really nice with a living room that had a couch with a hide a bed double size, a nice balcony t to sit and watch the waves in the morning as we drank our first cup of coffee for the day, that was made in the kitchen of the suite that we stayed in. Nice size kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, etc. fully equipped. Large clean bathroom with plenty of towels etc and a large bedroom with two double beds.
The price was very affordable and the staff were professional and friendly. It was a pleasant change to spend our vacation at a
hotel where the staff seemed to be happy also. From the pool guys to the receptionist and maid, they were all very helpful, answered any questions that they had and seemed to be genuinely concerned that we have a good time. They knew alot about the happenings for the weekend and recommended some really great stuff to do. We plan to spend next year there and will be inviting our entire family to go along with us.

3  Thank advine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
892 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
86 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £68 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing