We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to view the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The view of the ocean was perfect. Our room had double beds and there was a sofa bed in the living room. The kitchen was stocked with utensils if we wished to cook and dishes as well. It was quiet- one of the qualities I like. The only problem was when the front doors shut. But with mostly snow birds there in the winter months, it was peaceful. I kept the fan running to block out noise when I slept. The breakfast area was in a new area where you could view the ocean. The pool and motel was kept very clean by the employees. It was freshly painted and baths were updated.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had stayed there a week and hated to leave.
They made us feel at home. Next year we hope to stay longer. I hope they get new sofa beds. They weren't very comfortable for sitting on long periods. I used the computer they had at the front desk since there was no wifi and it worked out fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeenFiftyStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

I am glad that you enjoyed our brand new beach view breakfast area. Our maintenance team put in a lot of work during the off season to make that happen, and we are pretty proud of it.

Thank you for the kind words about the staff. I will be sure to pass them along to everyone. We do try to make Beachcomber feel like a home away from home, so it means a lot to hear that we have accomplished our goal!

There is a plan in the works to replace sofas hopefully by the end of the year. It is certainly something that has been addressed in staff meetings. Also, over the course of the next two years, we should offer free wifi in the rooms to go along with our free computer in the lobby!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are looking forward to seeing you when you visit us next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Three qualities we look for on our stays while traveling;. cleanliness, level of service, and price. Beachcomber gets our star in all three areas! This was our third trip for the month of February taking a break from Western Pennsylvania winter! The staff from the front desk to housekeeping could not be more accomodating! Previous reviews mention a few deficiencies but what we observe first hand is a property that is working very hard to make improvements as needed while keeping costs down to make your stay affordable! The front desk staff on all shifts make you feel like a quest not a number like too many other establishments. Comfortable beds, kitchen area, two flat screen TV's, BEAUTIFULL GULF View, heated pool and great hot tub, When Punxsutawney Phil makes his prediction in our home state, we will be at the Beachcomber listening to the waves! Thanks for a great stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctrdon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We really appreciate your kind words! We certainly try to make all of our guests feel at home, and it is always great to hear when we have accomplished our goal! We look forward to having you for years to come when mean ol' Phil sees that shadow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for a short weekend trip to visit family. It was too cold to enjoy the beach or pool but the view didn't disappoint. The room was nice with 2 double beds and a pull out sofa couch bed. The couch was a little old looking with some stains but it didn't stop us from using it. The kitchen is nice with just about everything you need (bring your own paper towels). However, our coffee maker didn't work. They do have continental breakfast with the following being offered: coffee, apple juice, orange juice, pre-packaged bagel/muffin, small yogurt, or oatmeal packet. If you're looking for the eggs/sausage/toast kind of breakfast then you might want to stay some where else otherwise you're better off cooking your own breakfast or going to Mcdonalds down the road. Being that it's the off season we were able to book this room for $69/night. Definitely would stay here again! Oh and it's a short drive to pier park.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback! Winter is a great value time to come visit us, but it can get a little chilly here in NW Florida as you saw. :( As you know the pool is heated, but I can't blame you for not utilizing it because you have to get out at some point!!

We are working on replacing carpets and furniture at all 3 of our By the Sea properties, so hopefully when you visit us again we will not have any stains on the sofa. Also, it is my hope that if you reported the coffee maker to us that we replaced it! I will have that checked to ensure that we do not have the problem moving forward.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate any and all comments so we know what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Everytime I go the staff is always kind all the way down to the cleaning crew. Its a quaint hotel that's go for a family or couple get away. I recommend the Jacuzzi suite for couples. The free continental breakfast is a plus for the family folks.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Bam-Bam2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words! Our staff is always very appreciative to hear such nice things from our guests. Thank you also for continuing your patronage with us. We look forward to continuing to serve you in future years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The room was well appointed and the beds was very comfortable. We asked the front desk for a food recommendation was given a place by the name of Dusty's and it was excellent. It was very peaceful rest as we opened the balcony door and fell asleep listening to waves. The only negative I found was that there was no public access to Internet without paying for it, so the access to company email and stuff was through my phone, just not he same.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts! Our staff is all long time locals, so they definitely know the good watering holes and eating establishments! Just ask us.

I certainly understand your frustration about not having free internet. That is something that we are working to resolve as soon as possible. It is our hope to have free internet in rooms within the next 2 years. In the meantime, we do have a public access computer in our lobby that is available for guest use. I hope that our staff made you aware of this, and I apologize if we did not.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you give us the chance to serve you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It was a great stay overall! The place needs an update but it's kept clean. The view was great! The divided room was a great with a full kitchen always comes in handy.Especially traveling with 2y/o twin boys. They got the living room while the rest of the families still snoozing. The price we payed was worth it. Beds were comfortable, too! To get up and wake up with the view and the sound of the beach at your balcony was awesome. Convenient location. Close to everything. Staff were accommodating. Outdoor was an idea but it was chilly to jump in. It would be nice to have an indoor pool...=)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdavis5407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your thoughts! We do pride ourselves on our service and our cleanliness. We also are always working to update our rooms and facilities. We have several renovation projects going on at all 3 of our properties as we speak! Our new breakfast area at Beachcomber is absolutely beautiful, and it will be open in the next few weeks!

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you on future stays! Come see us when it is warmer, and you will thank us for the outdoor pool....unless it rains!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed there a couple of nights for New Years! Very clean and updated with a great ocean view! Had a 2 room suite with kitchen for $69 a night. I had called around to some condos that claimed $100 a night, but by the time you pay a reservation fee and a clean up fee it turned out to be $200 a night. You can't beat this hotel for location, clean with plenty of parking at a bargain price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbosold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback!

One of our greatest features at all 3 By the Sea Resorts properties is that we don't have any hidden fees. You are correct that resort fees, parking fees, cleaning fees, etc can add up quickly! Know that you will never have such fees when staying with our family of hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
892 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
86 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
548 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £68 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing